Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Moses: Fear and Weakness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4.  Thursday, March 16, 2017WK02D04

Read ISAIAH 40:28-31 SOAP Isaiah 40:28-31

  1. According to Isaiah 40, how does our strength get renewed?

ISAIAH 40:28-31 28 Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God,    the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary;    his understanding is unsearchable. 29 He gives power to the faint,    and to him who has no might he increases strength. 30 Even youths shall faint and be weary,    and young men shall fall exhausted; 31 but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;    they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary;    they shall walk and not faint.

O – Israel, in exile, is complaining about God not caring or looking after them.  (v. 27) But, the answer comes in these verses in today’s reading.  “Have you not known?” (haven’t you known by experience) and “Have you not heard (haven’t you been taught) that the LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator??  God’s qualities of strength, knowledge, understanding, and power are beyond where we can even understand.  But, He also gives us His power and strength.  When we, even at our best and youngest, try to do things on our own strength, we get weary and stumble.  BUT,……   BUT  those who wait (qwh – to await, hope, wait for) the LORD will renew their strength.  It allows us to rise up… run… and walk.  (thinking….  beyond what I can do- rise up;  short bursts of what I need at the moment – run;  what I need day by day – walk)

The NIV Application Commentary gives an excellent explanation of wait – “To “wait” on God is not simply to mark time; rather, it is to live in confident expectation of his action on our behalf. It is to refuse to run ahead of him in trying to solve our problems for ourselves. (NIV Application Commentary)

A – Waiting is hard.  I dislike waiting!  So, this is where God has worked in my life, giving me periods of time to wait….. and wait…. And wait.  It’s not the sitting on my hands kind of waiting, but what I had termed “active waiting” a few years ago.   I found the explanation today in the NIV Application Commentary – “to live in confident expectation of His action on our behalf.”  But, it was the second sentence that hit my heart in the way that I resist waiting….. “it is to refuse to run ahead of Him in trying to solve our problems for ourselves.”  Ouch…..

Yes, I waited 30 years as a single mom to marry again.  I waited 18 months of unemployment to teach again.  Those were big – and were long stretches of time for God to work in my heart.  But, the few months of waiting to see what God had for me in Indy were harder, in some ways.  Yes – I was newly married, and was happy and satisfied.  But – and that but comes up….  I chaffed at the wondering “where do I fit in?”  “What do I DO?”  As I look back at that first year, it was the chaffing, and wondering, instead of allowing God to work in HIS timing.  And He has.  And, I am learning.

But there’s more than waiting in this passage.  It’s allowing God to give us HIS strength.  To give us what we need at the moment, for the long term, for the intense times.  It’s for when we don’t have the strength in ourselves.  (Huh…. That’s EXACTLY what He wants from us – to admit that we CAN’T do it ourselves…)   That brought to mind II Corinthians 12:9-10 – “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (ESV)  His grace is SUFFICIENT – exactly what I need.  His power is perfect – just what I need, when I need it.  Then, I can’t boast about doing it on my own – but rely on Him.  He’s working on this area, too.  I need those reminders.

My takeaway from today?   I need to REFUSE to run ahead of God in trying to take care of things myself.  To allow God to work in His timing.  And, I need to rely on Him only.  My weakness brings on His strength.

P – Father God, thank You for this reminder.  You know what I need before I know myself.  You bring to mind what You desire in me, where You want to work.  Father, forgive me for those times that I run ahead of You and try to “work out” Your plan for me.  Help me learn to wait on You, to wait in expectation for what YOU have for me.  Today, may I wait on You, in confident expectation of Your working.  Let me lean on You for my strength for the things You bring to me today.  Amen.

 

Still – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z3wwWFsSlNQ

Hide me now
Under Your wings
Cover me
Within Your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father, You are King over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father, You are King over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

Your Joy Oh lord
will be my strength,
Renouncing fear
We stand in your glorious grace.

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father, You are King over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

Do You Not Know? (Rob Jacobson) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZPSHos0L4g

Why do you complain, Jacob?
Why do you say, Israel,
“My way is hidden from the Lord;
my cause is disregarded by my God”?
Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

Leave a Reply

