Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – The Source of Wisdom

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5.  Friday, January 20, 2017wk01d05

Read Proverbs 15:29-33.  SOAP Proverbs 15:33

PROVERBS 15:29-33 29 The Lord is far from the wicked, but he hears the prayer of the righteous. 30 The light of the eyes rejoices the heart, and good news refreshes the bones. 31 The ear that listens to life-giving reproof will dwell among the wise. 32 Whoever ignores instruction despises himself, but he who listens to reproof gains intelligence. 33 The fear of the Lord is instruction in wisdom, and humility comes before honor.

O – Again, I see the words “fear of the Lord” in v. 33. That reverence and awe of God leads us to the place where we are willing to receive instruction in wisdom. And, it is a WILLINGNESS to listen and accept instruction, as well as reproof. Our UNWILLINGNESS brings us to the place where God is “far from” (not listening or granting our requests), and to the place where we despise ourselves.
The person who has a “right” relationship with God, willing to accept His instruction and reproof, brings many positive effects: God hearing our prayers, making our hearts rejoice, refreshing us physically, dwelling (being influenced by) the wise, and gaining wisdom.

Study notes:
Cross-reference – Proverbs 1:7 – The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.
Lumina.bible
tn Heb “[is] instruction of wisdom” (KJV and NASB similar). The noun translated “wisdom” is an attributive genitive: “wise instruction.”
Strong’s Concordance
Hear (v 31,32) – shama` – to hear, listen to, obey
Heart, understanding (v. 30, 32) – leb – inner man, mind, will, heart, understanding – very widely for the feelings, the will and even the intellect; likewise for the centre of anything
Reproof (v 31,32) – towkechah – rebuke, correction, reproof, punishment, chastisement – The main idea of tokeha is correcting a wrong. Webster’s definition of reproof = criticism for a fault; a charge or blame expressed to one’s face; censure for a fault and often implies a kind intent to correct another’s fault. Hastings Bible Dictionary says reproof is “the refutation of error, the discovery of sin, the convincing and convicting of the wrongdoer.” (preceptaustin)
Neglects – (para) means means to be loose or to loosen and here conveys the idea of willful ignoring of instruction
Correction, Instruction ( v. 32,33) – muwcar – discipline, chastening, correction

A – Am I in the place of accepting correction or reproof? Whether it is from others, or from the Word, do I willingly accept and reflect on what I learn? Or – so I willfully ignore? I know that there were times that I did willfully ignore, and I see the negative effects of that. Life choices are so important!

Seeking wisdom becomes a desire the more you seek it. I think back, even a few years, and see my own seeking so enriching. Digging into the Word, finding out what words mean, and thinking about how it applies to my life has become a delight.

But I also realize that I need to APPLY what I learn – to put it into practice. It is not only reading and reflecting, but DOING what I learn. It is realizing that my attitude has to be one of humility and “teachable-ness.” Only then will I live in wisdom.

How does my view of God affect my openness to receiving His wisdom? To the point that I am willing to receive His wisdom, is the point to which I will receive it. In other words, if I am not willing, I will not receive. If I am willing, God will work within my heart and life. If I see Him as Creator and Sustainer of the Universe, the only Wise God, the omniscient, the Holy God – then I will live in accordance to WHO He is. Simply put, He is God; I am not. I need to bring my life into submission to Him.

P – Father God, work within my heart. Bring an attitude of humble teachability that only You can bring. Work in me, live in me, and help me to live for you, in each moment. Bring my attitude in line with Your Word. Help me to listen, to hear, to act on what I learn. Father, may I bring delight to You in my thoughts and actions today.

To You be the Glory – (Matt Maher & Kari Jobe) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bH6QbH7wXgs
Who could hold the wealth of God
Such treasure found in Him
Who could comprehend His heart and mind
His wisdom has no end

For from Him, through Him, to Him are all things
From Him, through Him, to Him are all things

To you be the glory forever
To you be the glory, Lord, amen
To you be the glory forever
To you be the glory, Lord, amen

Who has known the mind of God
Who has counseled Him
Who has given gifts to God
That He might be repaid

In dark and light
In death and life

When hard times enter in
In all things, we will worship You
With You there is no end
There is no end

Leave a Reply

