Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – Wisdom in Work and Wealth

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 1.  Monday, February 6, 2017wk04d01

Read Proverbs 13:4 and 24:30-34.    SOAP Proverbs 13:4

PROVERBS 13:4 4 The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

PROVERBS 24:30-34 30 I passed by the field of a sluggard, by the vineyard of a man lacking sense, 31 and behold, it was all overgrown with thorns;  the ground was covered with nettles,  and its stone wall was broken down. 32 Then I saw and considered it;  I looked and received instruction. 33 A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, 34 and poverty will come upon you like a robber, and want like an armed man.

O – It was interesting that I read the blog posting first – before I dug into the Word today.   It hit me between the eyes….  The whole idea of the “soul.”   The soul of the sluggard, the soul of the diligent.  (ESV) The contrast of the two passages – the unkempt field  and the unkempt soul.  Yes, the sluggard (lazy one) doesn’t take care of the field – it is full of shortcuts.  No weeding.  No border care.  No time taken to take care of “little” problems before they become structural ones.  Then – no yield.  Poverty.  Is that true with the soul?

Do we take shortcuts in soul care?  No “weeding” of sin and attitudes?  No border care of limits and boundaries in our lives?  No structural work of time in the Word and prayer?  No forming of good habits?

No, I should start over.  DO I take shortcuts in my soul care?  Do I weed out sin and attitudes?  Is my heart weeded out – or do I let it overgrow “a little”?  Do I do ‘border care” of limits and boundaries?  Do I structure my time so I have time in the Word, not just preparing for a study, but preparing for my day and my life??  Do I form good habits, or do I just get a “little lazy?”

The commentary on lumina mentioned the difference between the soul of the sluggard and the soul of the diligent to be “what they each long for.”  What do I long for?  Do I long for my own spiritual growth and insight…..cultivating my soul so it is free of the “weeds” of sins and attitudes?  Do I long for a deeper walk?   Do I long for His Word, more than other words that I may be reading?  Do I spend the energy of my day seeking Him, or looking up the latest on Facebook?  While I spend a significant part of my morning in the word, what significant parts of my day are “frittered” away in meaningless things?  Where is my soul care there?

It was convicting to be at the IF:Gathering this weekend, and to soak in what it means to disciple.    The very end, Jennie Allen talked about the enemy, and how he would distract us.   How he would make us believe lies…. This one got me….

So if I were your enemy, I would make you numb and distract you from God’s story.
Technology, social media, Netflix, travel, food and wine, comfort. I would not tempt you with notably bad things, or you would get suspicious.
I would distract you with everyday comforts that slowly feed you a different story and make you forget God.
Then you would dismiss the Spirit leading you, loving you, and comforting you. Then you would start to love comfort more than surrender and obedience and souls.

This hit home.  Not notably bad things, but everyday comforts that slowly feed you a different story….Distraction.  Not big, bad things.  Just….. distraction.   Our everyday lives get in the way of our inner lives.  MY everyday life gets in the way of my inner life.

THAT needs to stop.  Right here and now.  Get rid of the distractions.  Weed them out.  Cultivate my soul as carefully and tenderly as the Master Gardener created me.  Weed out those weeds and nettles.  To crave, desire, wait longingly for, prefer – His Word, His workings, His plan, His way, His kingdom.

P – Father God, this has been tough to think through.  My “really good” life really isn’t the good that YOU desire.  All those things that get in the way of my inner life are not bad – they are just not what YOU have for me.  My distractions.  My time consumers.  My everyday life.  Not bad things, but not YOUR things.  Father, give me the strength and the insight to weed out those things that You desire that I rid.  Help me recognize the weeds from the plants.  Nurture my soul.  Feed it with Your fertilizer of Your Word and Your ways.  Father, may I have the soul of the diligent.  Amen

sn The contrast is between the “soul (= appetite) of the sluggard” (נַפְשׁוֹ עָצֵל, nafsho’atsel) and the “soul (= desire) of the diligent” (נֶפֶשׁ חָרֻצִים, nefesh kharutsim) – what they each long for.

Crave – ‘avah – desire, incline, covet, wait longingly, wish, sigh, want, be greedy, prefer

Soul – nephesh – soul, self, life, creature, person, appetite, mind, living being, desire, emotion, passion

With Everything (Hillsong) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zbSmYwhQs0Y

Open our eyes
To see the things that make Your heart cry
To be the church that You would desire
Your light to be seen

Break down our pride
And all the walls we’ve built up inside
Our earthly crowns and all our desires
We lay at Your feet

Let hope rise
And darkness tremble
In Your holy light
That every eye will see
Jesus our God
Great and mighty to be praised

God of all days
Glorious in all of Your ways
Oh the majesty the wonder and grace
In the light of Your Name

With everything
With everything
We will shout for Your glory
With everything
With everything
We will shout forth Your praise

Our hearts they cry
Be glorified
Be lifted high above all names
For You our King
With everything
We will shout forth Your praise

Leave a Reply

