Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Moses: Fear and Weakness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1.  Monday, March 13, 2017WK02D01

Read EXODUS 3:1-15   SOAP Exodus 3: 11 – 14

What weaknesses did Moses have that got in the way of him obeying God? What weaknesses do you have that keep you from obeying God?

EXODUS 3:11-15  11 But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?”12 He said, “But I will be with you, and this shall be the sign for you, that I have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall serve God on this mountain.” 13 Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?”  14 God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel: ‘I am has sent me to you.’” 15 God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel: ‘The Lord, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever, and thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations.

O – Moses was in the desert, tending sheep, when he saw a bush that was burning, yet not being “burnt.”  He stopped to see what it was, and then God called out to him.  His answer?  “Here I am.”  God told him to take off his sandals (a sign of respect), for he was standing on holy ground.  And then, God told him who HE was – the God of his father, Abraham, Isaac, and Jabob.  Moses hid his face, as he was afraid to look at God.  (was this also a sign of awe or reverence?)

God told Moses of His awareness of His children’s sufferings, and that He had “heard” them.  (hearing by God typically means He is going to do something about it….)  God was going to deliver them from the Egyptians, and bring them to another land.  So….. God was sending Moses to Egypt to bring the people out.  Moses’ answer?  “Who am I to do this?”  God’s answer – “I will be with you – and here’s the sign (the proof) that I am…”

So Moses asks another question….  “So…. If I go and tell them that ‘the God of your fathers has sent me” what will I tell them?”   Did Moses really think that they wouldn’t know who this God was??  God’s answer – “I AM WHO I AM.”  “I AM has sent me….”  This is the name that God said that He wanted to be remembered by.

It is interesting to note that Moses first stated “here am I” – then “who am I!”  Hmmm….. I’m here…. But who’s to think that I could do this?   “I’m here… but don’t think I’m the man for this task!”  And then.   “Who am I going to say You are?”   God has already told Moses that “the God of your fathers sent me…”  Did Moses really think that they didn’t know who HE was?   After all, this was not a conversation that was going to be to Pharaoh – it was to the Israelites.

This was an interesting note from my NIV Study Bible:  “The Hebrew for this name (the LORD) is Yahweh (often incorrectly spelled “Jehovah”;… It means “He is” or “He will be” and is the third-person from of the verb translated “I will be “ in v. 12 and “I AM” in v. 14.  When God speaks of Himself, He says, “I AM,” and when we speak of Him we say, “He is.”

And from the Encyclopedia of the Bible….  “God’s declaration to Moses that He is “the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob” (3:6), and the God who knew the sorrows of His people’s bondage in Egypt and had come down to deliver them. Thus the name “I am,” or “I am that I am,” overarches the past and the future history of the children of Israel and suggests that what God is in the present, He was in the past, and will be in the future to this people.”

A – “God does not sent the equipped…. He equips the sent.”  This phrase came to my mind as I read and thought about this passage.  God gives us what we need for the task that He sets before us.

Moses didn’t think that he was equipped – that he had what was needed for the task that God was giving him.  God’s answer wasn’t that Moses was somebody with lots of gifts and talents and persuasive power, He said, “BUT – I will be with you.”   No special gifting needed.  God’s presence.  THAT is what he needed.  And, that’s what I need to remember when I feel inadequate.  God is WITH ME.  I think the BUT is there as a way of saying “But you don’t need anything but ME!”  Just God.  HE is enough.  HE is sufficient!

When God gave Himself the name “I AM” – He was saying – “I AM Faithful.   I AM who I say I AM.”  “I AM Sufficient.”  God saying that He was the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob – was saying that He was faithful in the past.  He is faithful in the present.  He is faithful in the future.

So – when I feel inadequate, I need to remember that:  God is the one who sends me.  He equips who He sends.  God is with me.  God is Who he says He is.  God was faithful in the past.  He is faithful now.  He will be faithful in the future.  He is what I need – for each step of the way.  He is the Sufficient One.  So, why do I question Him??

P – Father God, forgive me for the times that I question You.  For the times that I give excuses when I know that You are with me.  Moses wasn’t the only one!  Father, give me the sincere trust that I need when You give me Your tasks for each day.  May I answer, like Moses, “Here I am”.  And then, “I will go.” Or “I will do.”   With You.  Thank You for Your faithfulness, and Your presence.  Equip me today.  Prepare my heart to say, “I’ll go where You want me to go, dear Lord, Over mountain, or plain, or sea.  I’ll say what You want me to say, dear Lord.  I’ll be what You want me to be. “  Amen.

I’ll Go where You want Me to Go – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeT_hNZNT_M

1 It may not be on the mountain’s height,
Or over the stormy sea;
It may not be at the battle’s front
My Lord will have need of me.
But if by a still, small voice He calls
To paths I do not know,
I’ll answer, dear Lord, with my hand in Thine,
“I’ll go where You want me to go.”

Refrain:
I’ll go where You want me to go, dear Lord,
Over mountain, or plain, or sea.
I’ll say what You want me to say, dear Lord.
I’ll be what You want me to be.

2 Perhaps today there are loving words
Which Jesus would have me speak;
There may be now, in the paths of sin,
Some wand’rer whom I should seek.
O Savior, if Thou wilt be my Guide,
Tho’ dark and rugged the way,
My voice shall echo the message sweet,
I’ll say what you want me to say. [Refrain]

3 There’s surely somewhere a lowly place
In earth’s harvest fields so wide
Where I may labor thro’ life’s short day
For Jesus, the Crucified;
So, trusting my all to Thy tender care,
And knowing Thou lovest me,
I’ll do Thy will with a heart sincere,
I’ll be what You want me to be. [Refrain]

Leave a Reply

