Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – Wisdom in Speech

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4 – Thursday, January 26, 2017wk02d04

Read PROVERBS 25:11-15 SOAP Proverbs 25:11

PROVERBS 25:11-15 11 A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in a setting of silver. 12 Like a gold ring or an ornament of gold is a wise reprover to a listening ear. 13 Like the cold of snow in the time of harvest is a faithful messenger to those who send him; he refreshes the soul of his masters. 14 Like clouds and wind without rain is a man who boasts of a gift he does not give. 15 With patience a ruler may be persuaded, and a soft tongue will break a bone.

How are our words different when we choose to speak the truth in love?

O – This passage is filled with visuals…. But it is the end result sticks out. I see the word “refreshing” just popping out at me now. But to the visuals and their end effects:
• A word fitly spoken – like apples of gold in settings of silver (Reformation Study Bible – idea of craftsmanship)
• A wise reprove to those who listen – like a gold ring or ornament of gold (RSB – The implied comparison says either that a rebuke is as valuable as fine gold jewelry, or that a wise rebuke and a receptive ear go together like matched jewelry.) To listen: (shama`) to hear, listen to, obey. – gives the idea of obedience, NOT JUST listening!
• A faithful messenger who carries out his mission – like cold snow in the time of harvest (typically not and dry), refreshing their souls
• A man who boasts about a gift that he didn’t even give – like clouds and wind without rain – purposeless (RSB – Inhabitants of Palestine often experienced clouds that promised rain but proved to be dry (Jude 12). Such a proverb today might be applied to those who seek power and influence, whether political or personal, by promises that are not fulfilled.)
• Patience – a ruler may be persuaded (to change his/her mind)(RSB – that is, by being slow to anger and resisting provocation)
• Soft (gentle) tongue – will break a bone (will work on hardness) – (RSB – By gentle diplomacy strong resistance is broken.)

A – Oh, the power of words – to beautify, reprove and correct, to refresh, to change the course of a mind, to break down resistance. Or – to be purposeless and harmful. Which category do MY words fit in? Do my words bring beauty to life? Are they valuable? Do I correct in kindness, words that bring about obedience that is positive? Do my words refresh others? Are they convincing AND gentle enough to bring about change? One of the sure things that I have noticed is the countenance of the person to whom I am talking. Does it light up – or fall? Does it bring joy – or sadness? Does it encourage – or tear down? Does it bring gentle correction – or corrosion?

P – May the words of my mouth, and the thoughts of my heart bless Your name, Jesus. May the deeds of my day, and the truth in my way, speak of You, Jesus. May my speech and actions, and attitudes, reflect the beauty that You bring to my life – spreading Your beauty and gentleness to those around me. May my words be refreshing, like springs of bubbling water on a hot day. May they be uplifting, like sparkling jewels. May they be valuable, teaching truth to listening ears. May they be pleasing to You, my Lord. Amen.

May the Words of My Heart (Kristy Nockels) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5U8CN2DxgQ

May the words of my mouth,
and the thoughts of my heart
Bless Your name, bless Your name, Jesus.
And the deeds of the day,
and the truth in my way,
Speak of You, speak of You, Jesus.

For this is what I’m glad to do,
It’s time to live
a life of love that pleases You.
And I will give my all to You,
Surrender ev’rything I have
and follow You, I’ll follow You.

Lord, will You be my vision,
Lord will You be my Guide?
Be my hope, be my life, and the Way.
And I’ll look not for riches,
Nor praises on the earth,
Only You’ll be the first of my heart.

I will follow, I will follow You.
I will follow, I will follow You.
I will follow, I will follow You.
I will follow, I will follow You.

Leave a Reply

