Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Sarah: Infertility

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 4. Thursday, March 23, 2017WK03D04

Read PSALM 119:68; Psalm 34:8-11 SOAP Psalm 119:68
What does it mean that God is good, and how does this apply to those struggling with infertility?

PSALM 119:68 68 You are good and do good; teach me your statutes.

PSALM 34:8-11 8 Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! 9 Oh, fear the Lord, you his saints, for those who fear him have no lack! 10 The young lions suffer want and hunger; but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing. 11 Come, O children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the Lord.

O – God: Who He is, and what He does. “You ARE good, and DO good.” Psalm 119:68 tells about God’s nature (who He is) and what He does. BOTH are good. He IS good, therefore, He DOES good. “teach me more about You!”

Then the Psalmist in Psalm 34 says: “Come see it for yourself – You can have what I have…. In God.” “Children – let me tell you about our good God. I’ll teach you what it means to fear God – to have awe-inspired reverence, and to worship Him with obedience.” He has personal experience with God, therefore, he wants to share it with others. But it is not only to share with others, it is to teach the younger generation who God is, and what He does – and what it means to “fear” God.

A – I have experienced that God IS good, and DOES good in my life. SO – do I ask Him to teach me more about Him, so I can share it with others?

For the past four years, I have been regular in my study of the word. Not just reading, but studying, and writing, and working to apply it in a way that makes a difference in my life. It’s not that I didn’t study. I did. But it was study to prepare. Making a plan to study each day, morning or night, has made a difference INSIDE of me. And writing it down (well, typing it in my case) has given me something to go back to, to see what God has been working on in my heart. And now, that regular study has caused me to have God’s word working through me – and prepares me for each day – and to speak of His work to others. It is so much more than preparing to teach something – as He is teaching ME!

This can’t happen without being in the word – meditating on it, thinking through it each day, letting it permeate my soul. I am able to say, “You are good, and You do good” – as He IS doing good – in me. Now, it is for me to say, “taste and see that God is good….” To others. To share what I am learning. What I am experiencing. What I know to be true.

P – Father God, thank You for the reminder that You are good – and that You do good. May I today, share with those I meet – to say “I KNOW – God IS good. He DOES good. Taste and see…” Keep my eyes open, my ears open – so I know the opportunities that You have for me today. Thank You for Your working in my life, especially over the past few years of regular study in Your word – to let it work in my heart. Continue Your work in me, so that I can live for You. Amen.

You are good – towb – good, merry, pleasant, desirable, agreeable 1a) pleasant, agreeable (to the senses) 1b) pleasant (to the higher nature) 1c) good, excellent (of its kind) 1d) good, rich, valuable in estimation
You do good – ytb – to go well with, please, be agreeable, to be good, be pleasing,

O taste and see that the Lord [our God] is good; How blessed [fortunate, prosperous, and favored by God] is the man who takes refuge in Him. 9 O [reverently] fear the Lord, you His saints (believers, holy ones); For to those who fear Him there is no want. 10 The young lions lack [food] and grow hungry, But they who seek the Lord will not lack any good thing. 11 Come, you children, listen to me; I will teach you to fear the Lord[with awe-inspired reverence and worship Him with obedience]. (Psalm 34:8 – 11 – AMP)

You Are Good – (Kari Jobe) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZwiW1Fgrp8
Your kindness leads me to repentance
Your goodness draws me to Your side
Your mercy calls me to be like You
Your favor is my delight
Every day, I’ll awaken my praise
And pour out a song from my heart

You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever
You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever
You are good, and Your mercy is forever

Your kindness leads me to repentance
Your goodness draws me to Your side
Your mercy calls me to be like You
Your favor is my delight
Every day, I’ll awaken my praise
And pour out a song from my heart

You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever
You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever

You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever
You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever

Your kindness is forever, Your goodness is forever
Your mercy is forever, forever
Your kindness is forever, Your goodness is forever
Your mercy is forever, forever

Leave a Reply

