Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Paul: Misplaced Pride and Zeal

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 5 – FridayWK04D05
TITUS 2:11-14 SOAP Titus 2:14
5. What good works are we to be zealous for?

TITUS 2:11-14 11 For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, 12 training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age,13 waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, 14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works.

O – This passage follows instructions for the various people of the church – on how to live godly lives – in accordance with sound doctrine. (v. 1 – 10) These include older men and women, younger men and women, and slaves.

FOR – the grace of God has appeared to all people, bringing salvation. Because of this salvation, we have a way to live. It “trains” us. This is more than just teaching, but training, discipline, and instruction. My NIV study Bible says, “The word translated “teaches” refers to more than instruction; it includes the whole process of training a child – instruction, encouragement, correction and discipline.” By it, we turn away from ungodliness and our “worldly passions,” and turn TO self-controlled, upright, and godly lives. It’s not because we HAVE TO, but as a response to what God has done. The quote from Lumina made sense of HOW we are to live, from v. 12: “It instructs us positively to live sensibly (Gr. sophronos; self-controlled inwardly, cf. vv. 2, 5, 6), righteously (Gr. dikaios; morally upright outwardly), and godly (Gr. eusebos; reverently upwardly) in this age.” (Lumina)

As we live out our lives, we wait for the “blessed hope” – the appearing of Jesus Christ. He is the One who died for us – to redeem us from unlawlessness, and to purify us. This readies us to be His people – and prepares us to be “zealous for good works.” Again, here is the motivation for living a life that reflects His desires. We live HOW we live – BECAUSE of what He has done for us. A response. Not an edict.

A – I have always struggled with a “list of do’s and don’ts” that I thought characterized the Christian life when I was younger. Now, I see our outer behavior and actions, stemming from a relationship with God. It isn’t a list. It’s a response. This passage gives credence to that thought.

But it is also the Holy Spirit working within me, giving direction, giving counsel, giving prompts for attitudes and behavior. It is learning to not only “hear”, but to obey His promptings, that is part of the “training” mentioned in v. 12 today.
It is actually freeing to think of our life is to be lived as a response to what Christ has done, not a list of “What to do – or NOT to do.” I have always been a person who asks “why.” And, I am learning the answers to those questions in the Word. Not lists. Responses. THAT is freeing!

But it also makes sense that we have guidance in God’s Word, from the Holy Spirit, and from God’s working to helps us to live “self-controlled inwardly…. Morally upright outwardly…. And reverently upwardly” (from Lumina – Greek translations). This impacts our inner being and attitudes and thoughts, our outer being and actions, and our relationship with God. Our WHOLE SELF. A response to what God has done.

What does that LOOK LIKE? It is a daily living out of what I know to be true, and stemming from my love for God, as well as a response to what He has done. It is not a “He did this…. So I do that.” But, rather, “He did this for me, and I am so grateful that I GET to do this …. For Him.” So, today, it is an attitude of service, with a servant heart. It is going through my day with a mindset of being open to the Spirit’s prompting, and then responding. Today, I GET TO prepare a dinner for neighbors that we have been praying for. I GET TO be hospitable. I GET TO have conversation with meaning. I GET TO serve Him – simply by following through on the Spirit’s prompting. And I GET TO live out my faith, simply, but with love.

P – Father God, help me to live today in response to what You have done in me, and for me. Thank You for the gift of salvation that You brought to me. Keep me from stubborn pride and selfishness, and turn my heart to responsive attitudes and actions that stem from a love for You. Father, today, may I be “zealous for good works.” May I serve You in a way that brings honor and glory to You.

Study Notes:
Lumina – v. 12 – When the Christian appreciates this grace it teaches him or her. It instructs us negatively to deny ungodliness, the root problem, and worldly passions, the manifestation of the root problem. These passions are the desires that unbelievers find so appealing but which are not in harmony with God’s character and will, though they are typical of the world system. It instructs us positively to live sensibly (Gr. sophronos; self-controlled inwardly, cf. vv. 2, 5, 6), righteously (Gr. dikaios; morally upright outwardly), and godly (Gr. eusebos; reverently upwardly) in this age. These qualities are the opposites of those that marked Cretan culture generally.

“Verses 11-14 are notable for their perfect balance of doctrine with living. Beginning with the incarnation (‘the grace of God hath appeared,’ v. 11), they relate this doctrine to a life that denies evil and practices good here and now (v. 12); that sees in the return of Christ the incentive for godly conduct (‘looking for that blessed hope . . .’ v. 13); and that realizes, in personal holiness and good works, the purpose of the atonement (v. 14). The passage is one of the most concise summations in the entire N.T. of the relation of Gospel truth to life.”[80]

Redeemed (Big Daddy Weave) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=13&v=_p31gY0t4pA
Seems like all I could see was the struggle
Haunted by ghosts that lived in my past
Bound up in shackles of all my failures
Wondering how long is this gonna last
Then You look at this prisoner and say to me “son
Stop fighting a fight it’s already been won”

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, now I’m not who I used to be
I am redeemed, I’m redeemed

All my life I have been called unworthy
Named by the voice of my shame and regret
But when I hear You whisper, “Child lift up your head”
I remember, oh God, You’re not done with me yet

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, now I’m not who I used to be

Because I don’t have to be the old man inside of me
‘Cause his day is long dead and gone
Because I’ve got a new name, a new life, I’m not the same
And a hope that will carry me home

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, ’cause I’m not who I used to be

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, yeah, I’m not who I used to be
Oh, God, I’m not who I used to be
Jesus, I’m not who I used to be
‘Cause I am redeemed
Thank God, redeemed

Leave a Reply

