Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Moses: Fear and Weakness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 5. Friday, March 17, 2107WK02D05

Read ISAIAH 41:9-10 SOAP Isaiah 41:10

5. Fear keeps us from doing what God calls us to do. Think about the truths in Isaiah 41 and write down how these help you overcome fear:
God is with you –
He is your God –
He will help you –
He will uphold you with His righteous hand –

ISAIAH 41:9-10 9 you whom I took from the ends of the earth, and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not cast you off”; 10 fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

O/A – God’s words of comfort and strengthening hit me today. “ I have chosen you. I have NOT cast you off. I am with you. I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. . I will uphold you.” My responsibility? “You are my servant. Fear not. Be not dismayed.“ Knowing who I am, and dealing with the emotions. God’s responsibility is sometimes what I take on – on myself. But, I need to realize that it is NOT my strength. It is NOT my duty to uphold. Successful living is NOT wholly dependent on me. It is God who strengthens and upholds and helps. It is me, allowing Him to do what He does.

How many times do I TAKE ON what I know to be God’s responsibility, or covenant promise? How many times do I try to do things on my own strength? As I think through the passages from this week, I see Moses questioning God, as if he was the weakest of the weakest. I see Moses, at the end of his life, telling Joshua that God WAS WITH him. Twice. Once to the people, and then again to Joshua in front of the people. And then, God repeated it AGAIN to Joshua after Moses died. God’s promise was also God’s PRESENCE. From yesterday, to allow God to give me His strength, to go beyond what I know I can do. And, then today, God’s promise, not only to be WITH me, but to STRENGTHEN, HELP AND UPHOLD me. He IS God. God of the yesterday – keeping a covenant that He established. God of the today – giving strength. God of the tomorrow – I WILL strengthen, help, and uphold. He does that today, as well.

So why do I continue to do things on my own strength, or worry about what I need to do? Because of pride? (I can do this….) Because of stubbornness? (I WILL do this?) Because of fear? (If I don’t do this, it won’t get done?) Because I think that SOMEONE needs to do this? (Again, if I don’t do this, it won’t get done?)

For me, it is learning to walk in step with the Spirit, allowing Him to speak to me. Allowing God to give me strength for the moment. Allowing God to give me wisdom for each decision, each conversation, each task, each piece of ministry that He sends my way. It is realizing that He is WITH ME.

To strengthen – to give me strength beyond my own for the things He asks me to do. (like Moses, I give excuses of why I can’t do this….)
To help – to give me the “tools” of what I need to do to accomplish what He asks me to do (wisdom, guidance, His words)
To uphold – to bolster me when I feel “beyond” myself, the impossible things, the things that wear on my heart, the things that are “weighty” in emotion and energy

P – Father God, You are faithful. You keep Your word. You have promised to never leave or abandon. You have promised to be with me, to strengthen me, to help me, to uphold me. Forgive me for the times that I take that back – and try to accomplish things on my own, in my own strength. Father, help me to rest in You – allowing You to bring to me Your strength and presence. Thank You for Your patience with me. Guide me today, through the day, and direct my steps. May I walk in step with Your Spirit today, receiving Your strength and wisdom . Amen.

“Fear Not” (Chris Tomlin) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=ppfwXKqDkPs
God, He is faithful
Faithful to us
Through troubled waters
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

Be strong, take heart
The Lord He fights for us
Hold on; our God
Is a mighty warrior

God, He is faithful
Faithful to us
Through troubled waters
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

Be still and rest
He holds the universe
Lift high your hands
To the Rock unshakable

God, He is faithful
Faithful to us
Through troubled waters
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

God, He is faithful
Through every storm
He’ll never leave us
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

The truth is a sword
The battle is the Lord’s
Surely He will deliver
So call on His name
He is mighty to save
Surely He will deliver [x2]

God, He is faithful
Faithful to us
Through troubled waters
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

God, He is faithful
Through every storm
He’ll never leave us
He won’t abandon
Fear not!
The Lord God is with us

Leave a Reply

