Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – the Fruit of Wisdom

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 2.  Tuesday, February 21, 2017wk06d02

Read Proverbs 3:1 – 4 SOAP Proverbs 3:4

PROVERBS 3:1-4 1 My son, do not forget my teaching, but let your heart keep my commandments, 2 for length of days and years of life and peace they will add to you. 3 Let not steadfast love and faithfulness forsake you; bind them around your neck; write them on the tablet of your heart. 4 So you will find favor and good success in the sight of God and man.

2. What are some ways you are seeking to gain wisdom in your life?

O – Commandments to my child…..
• Don’t forget my instruction
• May your heart guard my commands. Why? it will add length of days and peace to your life
• Bind loyal love and truth around your neck – may they not forsake you
• AND – you will find favor and good sense in the eyes of God and man.

The love talked about here in verse 3 – loyal love, (chesed) is a faithful covenantal love. Chesed is a steadfast love, faithfulness, loyalty, mercy and kindness. This is what should define us – to have that covenantal love and faithfulness “bound around our necks.” To be ever present.

Binding them around the neck is a reference to Deuteronomy 6:6 – 8 – “ 6 And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. 7 You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8 You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.” (ESV) These were the instructions given to the Israelites in teaching and raising their children. They were to teach their children diligently – in all manners of life. The Amplified states: “[impressing God’s precepts on their minds and penetrating their hearts with His truths]” To speak of God and His ways throughout the day – at home, “on the way” (brings back all those talks with my daughter in the car!), in the morning, at night – all through the day! They were to be “bound” to them – a normal part of life.

We are told that we will have peace in our lives – and “long days” IF we keep His commands. Whatever days we DO have – they will be filled – and with peace. This is reiterated in Psalm 119:165 – “Great peace have those who love your law; nothing can make them stumble.” (ESV)

I love this addition from the Amplified – that mercy and kindness and truth should DEFINE us. “Do not let mercy and kindness and truth leave you [instead let these qualities define you]” (Proverbs 3:3 – AMP)

In so doing, we will find favor and success with God AND with man. Was this the same kind of favor and success that Daniel found in the eyes of Nebuchadnezzar? It is important that we find favor in God’s eyes, but an added bonus to find favor in the eyes of man as well. That is integrity!

A – How do I apply all of this to today’s life?

I need to keep God’s word “ever present.” To know it, so I can live it. There are many verses that I have memorized, but some of the language is “mixed up” from learning it in various versions: KJV, NIV, and now ESV. I need to review what I know – including the references. I need to start with basic review – such as the Romans Road, and current discipleship materials.

Is God’s Word and precepts on my mind – and penetrating my heart with His truth? I love that language – penetrating my heart…. I need to keep it present – maybe by listening to it on my phone or ipod as I walk. That would help it penetrate better – and keep me walking!

Do mercy and kindness and truth define me? Do they impact my daily life? Do my encounters with people show off these qualities?
I need to find ways to encounter more people. If I am going to find favor in the eyes o f men, I need to encounter them! There are days that I don’t see others, especially if I don’t go to Bible study or church. I’m thinking about how I can give of myself in other ways – in ways that “fit” Karen. I am praying that God will reveal this as I continue to search out ways to meet and talk with people in my community. Walking in the neighborhood – to intentionally stop and talk with those outside walking or in their yards. Having conversations with people at the stores where I shop, especially Fresh Thyme. Find a place to volunteer – local hospital? School? Library? Teaching English? These have interest to me. Follow up THIS WEEK!

P – Father God, keep Your word ever present in my life. Help me to store it, treasure it, and live it out. Help it to permeate my mind – and to penetrate my heart. Today, I desire ways to encounter those who need Your Word. Help me to see how I can live out my faith in my community – outside of Crossbridge. Help me to find favor in Your eyes, and in the eyes of the people I see and talk and walk with.

You Say, Trust in the Lord – Matt Osgood – http://www.resoundworship.org/song/you_say_trust_in_the_lord

You say, ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart.’
I will trust in you, Lord, with all my heart.
You say, ‘Don’t lean upon your understanding.’
I’ll put my life in your hands,
I’ll put my life in your hands.

For you are faithful, you are good,
all your promises endure;
through the fire and the flood
I know I am held secure.
In every circumstance I face
I know there is no safer place
than in your hands,
I’m in your hands.

You say, ‘Acknowledge me in all your ways.’
I will acknowledge you in all my ways.
You say, ‘I will direct the steps you’re taking.’
I’ll put my faith in your word,

I’ll put my faith in your word.
I believe in you,
I believe in you.
I believe in you,
I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

