Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Broken & Redeemed – Naomi: Loss and Loneliness

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2.  Tuesday, March 7, 2017WK01D02

Read  PSALM 119:25-32  SOAP Psalm 119:28

According to Psalm 119, where can we find strength when we are worn out? In light of this, what should our priority be?

 

25 My soul clings to the dust;     give me life according to your word! 26 When I told of my ways, you answered me;     teach me your statutes! 27 Make me understand the way of your precepts,     and I will meditate on your wondrous works. 28 My soul melts away for sorrow;     strengthen me according to your word! 29 Put false ways far from me     and graciously teach me your law! 30 I have chosen the way of faithfulness;     I set your rules before me. 31 I cling to your testimonies, O Lord;     let me not be put to shame! 32 I will run in the way of your commandments     when you enlarge my heart!

O – It is interesting the “layers” of Scripture, and how you learn new things each time you read it!  It shows me “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  (Hebrews 4:12 – ESV)

And this is what the Psalmist is talking about.   He is depressed (my soul clings to the dust; my soul melts away from sorrow – v. 25,28) and sorrowful.  YET – he calls out to the Lord.  All of his requests center on the word – according to your word, teach me your statutes, way of your precepts, teach me your law, set your roles, cling to your testimonies, the way of your commandments.  The WORD of God – bringing so much to him!  It gives life, understanding, strengthens us, teaches us, lifts us up so we are not put to shame, and enlarges our heart!

  1. 25 – give me life – Hyh – to live, be alive, to revive. “give me life” – revive me – preserve my life. “The New International Version translates the Hebrew word “preserve my life,” but much more is involved in this request. It involves saving his life, of course, but also invigorating him and breathing new life within him.” (Wiersbe – Be Series)
  2. 26 – declared –spr – to count; make a written recond, to make known, announce
  3. 27 – talk –syh – to speak enthusiastically, to praise
  4. 28 – strengthen me – Qwm – to rise, arise, to get up, stand up; to come to fruition, to endure; to belong to; to stay fixed
  5. 30 – chosen – bhr – to examine; to choose, preferred

set – swh – to place with; to lie; lie down

  1. 31 – cling – dbq – cling, stick, cleave, hold
  2. 32 – enlarge my heart –rhb – open oneself wide, to make wide extensive

A – So – when I am depressed or sorrowful, what can I do??  READ the Word, so that it can teach me.  MEDITATE on it, so I can understand it.  USE the Word (the promises that I know) to strengthen me.  OBEY the Word – put those false ways behind me.  CHOOSE to be faithful to the Word – live it, keep it before me (post it in front of me!).  CLING to the Word – claim those promises.  RUN in the “way” of the Word – open my heart to receive the Word – and “Run” with it!

Warren Wiersbe gave an outline of this passage with what the Psalmist was asking God to do:   Revive me (v. 25), Teach me (v. 26-27), Strengthen me (v. 28-29), and Defend me (v. 30-32).  So – I can ask God to revive me, teach me, strengthen me, and defend me.

P – Father God, teach me Your ways.  I need You – in the good times, and in the hard times.  I need You – to be the woman that You want me to be.  I am learning from Your Word – that it IS living and active, and speaks to my heart in ways that I can understand.  Help me to obey what I learn when I read and meditate on Your Word.  Help me to use it in ways that are helpful to me – and to others.  Give me the desire to choose to be faithful, to cling to Your word – and then to RUN in the way of the faithful.  Yes, Father – open my heart to receive Your Word, and then to live it.

Need You Now – (Plumb) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YP1IC4dcaaE

Well, everybody’s got a story to tell
And everybody’s got a wound to be healed
I want to believe there’s beauty here
So, I guess you’re tired of holding on
I can’t let go, I can’t move on
I want to believe there’s meaning here

How many times have you heard me cry out
“God please take this”?
How many times have you given me strength to
Just keep breathing?
Oh I need you
God, I need you now.

Standing on a road I didn’t plan
Wondering how I got to where I am
I’m trying to hear that still small voice
I’m trying to hear above the noise

Though I walk, though I walk through the shadows
And I, I am so afraid
Please stay, please stay right beside me
With every single step I take

How many times have you heard me cry out?
And how many times have you given me strength?
I need you now
I need you now

Leave a Reply

