Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – Wisdom in Work and Wealth

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 4. Thursday, February 9, 2017wk04d04

Read Proverbs 11:23-28 SOAP Proverbs 11:25

PROVERBS 11:23-28 23 The desire of the righteous ends only in good, the expectation of the wicked in wrath. 24 One gives freely, yet grows all the richer; another withholds what he should give, and only suffers want. 25 Whoever brings blessing will be enriched, and one who waters will himself be watered. 26 The people curse him who holds back grain, but a blessing is on the head of him who sells it. 27 Whoever diligently seeks good seeks favor, but evil comes to him who searches for it. 28 Whoever trusts in his riches will fall, but the righteous will flourish like a green leaf.

O – This passage is a series of parallels:
RIGHTEOUS
• Desires end in only good
• Gives freely, and grows richer
• Brings blessing, and will be enriched
• Waters, and will be watered

• Blessing on him who sells grain
• Diligently seeks good – seeks favor
• Righteous – will flourish like a green leaf

WICKED
• Expectation end in wrath
• Withholds what he should give, and ends up wanting more, or in poverty
• Holds back grain, and is cursed by the people
• Evil comes to those who seek evil
• Trusts in riches – will fall

There seems to be a direct correlation between our “free-ness” in giving – and the return of blessing. Not exactly a “financial” blessing, but a blessing of the soul. This goes way beyond a material blessing, but a sense of contentment and satisfaction. Those who keep for themselves will not experience that sense of blessing, but instead keep wanting more. It even goes to the extent of being “cursed” by others, failing, and in poverty. Hoarding for one’s self only leads to isolation and negative consequences.

A – I immediately went to that word “flourish” again! This time, it says that the righteous will flourish like a green leaf. That, to me, signifies growth and new life. But the parallel just before it states that “whoever trusts in his riches will fall.” So – a new insight for me is that part of being “righteous” is NOT trusting in riches. It is being content – and putting trust in God and HIS provision.

Today’s SOAP verse states that if we bring blessing, we will be enriched. That doesn’t mean that we automatically get material blessing for blessing others – it is a mindset, or a “soul-set.” If we have the mindset of just being available to bless others, that in itself is a blessing to us. It is the satisfaction of blessing others. It is the thinking of others, the “eyes off myself” attitude. It IS refreshing to bless others – with the mindset of NOT expecting blessing in return. It is the act of blessing that is refreshing! And, when our desires line up with His desires – we ARE enriched!

P – Father God, thank You for the opportunities that You send my way to bless others. Help me, as Your representative, to bless those in my life – children and grandchildren, people at church or OC, people in my neighborhood, those I encounter in my daily life. May I be a refreshing presence in lives today.

Gladly would I leave Behind Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qm4KGWvz4KU

Gladly would I leave behind me
All the pleasure I have known
To pursue surpassing treasures
At the throne of God the Son
Worthy of unending worship
Love and loveliness is He
By His precious death were millions
From the jaws of death set free

VERSE 2
Gladly would I give to Jesus
All affection, everything
For the washing of His mercy
Makes my ransomed heart to sing
“Holy, holy!” is the chorus
Rising up from those who see
Christ exalted, bright and burning
Full of pow’r and purity

CHORUS
Where else can I go?
Jesus, You’re the One
That I was made to know
What else can I do?
Jesus, You’re my all
I gladly run to You

VERSE 3
Gladly would I flee temptations
For their troubles fill my life
Turn and seek my God and Savior
For His goodness satisfies
Earthly treasures, all are passing
Thieves break in and rust destroys
But in God are awesome splendor
Love, and everlasting joys
TAG
Gladly would I give to Jesus
All affection, everything
For the washing of His mercy
Makes my ransomed heart to sing

Leave a Reply

