Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Paul: Misplaced Zeal and Pride

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 3 – Wednesday, March 29, 2017WK04D03

Read 1 CORINTHIANS 1:26-31 SOAP I Corinthians 1:30-31

What does it mean to boast? What are we to boast about? How do we do that?

1 CORINTHIANS 1:26-31 26 For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. 27 But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; 28 God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, 29 so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. 30 And because of him you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, righteousness and sanctification and redemption, 31 so that, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.”

O – What a rich passage for study today! First of all, Paul writes about who the Corinthians WERE when they were called (Refers to God’s call to be saved by accepting His work through Christ and entering into a relationship with Him. – Faithlife Study Bible). He’s saying, “Remember who you were!” They were not wise (academically elite), or powerful (political movers and shakers), or noble birth (from well-to-do familes – Keith Krell) They were probably from the lower classes of society, not wealthy or educated. This is who they were when God called them!

BUT, GOD CHOSE! God chose them – the NOT wise, the NOT powerful, the NOT from noble birth! BUT God chose the what the world considers foolish. BUT God chose what the world considers weak. BUT God chose what the world considers low and despised. WHY? To shame the wise. To shame the strong.

SO THAT…… SO THAT NO ONE CAN BOAST. SO THAT no one can boast in the presence of God. So we can’t say, “God chose ME because of who I am.” It’s rather…… “God chose me because I am NOT….. what the world considers the best.” God chose us SO THAT He could USE US. SO THAT He could work through us. SO THAT we would not, could not, boast about who we are.

God chose us so He could do His work in us. Through Christ Jesus. It is because of God, through Christ Jesus, who became “to us wisdom from God”. But – also “righteousness, and sanctification and redemption). Righteousness – right standing before God – (He makes us right with Him, right within ourselves, and right with other people. “ Sanctification – (set apart and made holy, both positionally and practically). Redemption – bought back – (God, through Christ, has purchased us from the power of sin). (words in parenthesis – Keith Krell) THIS we can boast about!!

Yes – these are the things that we are given – by God. And, IF WE BOAST –THIS is what we should boast about! What God HAS DONE. What God IS DOING. WHAT God WILL DO. In us. For us. With us. Nothing else.

For all my years of study, I continue to find “new” things in the word. Today, this cross reference surprised me….. it is SO similar to what Paul wrote! From Jeremiah – “Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.” (Jeremiah 29:23-24 – ESV) Even in the Old Testament – people were told – “don’t boast in yourself – if you’re going to boast – boast in the Lord!!

A – What are my take-aways from today? This was a rich study!!
• I don’t have to be super smart, a celebrity, or rich for God to use me. In fact, God uses the ordinary to confound the extraordinary! I like to say that God uses ordinary people to do extraordinary things! God can use me – just as I am.
• HOWEVER – God doesn’t want to keep me as I am. He wants me to be rightoues, sanctified and redeemed. To be what HE is doing in me.
• AND – if I am going to boast – it has to be what God has done, is doing, and will do – in me. NOT what I am doing. NOT what I have done. NOT what I have the potential of doing!

So, today, it is to remember who I was, remember who I am, and remember who God is. And to know that I am who I am because of what God has done.

P – Father God, may I not boast in who I am, to think that I am better than I am, or to try to boast of what I can do. Father, may it be what You have done. Keep me humble. Keep my perspective one that is thankful for ALL that You have done for me, and in me. Thank You for working in my heart, softening it, molding it, and shaping it to be what You desire. Keep working, Lord, so that I reflect You and Your glory. May all I do and say today bring honor and glory to YOU – not to me. Amen.

Study Notes –
Boast – to speak with exaggeration and excessive pride, especially of oneself; to speak with pride
From the Greek – καυχήσηται – 1) to glory (whether with reason or without) 2) to glory on account of a thing 3) to glory in a thing
First of all, the Corinthians were not academically elite (“wise”). They were not wise according to a worldly standard. There were some from the educated classes in Corinth, but most of the people in the church were uneducated.
Second, the Corinthians were not political movers and shakers (“mighty”). The word translated “mighty” referred to the ruling class of a society. There were some in the church who were politically involved in the city, but most of the church members in Corinth had no influence in Corinth’s political power structure.
Finally, the Corinthians were not from well-to-do families (“noble”). Not many had what the world calls “good breeding.” By and large, most of them were from the lower ranks of society, including the slave class.7 (Keith Krell – Saints Gone Wild)

We’ve been given God’s righteousness. God is perfectly righteous because He is totally as He should be. He can’t vary from His rightness. And when we trust His Son, He shares His Son’s righteousness with us. He makes us right with Him, right within ourselves, and right with other people.
We’ve received God’s sanctification. We’ve been set apart and made holy, both positionally and practically. This is the daily manifestation of the Christ-like character that has been placed into us. The character of Christ is gradually revealed in us more and more the longer we’re in relationship with Him, as we learn how to handle life according to God’s wisdom. We’ll become more patient, more loving, more insightful, and more courageous. It’s a wonderful lifelong process.
We’ve received God’s redemption. To redeem means to buy something back. God, through Christ, has purchased us from the power of sin. It’s because of Christ’s redeeming work on the cross that we have eternal life. God chooses those that have nothing to brag about. (Keith Krell – Saints Gone Wild)

I Will Boast – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBfOcJGEKUU
Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom
Or the strong man boast in his strength
Let not the rich man boast in his riches
But let the humble come and give thanks
To the One who made us, the One who saved us

[Chorus:]
I will boast in the Lord my God
I will boast in the One Who’s worthy
I will boast in the Lord my God
I will boast in the One Who’s worthy, He’s worthy

Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom
Or the strong man boast in his strength
Let not the rich man boast in his riches
But let the humble come and give thanks
To the One who made us, the One who saved us

Leave a Reply

