Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – Wisdom in Temptation

Leave a comment

TUESDAY – THE TEMPTATION OF EXCESSwk05d02

PROVERBS 20:1 1 Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.

PROVERBS 23:19-21 19 Hear, my son, and be wise, and direct your heart in the way. 20 Be not among drunkards or among gluttonous eaters of meat, 21 for the drunkard and the glutton will come to poverty, and slumber will clothe them with rags.

O – Excess.   The dictionary definition is :

 

  1. an amount of something that is more than necessary, permitted, or desirable.

synonyms: surplussurfeitoverabundance, superabundance, superfluityglut

  1. lack of moderation in an activity, especially eating or drinking

Synonyms:overindulgenceintemperanceimmoderationprofligacy, lavishness, extravagancedecadenceself-indulgenceoverconsumption

 

These verses talk about “excess” in eating and drinking.  The negative effects of “something more than necessary, permitted, or desirable are plainly outlined here.   Excess brings mockery (giving the impression that we aren’t who we say we are), brawling (fighting), and being “led astray.”

We are told to “be not among”  (ESV) or “do not join those” (NIV) or “do not associ

ate” (AMP) with those who are drunkards or gluttonous eaters.  Why?  They will come to poverty – and their drowsiness (or laziness coming from excess) will bring them to “clothing with rags.”

It is interesting to note that companions, again, bring us to either a state of excess – or help us in being accountable.  It is in the companions that we keep, the habits that we develop, that will affect not only our spiritual health, but our physical health as well.  Not only is it “not wise”, but leads to poverty or ill effects.

Again, I see “in the way” – a lifestyle.  We are told to “direct our heart in the way.”   The journey that our life will take.  The direction.  And, to do this, we must be wise – and have will power.  The wisdom is not in ourselves, but in God and His word.  And then, the will power, the stamina, the decision to follow through.

A –Last week, I watched a few episodes of “Dr. Quinn – Medicine Woman.”  I forgot how wholesome that show was, and how it taught by example the dangers of “excess.”  While I don’t agree with all of the premises, I did note that drink, especially in excess, was shown in a negative light.  Those who drank ran into problems with health and relationships.  We don’t see that much nowadays on TV!  I have not had a struggle with “drink”, and am not a drinker.  It is not a temptation, or a vice for me.

However, I have struggled with weight almost all of my adult life.  Even now, watching and eating carefully, I wander around the same 5 pounds – on again, off again.  We work to plan food plans that are healthy, cooked from scratch, and have variety.  And yet – it still keeps me in the same zone for weight.  Where does this come under “excess?”  I still struggle with this – and wonder where this fits spiritually.   When I look at the definition of excess – I see the words “something more than necessary or desirable” and “lack of moderation”.  Well, with our portion control and planning, we are doing well.  As far as my blood work and numbers are concerned, our healthy eating has changed the high numbers to much lower.  So, what is the goal, and what should I think, at least spiritually?

Looking at the principles in these verses, I think that the words “direct your heart in the way” speaks to me.  Wise decisions.  Direct my heart – my thinking and self talk – in the way that God would be pleased.  Caring for my physical and spiritual self.  Look at what I am doing that is healthy.  And – to not give in to excess.  Make wiser choices….  Carbs and sugar.  Walk more.  Drink water.   Remember that my God is a temple – a dwelling place of the Spirit.  I am a steward.

I am not saying that gluttony is the problem.  It is wise decisions.  It is “directing my heart in the way.”  It is changing patterns and lifestyle.   It is living to the glory of God.  It is living out of the realm of excess – in whatever area God leads me.   It may be “stuff”, or spending, or eating, or drinking – or whatever I do in excess.   Even stressing or obsessing over the same.  That, in itself, is excess! It is turning over EVERY facet of my life to Him.

P – Father God, walk with me today.  Help me to make wise choices.  Keep me from excess.  Keep me from obsessing over all that You do NOT want me to dwell on.  Help me to be a good steward of all that You have given me.  Keep from all that steals my heart away from You.  May I live for You today – in the full freedom and love that You have bestowed on me, all the while being a good steward of Your temple.

NOTES:

NIV Study Bible – Note for Proverbs 20:1 – Those who overindulge become mockers and brawlers.  Proverbs associates drunkenness with poverty (see 23:20-21), strife (23:29-30) and injustice (31:4-5).

To eat too much meat – The verb זָלַל (zalal) means “to be light; to be worthless; to make light of.” Making light of something came to mean “to be lavish with; to squander,” especially with regard to food. So it describes “gluttons” primarily; but in the expression there is also room for the person who wastes a lot of food as well.

All the Pretty Things – (Tenth Avenue North) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjycRhHR5Mc

We are, we are, we’re caught in the in between
Of who we already are and who we are yet to be
And we’re looking for love but finding we’re still in need
It’s only what we have lost will we be allowed to keep

And we’re waiting but our eyes are wandering
To all this earth holds dear

Look at all the pretty things
That steal my heart away
I can feel I’m fading
‘Cause Lord I love so many things
That keep me from Your face
Come and save me

We run we run to finally be set free
But we’re fighting fighting for what we’ve already received

So we’re waiting but our eyes are wandering
To all this earth holds dear

Look at all the pretty things
That steal my heart away
I can feel I’m fading
‘Cause Lord I love so many things
That keep me from Your face
Come and save me

We are we are caught in the in between
But we’re fighting for what we already have received
We are we are caught in the in between
But we’re fighting for what we already have received

Look at all the pretty things
That steal my heart away
I can feel I’m fading
‘Cause Lord I love so many things
That keep me from Your face
Come and save me

At Your Feet (Casting Crowns) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yT6lFcM-Fv8&list=RDyT6lFcM-Fv8#t=0

 

Here at Your feet, I lay my past down
My wanderings, all my mistakes down
And I am free

Here at Your feet, I lay this day down
Not in my strength, but in Yours I’ve found
All I need, You’re all I need

Jesus, Jesus, at Your feet
Oh, to dwell and never leave
Jesus, Jesus, at Your feet
There is nowhere else for me
There is nowhere else for me

Here at Your feet, I lay my future down
All of my dreams, I give to You now
And I find peace, I find peace
Here at Your feet, I lay my life down
For You my King, You’re all I want now
And my soul sings…

‘Cause I am free (here at Your feet)
All I need (is at Your feet)
I find peace
We’re at Your feet
We’re at Your feet

And I am free (here at Your feet)
All I need (is at Your feet)
I find peace
We’re at Your feet
We’re at Your feet
We’re at Your feet
We’re at Your feet

Here at Your feet
I lay my life down

Leave a Reply

