Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Sarah: Infertility

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 2.  Tuesday, March 21, 2017WK03D02

Read PSALM 55  SOAP Psalm 55:22

What burdens do you have a hard time “casting on the Lord”?

PSALM 55 1 Give ear to my prayer, O God,    and hide not yourself from my plea for mercy! 2  Attend to me, and answer me;    I am restless in my complaint and I moan, 3  because of the noise of the enemy,    because of the oppression of the wicked. For they drop trouble upon me, and in anger they bear a grudge against me. 4  My heart is in anguish within me;    the terrors of death have fallen upon me. 5  Fear and trembling come upon me,    and horror overwhelms me. 6  And I say, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove!    I would fly away and be at rest; 7  yes, I would wander far away;    I would lodge in the wilderness; Selah 8  I would hurry to find a shelter    from the raging wind and tempest.” 9  Destroy, O Lord, divide their tongues;    for I see violence and strife in the city. 10 Day and night they go around it    on its walls, and iniquity and trouble are within it; 11 ruin is in its midst; oppression and fraud    do not depart from its marketplace. 12 For it is not an enemy who taunts me—    then I could bear it; it is not an adversary who deals insolently with me—    then I could hide from him. 13 But it is you, a man, my equal,    my companion, my familiar friend. 14 We used to take sweet counsel together;    within God’s house we walked in the throng. 15 Let death steal over them;    let them go down to Sheol alive;    for evil is in their dwelling place and in their heart. 16 But I call to God,    and the Lord will save me. 17 Evening and morning and at noon 54 I utter my complaint and moan,    and he hears my voice. 18 He redeems my soul in safety    from the battle that I wage,    for many are arrayed against me. 19 God will give ear and humble them,    he who is enthroned from of old, Selah because they do not change    and do not fear God. 20 My companion stretched out his hand against his friends;    he violated his covenant. 21 His speech was smooth as butter,    yet war was in his heart; his words were softer than oil,    yet they were drawn swords. 22 Cast your burden on the Lord,    and he will sustain you; he will never permit    the righteous to be moved. 23 But you, O God, will cast them down    into the pit of destruction; men of blood and treachery    shall not live out half their days. But I will trust in you.

O – David is crying out to God, being shaken by the enemy.  And – the enemy seems to be a former good friend – one who would worship with him, and yet  betrayed him (v. 12-14,20-21).  This seemed to him, worse than an enemy.  He knows that He can cry out to God, (v 16,17), and knows that God hears, but this situation is bitter to him.  The betrayal almost seems more than he can bear.  But (and there are two here…)  BUT – I call to God.  And BUT – I will trust You.  This is the declaration in God’s sovereignty AND His trust in Him.  And in so doing, David declares that he can “cast his burden on the Lord – and He will sustain.”  (v. 22)

The “cast” is to release (AMP) or to throw or eject.  To get rid of.  To keep your hands off.  To take that burden and release it to the Lord.  To throw it off our “burden load.”  The burden (literally “gift” in Hebrew) is seen as something that God has given to us – and we need to give it back to Him.  It’s not the “back – giving” kind of gift – but something that God allows in our lives to teach us, or that is for our good.  Maybe an element of trust here.

A – I need to remember these simple, two things:  Call to God, and… Trust God.   To let Him know my needs – and then rely on Him to meet me at that point of need.  David did not disguise his emotions when calling out to God – they were raw, and full of pain.  I believe that God does not want us to “clean up” our emotions when coming to Him.  He just wants us to …… come.   But, there is that element of trust.  To rest in Him.  To have open hands, not closed fists.

This reminded me of the sermon on Sunday – to “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30 – ESV)  The visual of Pastor Greg holding that yoke with all the burdens on it was revealing to me.   I so often just take them on…. And try to hold them myself.  But that yoke is designed for two!  And – I have to release (cast off – throw, eject, dispose of, remove) those burdens – with open hands…. Not closed hands (or fists).  I tend to close my fists, trying to solve the problems, fix them, make them work.  And – I need to remember to cast them off – to cast my burdens to the Lord – and He will hold them.  He will sustain and uphold me.  Why?  His Word also states, “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”  (I Peter 5:7 – NIV)  Why?  He loves me.  Plain and simple.  He loves me.

P – Father God, help me to remember to call to You, not complain.  And to trust in You, not in myself.  I am finding, more and more, that it IS only You that can help me overcome.  Today, I cast my cares on You – because I know of Your love for me.  In so doing, I know that YOU will sustain and uphold me.  Keep my hands open, pry those fingers open if You need to.  Work in my heart today, releasing my burdens to Your care.   Amen.

Cast your burden on the Lord [release it] and He will sustain and uphold you;  He will never allow the righteous to be shaken (slip, fall, fail). (AMP)

Warren Wiersbe gives four possible ways we can look at the situation when we are faced with handling painful problems and battles of life.  (Be Series)  1.  We can Look Within at our Feelings:  (v 1 – 5).  2.  We can Look Beyond for a Safe Refuge (v. 6 – 8).  “How can I get out of this?”  3. We can Look Around at the Circumstances (v 9 – 15, 20-21).  4. We can Look Up to God and Trust Him (v 16-19,22-23)

Cast – slk – to throw; to eject, dispose of, remove, scatter

Burden – yhab – gift

“Cast My Cares” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKuAMmTqUbs

When fear feels bigger than my faith
And struggles steals my breath away
When my back pressed up against the wall
With the weight of my worries stacked up tall
You’re strong enough to hold it all

I will cast my cares on you
You’re the anchor of my hope
The only one who’s in control
I will cast my cares on you
I’ll trade the troubles of this world
For your peace inside my soul

This war’s not what I would have chosen
But you see the future no one knows yet
And you’re still good when I can’t
See the working of your hands
You’re holding it all

I will cast my cares on you
You’re the anchor of my hope
The only one who’s in control
I will cast my cares on you
I’ll trade the troubles of this world
For your peace inside my soul

I’m finding there’s freedom,
When I lay it all on your shoulders

Cast my cares I will, cast my cares I will, cast my cares on you
Cast my cares I will, cast my cares I will, cast my cares on you
Cast my cares I will, cast my cares I will, cast my cares on you

I will cast my cares on you
You’re the anchor of my hope
The only one who’s in control
I will cast my cares on you
I’ll trade the troubles of this world
For your peace inside my soul

I will cast my cares on you
You’re the anchor of my hope
The only one who’s in control
I will cast my cares on you
I’ll trade the troubles of this world
For your peace inside my soul

Cast my cares I will, cast my cares I will, cast my cares on you

Leave a Reply

