Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking In Wisdom – Wisdom in Speech

Leave a comment

wk02d02Week Two – Day 2 – Tuesday, January 24, 2017  TUESDAY

Read Proverbs 10:19; 17:27-28; 21:23     SOAP Proverbs 10:19TUESDAY

PROVERBS 10:19 19 When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.   (ESV)

When there are many words, transgression and offense are unavoidable, But he who controls his lips and keeps thoughtful silence is wise. (AMP)

PROVERBS 17:27-28  27 Whoever restrains his words has knowledge, and he who has a cool spirit is a man of understanding. 28 Even a fool who keeps silent is considered wise; when he closes his lips, he is deemed intelligent.  (ESV)

He who has knowledge restrains and is careful with his words, And a man of understanding and wisdom has a cool spirit (self-control, an even temper).  28 Even a [callous, arrogant] fool, when he keeps silent, is considered wise; When he closes his lips he is regarded as sensible (prudent, discreet) and a man of understanding. (AMP)

PROVERBS 21:23 23 Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble. (ESV)

He who guards his mouth and his tongue Guards himself from troubles. (AMP)

  1. The world tells us to “say it like it is,” yet the Bible teaches us to restrain our words. Why is this important?

O – Where yesterday’s readings talked about soft and gentle speech, today’s stresses “holding one’s tongue.”  Refraining from speaking.   Keep’s one’s mouth closed.  Guarding one’s mouth and tongue.

WHY?  Many words lead to unavoidable transgressions and offenses; babbling words lead others to think we are fools, and words can lead us to trouble.  Guarding our words and controlling our tongues is wise, and show our understanding and even tempers.  Even when we are not as wise as we could be, keeping our mouths closed leads others to think we are wise (or wiser than we are!).  It also keeps us out of trouble.

It was interesting to note that the Strong’s note for v. 19 (many words) was in a “loose tongue”.  This made me believe that it is one who talks and talks, or who talks without thinking.  Those who do not have boundaries in their speech get themselves into trouble!  Also, the same verse gave the connotation of “holding lips under control” likened to placing a piece of wood in the mouth of a goat to prevent it from sucking!  THAT would certainly prevent one from talking too much….

A – from my reading and study, I take away a few points today:

  • Think before speaking. Consider carefully the effect of my words, and how they are conveyed.  Are they kind?  Are they uplifting, or do they tear down?  Are they sarcastic?
  • If I can’t say something positive, or affirming, consider my words twice. Do I REALLY need to correct or discipline?  Is my motive pure?  If I need to correct, am I doing it kindly, with the other person’s best intent in mind?  Is it corrective – or punitive?
  • Are my words true – or tending to gossip? Is my prayer request REALLY a prayer request?  Is it better to keep my words to myself?
  • Do my responses on FB or by email reflect my heart – or my first response without thinking? What will others think of my words – the words of a “fool” – or the words of a wise woman who carefully thought about the effects of her words?
  • Do I speak out of anger – or wait until I have cooled down and can speak rationally and without outburst?
  • Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt. (possibly attributed to Abraham Lincoln or Mark Twain…)

P – Father God, place a watch over my lips today.  May I think before speaking, may my words be pure and uplifting, and may they be true.  Keep my motives pure, and my heart true to You.  Father, may my words reflect what I know from Your Word.  As we have prayer requests , may my words be pleasing to You, and straying far from gossip.  Thank You for working in my heart today.  Help me to live out what You teach me in Your word.  Amen.

Study notes – (from lumina, Strong’s)

Proverbs 10:19

 (chadal)  “does not cease.”  Strong’s note – primary idea lies in becoming loose; It is impossible to avoid sinning in an abundance of words – sooner or later one is bound to say something wrong.

tn Or “holds his lips under control.” The verb חָשַׂךְ (khasakh) means “to withhold; to restrain; to hold in check” (BDB 362 s.v.). The related Arabic term is used in reference to placing a piece of wood in the mouth of a goat to prevent it from sucking (HALOT 359 s.v. חשׂךְ).

Transgression – (pesha`) – transgression, rebellion, “breaking across”

Restrain – (chasak) to withhold, restrain, hold back, keep in check

Wise – (Sakal) – to be prudent, circumspect, wisely understand, prosper, have insight

Proverbs 17:27-28

Wise person  (da`ath) – “the one knowing knowledge.”  Knowledge, perception, discernment, skill.  The cognate accusative underscores the meaning of the participle – this is a truly knowledgeable person.

Restrains – (chasak) means “withholds; restrains; refrains; spares; holds in check,” etc. One who has knowledge speaks carefully.

Calm –(qar)  “cool of spirit.” Cool, calm, self-possessed.   This genitive of specification describes one who is “calm” (so NCV, TEV, CEV) or “even-tempered” (so NIV, NLT); he is composed.

Spirit – (ruwach) – disposition, seat of emotion

Discerning – (tabuwn) – understanding, intelligence, insight

Even – (gam)also, even, indeed, moreover, (giving emphasis)

Fool (‘eviyl) –foolish, one who despises wisdom, who mocks when guilty, who is quarrelsome

Considered (chashab) – to think esteem, make a judgment, reckon

Keep silent (charash) – hold your peace, hold your tongue,

Wise (chakam) – wise, learned, prudent

Prudent  (biyn) – discerning, understand, consider, to show oneself discerning or attentive

Proverbs 21:23

Guards – (shamar) – to keep, guard, observe, give heed, keep watch, to keep (within bounds)

To Be Pleasing You (Maranatha Singers) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9O1GPUqn8M

Lord I want to live my life
To please You
I bring my heart before You
To remold
Make of me a vessel fit for honor
That I might shine for You
As sparkling gold

 

(chorus)
To be pleasing You, pleasing You
This is all I really wanna do
To be pleasing You, pleasing You
This is all I really wanna do

 

Lord I lift my heart in full surrender
All that I hold dear I give to You
Purify my heart and make me holy
so I might walk the way
That’s pleasing You

Leave a Reply

