Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking In Wisdom – Wisdom in Relationships

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 1. Monday, January 30, 2017wk02d01
Read Proverbs 13:20; Proverbs 22:24-25 SOAP Proverbs 13:20

How do you balance being a light in the world, yet choosing to walk with the wise?
Why is being selective in who your closest friends are important?

PROVERBS 13:20 20 Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.
PROVERBS 22:24-25 24 Make no friendship with a man given to anger, nor go with a wrathful man, 25 lest you learn his ways and entangle yourself in a snare.

1. How do you balance being a light in the world, yet choosing to walk with the wise?
3. Why is being selective in who your closest friends are important?

Proverbs 22:24-25 – Do not even associate with a man given to angry outbursts; Or go [along] with a hot-tempered man, 25 Or you will learn his [undisciplined] ways And get yourself trapped [in a situation from which it is hard to escape]. (AMP)

O – This passage tells of the importance of friends – and who we CHOOSE to spend our time with. We are cautioned to not strike a friendship with someone who is given to anger or wrath. The Strong’s reference here gave the impression of “pasturing, grazing,” or to “be associated with.” This, to me, is CHOOSING to spend time with, to spend leisure time with, to CHOOSE to be with. It is my choice in friends. This is not to mean with someone who gets angry from time to time, but “practices” anger – in other words, this is their typical manner – to BE ANGRY. My NIV study Bible gave these cross-references about angry men: (14:16,17) hot-headed, reckless, does foolish things; (15:18) stirs us dissension; (29:22) commits many sins.

The end result of choosing friends that are unhealthy for us is that we become like them. We will “learn his ways” and get “entangled in a snare.” We learn the same habits that are destructive, and we get “trapped” in situations that we would otherwise avoid. In the New Testament, we are cautioned in much the same way: “Bad company corrupts character.” (I Corinthians 15:33)

HOWEVER, we are instructed to “walk with the wise.” This is a “continual, durative action,” meaning that it is a habit, a way of life. Our continual, habitual choice of companions WILL influence our lives!

A – I have learned this lesson the hard way. I had a friend that, while not given to anger, had a negative effect on me. I think the dangerous thing in this is that we don’t often see the effects of this right away. We become desensitized, and rationalize behavior or the effect on us. It is kind of like the fable of the frog in the boiling water. If the frog was dropped in boiling water, it would notice it RIGHT AWAY. However, if the temperature of the water gradually changes, the frog doesn’t notice until it is too late. I regret to say that I was like the frog in the gradually changing water. I became desensitized to behavior that I KNEW was wrong, and either ignored it, or got “used to it.” Eventually, I saw myself with the same habits, language, and attitudes. And, regretfully, the friendship was ruined, with no recovery. And, with hurt.

I am so much more careful in relationships now. Maybe to the point of backing off, but so very cautious. I see the danger of “gradual consent.” I don’t want to be influenced for negative things. I don’t want my character to be corrupted.

This is not to say that I can’t associate with people that may not have God’s mindset, or aren’t Christians, or have negative attitudes. It means that I can’t have my “influencing relationships” be those that are detrimental to my spiritual growth. Otherwise, how do we affect the world around us? We have to be SO careful in our relationships. To have those people who encourage and build us up spiritually to be our “influencers.”

Who influences my life? Is it the wise? Or the foolish? Is it those who build me up spiritually, or tear me down or affect my growth negatively? It is my choice. I choose who influences my life by whom I choose to spend my time with.

Our pastor’s sermon yesterday cautioned us to be aware of those who are “wolves in sheep’s clothing” – those who say that they are followers of Christ, yet display qualities that destroy the church. (II Timothy 3) We all sin – but does that sin CHARACTERIZE our typical behavior? In other words, we all get angry, but is anger our CHARACTERISTIC behavior? We are called to live lives that are characterized by God’s love, and His life pouring through us. HOW? BY knowing and spending time in the Word – so that it permeates our every being. God’s Word is HIS WORDS and it is “profitable for teaching, for rebuking, for correcting, and for training in righteousness.” (II Timothy 3:16) THAT should be our influence!

P – Father God – may Your word live in me today – teaching me, correcting me, rebuking me, and training me for a righteous life. Point out to me those areas, or those people, that are detrimental. Clean out the closets of my heart. Sweep out the negative influences. Replace them with Your Word, Your love, and Your people. May I not be a negative influence on those around me. May I be a beacon of Your light and Your love. Let my life be the proof of Your Love. Amen.

STUDY NOTES: Lumina and Strong’s
To walk with -“walks.” When used with the preposition (’et, “with”), the verb (halakh, “to walk”) means “to associate with” someone (e.g., Mic 6:8; Job 34:8). The active participle of (“to walk”) stresses continual, durative action. One should stay in close association with the wise, and move in the same direction they do.
Make friends with – (Ra‛ah) – from Strong’s – to pasture, tend, graze, feed OR to associate with, be a friend of
Wrathful man – (chemah) “possessor of anger.” This expression is an idiom for “wrathful person” or “an angry person” (cf. NAB “a hotheaded man”; NLT “short-tempered people”). These are people characterized by anger, meaning the anger is not a rare occurrence with them. – Strong’s – heat, rage, hot displeasure, indignation, anger, wrath, poison,
Learn his ways (pen-te’elaf) is translated “lest you learn.” The idea is more precisely “become familiar with his ways.” The construction indicates that if one associates with such people he will become like them (cf. TEV “you might learn their habits”). Strong’s – to learn – (hayah) – to be become, to become like, to be established
The warning in this proverb is to avoid associating with a hothead because his influence could be

The Proof of Your Love – For King and Country – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgqYYk-0wDs
If I sing but don’t have love
I waste my breath with every song
I bring an empty voice, a hollow noise
If I speak with a silver tongue
Convince a crowd but don’t have love
I leave a bitter taste with every word I say
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
If I give
To a needy soul but don’t have love then who is poor?
It seems all the poverty is found in me
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
Oh, let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
When it’s all said and done
When we sing our final song
Only love remains
Only love remains
Let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love

Leave a Reply

