Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walk in Wisdom – Wisdom in Work and Wealth

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 5.   Friday, February 10, 2017wk04d05

Read Proverbs 22:1 – 5.   SOAP Proverbs 22:1

PROVERBS 22:1-5 1 A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches, and favor is better than silver or gold. 2 The rich and the poor meet together;  the Lord is the Maker of them all. 3 The prudent sees danger and hides himself, but the simple go on and suffer for it. 4 The reward for humility and fear of the Lord is riches and honor and life. 5 Thorns and snares are in the way of the crooked; whoever guards his soul will keep far from them.

New Living Translation: Choose a good reputation over great riches;  being held in high esteem is better than silver or gold.

O – What a thought to be left with at the end of this week…..  the power of our name – our reputation.   It is how others see us.  It is the life lived out in front of others.  It is the “us” that we are – after we are gone from the room, or from life.   It is what we pass on to our children and the younger generation.  It is WHO we are.  A good name.  Better than great riches.  Favor.  Being held in high esteem.  Both of them are better than being rich.

A – I remember my grandmother saying many times, “You never see a U-Haul behind a hearse…”   What was she saying?  You can’t take it with you.  NOTHING goes with us.  But – we leave behind more than the “stuff” of our lives.  We leave a legacy.  We choose what kind.  We leave behind a good name – or one that is sullied.   We leave behind a good reputation – or a bad one.  We leave behind memories of love, laughter, and blessings – or hate, evil, and anger.  We choose.

What do I want to be remembered for?  What is part of a “good name” or “favor?”   I want people to remember that I cared about them.   I want to them to remember that I had integrity.  I want them to remember that I loved my Lord, and served Him.  I want them to remember that I loved.  Not the “stuff” I had.  Not the things I did.  But – who I was.

P – Father God, thank You for Your love in my life.  Help me to share it, today, with others.  May I be known for my love, my time, and my integrity.  Father, I want to leave a legacy behind me – even to those I don’t know well.  Give me the gift of sharing time, love, and memories with them – but also the gift of Your love.  May it shine through all that I do today.

Do Justly (Michael Neale) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyC0WRjtLNI

 

I wanna be like You Lord

I wanna love like You

For You are marvelous in all of Your ways

I wanna give like You Lord

I wanna live in You

For You have showered me with mercy ev’ry day

I lift my praises

Your face shows me the way

 

Chorus 1:

To do justly

To love mercy

To walk humbly with my God

To do justly

To love mercy

To walk humbly with my God

Leave a Reply

