Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking in Wisdom – The Source of Wisdom

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 3 – Wednesday, January 18, 2017wk01d03

Read Proverbs 3: 5 – 8.  SOAP Proverbs 3:5,6

PROVERBS 3:5-8 5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. 6 In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. 7 Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. 8 It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones.

O – This is the first time that I have recognized “trust” as a “leaning” or support. When I trust, I fully and completely rely on them. To be secure. This is what we are to do in our relationship with God – to fully and completely rely on Him, to be confident in Him. To be secure in Him. And to NOT lean on my own understanding. My understanding(binah) insight or discernment. This part, LEAN NOT, is sha’an – relying on someone or something for help or protection. The comparison that I read about was “relying on one’s own understanding is compared to leaning on something that is unreliable fur support.”

And, in verse 6, I saw WAYS as (derek) – our journey or course of life. So – in my journey in life, I need to “lean on Him.” To ACKNOWLEDGE Him is to learn or know by experience. That is, to be intimately acquainted with, to know deeply. Our relationship with God will directly affect our journey in life! Finally, if we do acknowledge Him, He will DIRECT (yashar) our PATH (‘orcah). That is to give us a right, straight, upright way of living.

So – my paraphrase of today’s verses from Proverbs 3:5,6 is: “Fully lean and find security in God with ALL that I am. Don’t rely on my own insight, which is unreliable. In my journey in life, I need to know God, by my relationship and experience with Him. IF I do, He will direct me into a upright way of living.” WOW!

Hebrew words: (taken from Strong’s Concordance and preceptaustin)
TRUST – The word בְּטַח (bÿtakh, “trust”) is used in the OT in (1) literal physical sense: to physically lean upon something for support and (2) figurative sense: to rely upon someone or something for help or protection – to trust, trust in, to have confidence in, be confident, to be bold, to be secure
DO NOT LEAN – Heb “do not lean.” The verb שָׁעַן (sha’an, “to lean; to rely”) is used in (1) literal physical sense of leaning upon something for support and (2) figurative sense of relying upon someone or something for help or protection (BDB 1043 s.v.). Here it functions figuratively (hypocatastasis: implied comparison); relying on one’s own understanding is compared to leaning on something that is unreliable for support – to lean on, trust in, support
WAYS – (derek) – road, way, path, journey, direction, manner, habit, way, course of life
ACKNOWLEDGE (yada) – to know, learn to know, perceive, discriminate, to know by experience
DIRECT – (yashar) – to be right, be straight, be level, be upright, be just, be smooth
PATH – (‘orcah) – way, path, passing of life, way of living

A – What do I lean on? Where do I get my confidence and security? Do I try to get it from within – from my own insight, or the insight of others? From my reading, that can’t always be trusted. It is in having that intimate relationship with God, so that His thoughts and ways permeate my life – that I will find real direction. And, I am finding that my own seeking of Him in His Word has made a tremendous difference in my life. It is not the reading of good Christian books, or talking with Christian men and women, that will direct my life journey. It is my relationship with Him. Not that I can’t use discernment or confirmation in other believers, but my primary “leaning and support” needs to come from HIM!

My father had these verses posted in his office for years, and I saw that he took them seriously. Many times, he wrote those verses in letters or cards to me. He knew that wisdom didn’t come from him, or within himself, but from God and His word. He lived that in his business life, and in his personal life. I didn’t always understand it, or his reasonings, but I DID understand that He sought God’s guidance in decisions. One of my treasured possessions is the framed verse that was in his office, now in my home. It is a reminder to trust HIM, not my own resources.

Today, and in the next days, may I lean on Him – fully rely on Him, for each decision, each action, whatever I do. May His words permeate my life – and soak in.

P – Father God, thank You for the new understanding that You bring to my life today. It IS true – Your Word IS living and active – and speaks forth Your truth today. Father, I don’t want to trust my own judgment – but to fully rely on You. Thank You for Your Word, which speaks truth today, and every day. Today, I pray the new understanding of this passage: Father, may I fully lean and find security in You with ALL that I am. May I not rely on my own insight, which is unreliable. Father, in my life journey, may I know You, intimately, from my relationship with You and my day to day experience with You. Father, direct my life, so that it is an upright way of living. May You receive the honor and the glory for what YOU are doing, in my life, and in the lives of others. Amen.

Trust – Sixpence None the Richer (lyrics) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCLK9P7kh6Y

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
Lean not on your own understanding
In all of your ways acknowledge Him
And He will make your paths straight
Don’t worry about tomorrow
He’s got it under control
Just trust in the Lord with all of your heart
And He will carry you through

Lord, sometimes it gets so tough
To keep my eyes on You
When things are going rough
But then I turn my eyes up to the sky
And I hear your voice it says to me…

So child do not be weary with the troubles
Of this world I have overcome

Leave a Reply

