Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – Wisdom in Work and Wealth

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 2. Tuesday, February 7, 2017wk04d02
Read Proverbs 11:18-20; 20:17 SOAP Proverbs 11:18

PROVERBS 11:18-20 18 The wicked earns deceptive wages, but one who sows righteousness gets a sure reward. 19 Whoever is steadfast in righteousness will live, but he who pursues evil will die. 20 Those of crooked heart are an abomination to the Lord, but those of blameless ways are his delight.
PROVERBS 20:17 17 Bread gained by deceit is sweet to a man, but afterward his mouth will be full of gravel.

O – What contrasts here…..The wicked: earns deceptive wages, pursues evil, crooked heart, are an abomination (what He hates) to the Lord. The righteous: sows (plants righteousness), is rewarded in the end, will live, is STEADFAST in righteousness, blameless in their ways (journey of life), are God’s delight. We can either choose to pursue evil – or be blameless in our journey in life. It’s all in what we’re after. Are we chasing after ill-gotten gain, in deception, or crooked dealings – or are we “sowing righteousness?” It is a life marked by deceit – lying, fraud, dishonesty – OR a life marked by integrity? Do I want to be an abomination to the Lord – or His delight?

While I am not always right, and I sin, I would like to say that my “journey” is marked by integrity. That the pathway of my life is aligned with God’s way. It goes back to yesterday’s reading on the soul. What is feeding my soul?

The second passage talks about our dealings with others…. And how we choose to deal with material gain. Is it gained honestly – or by deceit? While it may be “sweet” in the beginning, it isn’t lasting. It becomes a point of uselessness, even to the point of bringing damage. Gravel in the mouth? Broken teeth? Icky taste? Good for …. Nothing?

A – I was struck by the word “pursue” today. What do I pursue? To pursue is to “be behind”, to “follow after,” to “run after”, to “aim eagerly to secure.” What am I following? What do I aim eagerly to secure in my life? While it may not be “ill-gotten wealth” – it may be a lifestyle, or an attitude. Do my ways delight the Lord? Am I “pursuing” Him? I desire to be blameless – and His delight! I desire to be known for integrity in my journey. THAT will delight my Lord.

P – Father God, I long to delight You. I want my life to be one that reflects Your values, Your Word, and Your character. May I pursue righteousness today. May I be steadfast in righteousness, and a delight to You. Father, Take my life and form it, Take my mind transform it, Take my will conform it – To You. May I be a reflection of Your love today. Amen.

The wicked man earns deceptive wages, But he who sows righteousness and lives his life with integrity will have a true reward [that is both permanent and satisfying]. 19 He who is steadfast in righteousness attains life, But he who pursues evil attains his own death. 20 The perverse in heart are repulsive and shamefully vile to the Lord, But those who are blameless and above reproach in their walk are His delight! (AMP)
Food gained by deceit is sweet to a man, But afterward his mouth will be filled with gravel [just as sin may be sweet at first, but later its consequences bring despair].(AMP)

Study notes:
Proverbs 11:18-20
Deceitful – Deceit – sheqer – lie, deception, falsehood, wrong, fraudulently
pursue – radaph – to be behind, follow after, pursue, run after, aim eagerly to secure
righteousness – ts@daqah – justice, righteousness, truthfulness, righteousness (as ethically right)
blameless – tamiym – complete, whole, sound, entire, wholesome, having integrity
delight – ratsown – pleasure, delight, favour, goodwill, acceptance
in their ways – derek – way, road, journey, path, direction, course of life
Proverbs 20:17
tn Heb “bread of deceit” (so KJV, NAB). This refers to food gained through dishonest means. The term “bread” is a synecdoche of specific for general, referring to anything obtained by fraud, including food.
sn The image of food and eating is carried throughout the proverb. Food taken by fraud seems sweet at first, but afterward it is not. To end up with a mouth full of gravel (a mass of small particles; e.g., Job 20:14-15; Lam 3:16) implies by comparison that what has been taken by fraud will be worthless and useless and certainly in the way (like food turning into sand and dirt).
Deceit – sheqer – lie, deception, falsehood, wrong, fraudulently

“Take My Life (Holiness)” – MercyMe – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz_dITDLXe0
Take my life
Holiness, holiness..is what i long for
Holiness is what i need
Holiness, holiness
Is what you want from me

[Chorus:]
Take my life and form it
Take my mind transform it
Take my will conform it
To yours, to yours, oh lord

Righteousness, righteousness is what i long for
Righteousness is what i need
Righteousness, righteousness
Is what you want from me

[Chorus:]
Purity, purity..is what i long for
Purity is what i need
Purity, purity
Is what you want from me

Leave a Reply

