Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Sarah: Infertility

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 1  Monday, March 20, 2017WK03D01

Read GENESIS 17:15-19 15 SOAP Genesis 18:12-14a

Why did Sarah laugh?

GENESIS 17:15-19 15 And God said to Abraham, “As for Sarai your wife, you shall not call her name Sarai, but Sarah shall be her name. 16 I will bless her, and moreover, I will give you a son by her. I will bless her, and she shall become nations; kings of peoples shall come from her.” 17 Then Abraham fell on his face and laughed and said to himself, “Shall a child be born to a man who is a hundred years old? Shall Sarah, who is ninety years old, bear a child?” 18 And Abraham said to God, “Oh that Ishmael might live before you!” 19 God said, “No, but Sarah your wife shall bear you a son, and you shall call his name Isaac. I will establish my covenant with him as an everlasting covenant for his offspring after him. GENESIS 18:9-15 9  They said to him, “Where is Sarah your wife?” And he said, “She is in the tent.” 10 The Lord said, “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah your wife shall have a son.” And Sarah was listening at the tent door behind him. 11 Now Abraham and Sarah were old, advanced in years. The way of women had ceased to be with Sarah.  12  So Sarah laughed to herself, saying, “After I am worn out, and my lord is old, shall I have pleasure?” 13 The Lord said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, now that I am old?’ 14 Is anything too hard for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, about this time next year, and Sarah shall have a son.” 15 But Sarah denied it, saying, “I did not laugh,” for she was afraid. He said, “No, but you did laugh.”

O – Sarah waited for many years to hear this….. to the point that she and Abraham that taken things into their own hands to “fulfill” God’s promise.  And the regret of doing so…. ‘Oh, that Ishmael might live before you.”  But – now it seemed impossible, physically impossible for God to fulfill His promise of a child.  Ninety years old?  Even at almost sixty, I know that it would be physically impossible for ME to have a child!  So – she laughed.  (Probably a Chonda Pierce laugh…)  God’s answer?   “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

A –  How many times have I thought that it was “impossible” for God?  What was my reaction?   A laugh?  Probably not a laugh.  Most likely, complaint or resignation.  After all, my earthly, finite mind cannot comprehend what seems to be impossible.

But the waiting…. That’s what’s hard.  Waiting for God to work.  Waiting for God to fulfill His promise.  Waiting to see His answers.  This has been a lifelong lesson for me.   Maybe not in the impossible, but in the waiting.

The thing that comes to mind is waiting for a possible companion.  Thirty years is a long time.  I know that I was not ready in the early years, especially while raising Jess.  But, the loneliness was almost physical at times.  But God brought to mind this verse many years ago.  “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  (Psalm 37:4)  I clung to this verse, learning what it meant to “delight in the Lord”.  It was putting Him above my desires.  It was learning to wait.  It was learning to cling to His promises.  It was reading His word, learning of Him.  It was NOT going out and trying to “find someone.”  Oh – I tried that at times, and utterly failed…. And finally came to the place of wisdom – if God had someone for me – HE would provide, where I was, without me going out to search.  It was doing what He had for me, where He had it, and for however long He gave that to me to do.  That was a huge lesson….. with many quizzes along the way.  And God provided….  A man that I knew and trusted, and had seen God working in his life.  And so, I became a bride at 56.   (hmmm….. I think that many times I DID laugh, at the prospect of being a bride – at this age!)  I could relate to the incredulous thinking of Sarah in this passage….  J      But – I will say that God’s timing, and God’s provision is THE BEST.  He doesn’t always provide in this way.  And – I learned so many lessons on “delighting in the Lord” along the way.

So – what if He doesn’t provide what I think He should?  That, also, is the struggle.  That, too, is learning to rest on His promise to “never leave or forsake” or to realize that I do not understand His wisdom and ways.  It is knowing that He DOES have a plan for me (Jeremiah 29:11) that is for good.   And that He works “all things together FOR GOOD” for those who love Him.  (Romans 8:28)   These are not glib promises – they are real.  And I have lived them.   And, in God’s power and mercy, I will continue to live them out, each day, faithfully serving Him.

P – Father God, thank You for Your promises, Your precious promises to me, and to all those who love You.  Help me to live in them, each day.  May I not laugh or scoff in Your ways.  May I jump in with all my heart and life – trusting in You for Your perfect ways.  May I not run ahead of You, trying to “fix” what You haven’t worked out yet in my life.  May I not second guess Your timing or Your provision, but rest in the knowledge that You are God.  I am not.  Thank You for Your provision, even within my restlessness, my questioning, and my needs.   You truly know me – and love me.  Help me to live within that knowledge today.  Amen.

Is Anything Too Hard for God? – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR-gtkuHEbg

It’s out of your hands, you’ve done all you can do
You’ve given God the problem, it’s no longer up to you
You’ve prayed the prayer of faith, you’re standing on God’s truth
While you’re waiting on the answer, He has a question for you

Is anything too hard for God?
Who’s got a problem beyond His power to solve?
Are there situations He’s not the Master of?
Is anything too hard for God?

Only believe, trust His word, you’ll see
His plans are now unfolding, performing perfectly
It’s clear how much He loves you, just look at all He’s done
For all your questions, there’s really only one

Are there situations He’s not the Master of?
Is anything too hard for God?

Leave a Reply

