Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Walking In Wisdom – The Source of Wisdom

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2 – Tuesday, January 17, 2017wk01d02

PROVERBS 2:1-6 1 My son, if you receive my words and treasure up my commandments with you, 2 making your ear attentive to wisdom and inclining your heart to understanding; 3 yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understanding, 4 if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures, 5 then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God. 6 For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding;

If….then statements are important. What do you see here?

O – The if…. Then statements.
• IF you receive his words (willingly take in)
• IF you treasure up his commandments (store in my heart, memorize)
• IF you make your ear attentive to wisdom (willingly listen)
• IF you incline your heart to understanding (“bend” my heart – change the direction)
• IF you call out for insight (voice my request – pray?)
• IF you raise your voice for understanding (like shouting, calling out, with meaning!)
• IF you seek it like silver (more to be desired than gold….)
• IF you search for it as for hidden treasures (intentional seeking)

I wrote IF for each statement, as they were all part of the same thought process. That’s a lot of IF’s! All these statements imply that effort is applied in this search. And – it is done willingly, as looking for treasure. There’s also a certain amount of willingness, a “want to” in seeking wisdom. It is willingness to change directions, change behavior and attitudes, and to be taught. It is intentional seeking – with a goal in mind.

THEN – you will understand the fear of the Lord AND find the knowledge of God
FOR – the LORD gives wisdom – from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

Receive – (laqach) means to take, grasp, acquire something worth having, take hold of,
Treasure – (tsapan/sapan) means means primarily to hide, to keep secret, to conceal something often of great value with a definite purpose. Tsaphan is used in reference to things of value which are secreted away for future use, e.g., wealth, dowry for a bride, wise words of a father
Seek – (baqas) expresses a person’s earnest seeking of something or someone which exists or is thought to exist with the intention that it will be found or acquired. It pictures one searching earnestly until the object of the search is located.

A – Do I willingly take in God’s words – so they can change my life? Do I treasure them in my heart – memorize them so they are handy? There are many hidden there, but I confess that I have not memorized much lately. Many of them are there from childhood, and from various Bible studies and discipleship programs that I was a part of. But – I should ACTIVELY be storing those precious words NOW! Since moving to Indiana, and having more flexible time, I have spent much more time in the Word, and love seeking out what God says. Most, if not all, of my reading has been Christian non-fiction books, that help my growth, or are a part of mentoring. I have enjoyed spending time discovering the meaning of words, which is part of the beauty of on-line resources like Biblegateway and blueletterbible.

I was wondering a few months ago if I was being used by God here in Indiana, or if there was “more” that He had for me to do. I think that some of that time was preparation, preparation of my heart. And now, I see how God used that time of “aloneness” at home to build me up spiritually, and in wisdom and knowledge and understanding. There is a depth of my studies now that wasn’t there before. I guess it was like seeking out treasure!

And now, it is in the listening that I need to work on. It is taking what I learn, and passing it on to others, sharing the joy of seeking treasure in the word. It is being willing to “bend my heart” – to incline my heart to His Word and understanding it.

P – Father God, incline my heart to understanding Your Word. Give me listening ears, ready to receive Your Word. May I be Your vessel, willing to be filled, then poured out. Father, give me a willingness to learn, and a humble spirit. Thank You for the treasures of Your Word, stored up even when I was a child, and now sought out as an adult. May Your Word be living and active, in me, today. Amen.

Wisdom in the Secret Heart (Shane & Shane) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=px-eU1QjQiU

Behold I was brought forth in iniquity
and in sin and my mother conceived me
Behold you delight in the truth and the inward me
and you teach me, wisdom in the secret heart

Our sins not far but right in front of me
against you and you alone God
I am guilty
Wash me thoroughly cleanse me from iniquity
and teach me, wisdom in the secret heart

Create in me a clean heart, oh God
Renew a right spirit within me, oh God
Cast me not away from Your presence
take not Your Holy Spirit
restore in me the joy of Your salvation
and teach me, wisdom in the secret heart

Send me the chief of sinners to proclaim
come be forgiven the sin of the lamb of God was slain
Open my lips and my mouth will declare your endless praise
and teach me, wisdom in the secret heart

Create in me a clean heart, oh God
Renew a right spirit within me, oh God
Cast me not away from Your presence
take not Your Holy Spirit
restore in me the joy of Your salvation
and teach me, wisdom in the secret heart
wisdom in the secret heart

The Lord is gracious and slow to anger
Rich in love, He is good to all good to all

Create in me a clean heart, oh God
Renew a right spirit within me, oh God
Cast me not away from Your presence
take not Your Holy Spirit
restore in me the joy of Your salvation
and teach me, wisdom in the secret heart
wisdom in the secret heart

Leave a Reply

