Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – The Fruit of Wisdom

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 4 – Thursday, February 23, 2017wk06d04

Read Proverbs 8:10-21 SOAP Proverbs 8:11

PROVERBS 8:10-21 10 Take my instruction instead of silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold, 11 for wisdom is better than jewels, and all that you may desire cannot compare with her. 12 “I, wisdom, dwell with prudence, and I find knowledge and discretion. 13 The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil. Pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech I hate. 14 I have counsel and sound wisdom; I have insight; I have strength. 15 By me kings reign, and rulers decree what is just; 16 by me princes rule, and nobles, all who govern justly. 17 I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me. 18 Riches and honor are with me, enduring wealth and righteousness. 19 My fruit is better than gold, even fine gold, and my yield than choice silver. 20 I walk in the way of righteousness, in the paths of justice, 21 granting an inheritance to those who love me, and filling their treasuries.

O – What does wisdom give to us? Why should we pursue the path of wisdom?
• It is better than treasure, money, or jewels
• Nothing that we desire can measure up to it
• Wisdom comes with prudence, knowledge and discretion
• Wisdom has counsel, insight, and strength
• Wisdom is the tool for kings reigning, rulers decreeing justice, and all who govern, to govern justly
• Wisdom loves those who love wisdom – and will be found by those who seek it
• Wisdom brings enduring wealth and righteousness – “honorable wealth” – (Faithlife Bible)
• The fruit of wisdom is better than gold or silver
• Wisdom walks “in the way” of righteousness, justice and true riches (inheritance)

There is quite a list for today’s fruit of wisdom. Sifting through all these “benefits”, I see a few themes.
• There is nothing that this world provides that compares with wisdom. (treasure, money, jewels, gold, silver)
• When we seek wisdom, and love it, we will find it
• Those who are wise will avoid evil, pride, perverted speech and a “way” that is wicked
• Along with wisdom comes good judgment, knowledge, discretion, insight, good counsel
• Those who govern or “reign” well have wisdom – it’s the tool that makes them successful or “just”
• Walking “in the way” of wisdom brings a life of enduring or eternal richness

A – So – how do I live, knowing this? First, to seek wisdom in my life. This means I seek HIM. To read His word, to spend time with Him, and to reflect on what I have learned. To write it down – to come back to. Second, to seek to “walk in the way” of wisdom. To have a life that reflects the wisdom that God bestows. Third, in seeking wisdom, to seek it above what our culture and society defines as success: wealth, status, security, “stuff.” Finally, to avoid those things, those “ways” that are not honoring to God. Avoiding any hint of evil or pride.

As I end this study on Proverbs, I have come to realize that the time spent in the Word, gleaning principles and knowledge has eternal value. It is SO MUCH MORE important to BE than to HAVE. It is SO MUCH MORE important to BE than to DO. It is not in possessing, but in being the woman that God desires me to be. To BE wise. To BE known for integrity. To BE a worshipper. To BE a server. To BE obedient. NOT to possess great wealth. NOT to pursue gain or popularity. NOT to pursue status. NOT to accumulate “stuff.” But to BE content. To BE wise. To BE His woman, following after His heart. THAT is wisdom.

Father God – I seek to be the woman that You desire. To be a woman of wisdom, of integrity, of worship, of obedience, of service. Work in my heart today to just BE. Help me not to DO in my own strength, but in the outflowing of worship and service to You. May I reflect Your love today in all that I do. Amen.

Immortal, Invisible – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN1nuL4dPl0

Immortal, invisible, God only wise,
In light inaccessible, hid from our eyes,
Most blessed, most glorious, the Ancient of Days,
Almighty, victorious, Thy great name we praise.

Unresting, unhasting, and silent as light,
Nor wanting, nor wasting, Thou rulest in might;
Thy justice, like mountains, high soaring above
Thy clouds, which are fountains of goodness and love.

Immortal, invisible, God only wise,
we praise you, we bless You, we lift you on high
Immortal Invisible, God only wise

Great Father of glory, pure Father of light,
Thine angels adore Thee, all veiling their sight;
All praise we would render; oh, help us to see
’Tis only the splendor of light hideth Thee.

Immortal, invisible, God only wise,
we praise you, we bless You, we lift you on high
Immortal Invisible, God only wise

Leave a Reply

