Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Ruth: Loss to Legacy

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4WK02D04

Read Ruth 2:14-17; Psalm 34:10     SOAP Ruth 2:17

14 And at mealtime Boaz said to her, “Come here and eat some bread and dip your morsel in the wine.” So she sat beside the reapers, and he passed to her roasted grain. And she ate until she was satisfied, and she had some left over. 15 When she rose to glean, Boaz instructed his young men, saying, “Let her glean even among the sheaves, and do not reproach her.16 And also pull out some from the bundles for her and leave it for her to glean, and do not rebuke her.”

Psalm 34:10 (ESV) 10 The young lions suffer want and hunger;  but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

O – Boaz continues to show His character in sharing food with Ruth at mealtime (not just bread and water, but bread, roasted grain and wine!).  She had enough food to eat a full meal – and even had leftovers.  Boaz also instructed his workers to allow Ruth to glean (even to glean around all the bound sheaves), and to actually pull out grain around them for her to pick up.  And – in either case, not to embarrass her (cause her to blush) or to rebuke (give her a hard time) her.

Boaz goes over and above the Levitical command to allow widows and foreigners to glean.  He calls her over to eat with him, serves her, gives her more than enough food, and then protects her and gives her a way to gather food without it being a “handout.”

A – Isn’t this the way that God provides?  Meeting our needs?  More than enough?  In ways that we can say – “Only GOD could do this!”

There have been seasons in my life that I have seen God provide in ways that I KNEW came from Him.   The bags of groceries left on the front steps of my home when I struggled as a single mom.  The “summer job” of pianist at the Fellowship – that lasted over 25 years!  The child support checks that finally came – during my time of unemployment – and my daughter was grown and married!  (they stopped right around the time that I found full time teaching position!)  The substituting job that turned into full time work, right around the corner from my home!

It’s not just physical supplying…. He supplies our emotional, our heart needs as well!  My marriage, the expansion of my family to include four more children and their spouses, seven more grandchildren,  extended family members who have wrapped me into their lives.  The blessings of mentoring three young women from church.  The opportunities to volunteer at the local hospital in the emergency department.  The blessing of serving in worship.

What is MY role in all of this?   To give thanks.  To acknowledge where the blessings come from.  To tell my stories to the younger generation, to those who don’t know Him, to those I have opportunities to “chat.”

To remember, “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:19 – ESV)

P – Father God, thank You for the blessings in my life – for all those needs that you have supplied.   Yes, You supplied needs that I didn’t know were there, or over and abundantly gave to me.  Give me a grateful heart – full of thanksgiving.  Father, keep my eyes open, my ears open, to see the needs around me.  May I, like Boaz, bless others abundantly.  Use me, Lord today.

Psalm 34 – I Will Bless the Lord at all Times – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uW6whvgrdmk

At all times 1 will bless Him
His praise will be in my mouth
My soul makes its boast in the Lord
The humble man will hear of Him
The afflicted will be glad
And join with me to magnify the Lord

Let us exalt His name together, forever
I sought the Lord, He heard me
And delivered me from my fears.
Let us exalt His name together, forever
0 sing His praises magnify the Lord

The angel of the Lord encamps
Round those who fear His name
To save them and deliver them from harm
Though lions roar with hunger
We lack for no good thing
No wonder then we praise Him with our song

Come children now and hear Him
If you would see long life
Just keep your mouth from wickedness and lies
Do good and turn from evil
Seek peace instead of strife
Love righteousness and God will hear your cry

Leave a Reply

