Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Moses: Fear and Weakness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 3.  Wednesday, March 15, 2017WK02D03

Read  DEUTERONOMY 31:1-8   SOAP Deut. 31:7-8

  1. In Deuteronomy 31 Moses tells Joshua to be courageous because “The Lord goes before you.” How does this knowledge produce courage?

DEUTERONOMY 31:1-8 1  So Moses continued to speak these words to all Israel. 2  And he said to them, “I am 120 years old today. I am no longer able to go out and come in. The Lord has said to me, ‘You shall not go over this Jordan.’ 3  The Lord your God himself will go over before you. He will destroy these nations before you, so that you shall dispossess them, and Joshua will go over at your head, as the Lord has spoken. 4  And the Lord will do to them as he did to Sihon and Og, the kings of the Amorites, and to their land, when he destroyed them. 5  And the Lord will give them over to you, and you shall do to them according to the whole commandment that I have commanded you. 6  Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” 7  Then Moses summoned Joshua and said to him in the sight of all Israel, “Be strong and courageous, for you shall go with this people into the land that the Lord has sworn to their fathers to give them, and you shall put them in possession of it. 8  It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

O – This passage is precious to me, today.  Moses is at the end of his life – and is giving wisdom (actually, a summary of the wisdom that he’s been giving all along…) to the Israelites.  He encourages them as they prepare to cross the Jordan River, reminding them of all of what God has done.  And then these words….. “Be strong and courageous.  Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will NEVER leave you or forsake you.”  As if that wasn’t enough, he REPEATED these words to Joshua in front of all the people!  “Be strong and courageous…. It is the Lord who goes before you.  He will be with you; He will not leave you or forsake you.  Do not fear or be dismayed.”    What a confirmation for this young man!  Not only did Moses utter these words to the Israelites, but he repeated them IN FRONT OF the people to Joshua.  THAT is affirmation and encouragement to the younger generation!   God’s help in the past – affirmed in the present – giving hope and strength for the future!!

And do you know what is so neat?   God REPEATED those words, again, to Joshua, after Moses’ death, adding, “JUST AS I WAS WITH MOSES, so I will be with you all the days of your life.  I will not leave you or forsake you.Be strong and courageous, for you shall cause this people to inherit the land that I swore to their fathers to give them. Only be strong and very courageous, being careful to do according to all the law that Moses my servant commanded you.”   (Joshua 1:5 – 7a) And when God repeats something – we need to take notice!!  And – God repeats His faithfulness – “JUST AS I WAS WITH MOSES…”

We need women in the older generations to give hope to those in the younger generations, saying “Be strong and courageous!”  We need to hear from women who have walked with God and have testimonies of His faithfulness from their personal lives – women who not only know this truth that Moses shares in Deuteronomy 31 but women who have also experienced it!  We need to hear from women who have weathered life’s storms and can testify that what Moses says is true –  Jesus will never leave them for one moment to battle their storms alone. – Angela – LoveGodGreatly blog 3-15-17

A – I have clung to these verses for years.  They DID give me strength and hope for the future.  The promise of God’s faithfulness – “I will never leave you or forsake you” was SO REAL to me, after my husband walked out on our marriage, leaving me with an 18 month old to raise.  Oh, HE is faithful!  It was real to me during those lonely years as a single parent, knowing that He was not only faithful, but He was Jehovah-Jireh, my Provider.  It was real to me after my parents’ accident, navigating funeral arrangements for my dad, and care for my mom, who was severely injured.  It was real to me after the Christian School I was principal of closed suddenly, leaving me without a job and ministry.  It was real to me during those 18 months of job searching, again seeing God as my Provider, and my faithful God.  It was real to me during those first few months here in Indiana, newly married, and having to establish new relationships in a new place.  It has been real to me when Paul leaves on yet another trip to another country, ministering to seminary leaders in the majority world, and I stay in Indy by myself.  AND – it is STILL REAL to me, today, as I learn to share what God has taught me to a younger generation of women.

I want to be like the women written about in Titus….” Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.”  (Titus 2:3 – 5)

I also want to be a part of the process that Paul wrote to Timothy about in II Timothy 2:2 – “and what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men, who will be able to teach others also.”

I have to admit it – I AM an older woman!  And, I’m married to an older man.  When we go to church, we are reminded, as we look around at all the young adults in our midst, that we ARE older.  And lately, that has been a weighty reminder and responsibility.  I am no longer a young woman, looking up at the wisdom of the older ladies in my sphere.  I AM the older lady….  And God is using the story of my life, and of Paul’s life, in the lives of the younger people that we encounter week after week.  My prayer is that God WILL use us to encourage and strengthen these precious people that God has entrusted to our relational sphere.

Last night, I had dinner with one of the younger women from church.  We talked over a simple meal from the crockpot, and compared life stories.  Single parenting, juggling children and jobs, being single in a couple’s world at church, trying to grow spiritually, seeing God as FAITHFUL – “never leaving or forsaking us…”  (Yes, that verse was part of our conversation!!)  And as she was leaving, we learned of one more touch point that neither had mentioned before….  And she said, “Karen, God knew what He was doing when He put you in my life.”

I needed that reminder today….  to ensure that I am faithful to the God who is faithful.  To live a life worthy of Him – and one that I can share with others in my life.  To be obedient when someone comes my way, to tell my story and of God’s faithfulness.  To keep in the Word, so that it is “living and active” within me.

P – Father God, I am today, like Moses, in a place where You have put me, and surrounded by Your people.  Young people.  Hurting people.  Thirsty people.  And I feel the weight.  Father, I NEED YOU to be my strength and courage – to live a life that is worthy of the tasks that You have put before me.  Father, these young adults are Your children, and You have entrusted them to this church of which we are a part.  Help me to be obedient, to be loving, to be open, and to share my life and energy with those You have surrounded me with.  Father, grow me in Your love and wisdom.  May my life reflect Your love and power – not mine.  Don’t let me be proud, but humble, relying on You.  Thank You for Your promise of faithfulness and provision.  Amen.

Be Strong And Take Courage (Don Moen) –  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7iN_P0TKks

Be strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the Lord will go before you
And His light will show the way

Be strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the one who lives within you
Will be strong in you today

Why don’ you give him all of your fears
Why don’t you let him wipe all of your tears
He knows, He’s been through pain before
And He knows all that you’ve been looking for

So, be strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the Lord will go before you
And His light will show the way

Be Strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the one who lives within you
Will be strong in you today

Nothing can take you out of his hand
Nothing can face you that you can’t command
I know that you will always be
In His love, in His power you will be free!!

So, be strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the Lord will go before you
And His light will show the way

Be Strong and take courage
Do not fear or be dismayed
For the one who lives within you
Will be strong in you today

Leave a Reply

