Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Sarah: Infertility

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 3.  Wednesday, March 22, 2017WK03D03

Read PSALM 73   SOAP Psalm 73:25-26

What does it mean for God to be sufficient?

PSALM 73 1  Truly God is good to Israel,    to those who are pure in heart. 2  But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled,    my steps had nearly slipped. 3  For I was envious of the arrogant    when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. 4  For they have no pangs until death;    their bodies are fat and sleek. 5  They are not in trouble as others are;    they are not stricken like the rest of mankind. 6  Therefore pride is their necklace;    violence covers them as a garment. 7  Their eyes swell out through fatness;    their hearts overflow with follies. 8  They scoff and speak with malice;    loftily they threaten oppression. 9  They set their mouths against the heavens,    and their tongue struts through the earth. 10 Therefore his people turn back to them,    and find no fault in them. 11 And they say, “How can God know?    Is there knowledge in the Most High?” 12 Behold, these are the wicked;    always at ease, they increase in riches. 13 All in vain have I kept my heart clean    and washed my hands in innocence. 14 For all the day long I have been stricken    and rebuked every morning. 15 If I had said, “I will speak thus,”    I would have betrayed the generation of your children. 16 But when I thought how to understand this,    it seemed to me a wearisome task, 17 until I went into the sanctuary of God;    then I discerned their end. 18 Truly you set them in slippery places;    you make them fall to ruin. 19 How they are destroyed in a moment,    swept away utterly by terrors! 20 Like a dream when one awakes, O Lord, when you rouse yourself, you despise them as phantoms. 21 When my soul was embittered,    when I was pricked in heart, 22 I was brutish and ignorant;    I was like a beast toward you. 23 Nevertheless, I am continually with you;    you hold my right hand. 24 You guide me with your counsel,    and afterward you will receive me to glory. 25 Whom ha

ve I in heaven but you?    And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. 26 My flesh and my heart may fail,    but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. 27 For behold, those who are far from you shall perish;    you put an end to everyone who is unfaithful to you. 28 But for me it is good to be near God;    I have made the Lord God my refuge,    that I may tell of all your works.

O – The Psalmist starts with a declaration:   “Truly God is good to Israel, to those who are pure in heart.”  (v. 1) He KNOWS that God is good.  But his struggle is with looking at those around him who do not follow God – and are wicked.  Yet, they are prosperous.  It seems, yes, SEEMS, as though they have everything, and have everything all together.   (v. 2 – 15) UNTIL, he went to worship God  – and saw them for what they really are (v. 16,17)  They will be destroyed in a moment, when God brings they to judgment.  (v. 18-20) He then regrets his thoughts and treatment of God. (v. 21-22)  Nevertheless – (love this word!) – NEVERTHELESS – he goes on to state, and restate who God is, and what God does.  “You hold my right hand.   You guide me.  You receive me to glory. “  “Whom have I in heaven but You?  There is nothing on earth that I desire besides You.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but GOD is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  No matter what happens, no matter what the evil have or do – the realization is that GOD is in control.  And – we are nothing without Him!

These cross references reinforce the idea that God is our source of stability.  “Lord, you give me stability and prosperity; you make my future secure. “( Psalm 16:5 )  The Lord is my source of security. I have determined to follow your instructions.”  (Psalm 119:57)  “I cry out to you, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my shelter, my security in the land of the living.’”(Psalm 142:5 )

A –  What is my reaction to the world around me?  Or, to the seemingly success of the evil-doers?  Where are my eyes?   On me?  On the world?  On God?  What is my perspective?

Oh, that my heart song would be “Whom have I in heaven but you?    And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  NO matter what – God is my strength of my heart.   God is my portion forever.  He is everything I need. There is NOTHING on earth that I desire besides You.

And even though my life is steady and secure at the moment, I need to store these treasure verses away for the times that I need them.  And – to remember them even in times of prosperity and peace, that HE is EVERYTHING that I need.

P – Father God, thank You for the strength that You give – beyond what I have in myself.  But, more than that, thank You for being my ALL in ALL.  May I see today, that You ARE the strength of my life.  May I live as You are my portion, my inheritance, my security.  May I live, desiring NOTHING more than You.  Father, may I be close to You today, and tell of Your goodness and mercy to those I encounter.  As I recount Your blessings, may a song be in my heart, proclaiming that YOU are the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.  Amen.

God is the Strength of My Heart https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00hB_IPqNDU

Whom have I in heaven but You
There is nothing on earth I desire beside You
My heart and my strength many times they fail
But there is one truth that always will prevail

God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
And my portion forever, forever

Whom have I in heaven but You
There is nothing on earth I desire beside You
My heart and my strength many times they fail
But there is one truth that always will prevail

God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
And my portion forever, forever

God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
God is the strength of my heart
And my portion forever, forever

Forever, forever, forever…..
Forever

Leave a Reply

