Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Response

Leave a comment

Week 4 – Day 2 – Tuesday Read Luke 2:8-20 SOAP Luke 2:20 – The Shepherdswk04d02

Read Luke 2:8-20 SOAP Luke 2:20 – The Shepherds

TUESDAY LUKE 2:8-20 8 And in the same region there were shepherds out in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. 9 And an angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were filled with great fear. 10 And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. 11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. 12 And this will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger.” 13 And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying, 14 “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among those with whom he is pleased!” 15 When the angels went away from them into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let us go over to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has made known to us.” 16 And they went with haste and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby lying in a manger. 17 And when they saw it, they made known the saying that had been told them concerning this child. 18 And all who heard it wondered at what the shepherds told them. 19 But Mary treasured up all these things, pondering them in her heart. 20 And the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all they had heard and seen, as it had been told them.

O – When the angels appeared to the shepherds, they were doing just what they should be doing – tending their flocks. Although afraid, they witnessed a host of angels praising and glorifying God, telling of the birth of the Savior. When the angels left, the shepherds told each other that they had to go to Bethlehem to see for themselves what God had revealed to them. They went, “with haste”, and saw what had been told to them – a baby, wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger. They “made known” what had been told them by the angels. Then, they went back to where they had come from, tending the sheep – but praising and glorifying God for all that they had seen and heard.

A – God revealed Himself to the common, to the ordinary, to the poor – the shepherds. But, they were doing JUST WHAT THEY SHOULD BE DOING – in ordinary ways. They were going about their daily work, being faithful in their jobs, when the angel came. They weren’t just sitting, waiting for something to happen – they were faithful in their daily lives. They “checked it out”, and then went back to their daily work, being faithful in their jobs – but with this exception. They glorified and praised God for everything that they had seen and heard. They praised Him for His work. And they went on, being faithful in their daily lives.

Am I “faithful in my daily life?” Am I DOING WHAT I SHOULD BE DOING – ordinary things, in an ordinary life? In my routine of laundry, cleaning, cooking, creating – am I faithful? And – do I praise and glorify God in my ordinary life – when He works in extraordinary ways? Do I see His working – or do I focus on myself? Do I “make known” what God has done? Is my life an “offering” of praise – to Him?

P – Father God – may my ordinary life today of cooking and cleaning and laundry – be an offering of praise to You. May my life, my attitude, my thoughts – honor and glorify You. Just as the shepherds were doing what they were supposed to be doing, may I do the same. And, may You reveal Yourself in this ordinary day – in an extraordinary way. Keep my eyes and heart open to YOU. Amen.

Offering (Casting Crowns ) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_Vkd9BlnC8

Over the skies of Bethlehem appeared a star
While angels sang to lowly shepherds
Three wisemen seeking truth, they traveled from afar
Hoping to find the Child from Heaven falling on their knees
They bow before the humble Prince of peace

We bring an offering of worship to our King
No one on earth deserves the praises that we sing
Jesus, may You receive the honor that You’re due
O Lord, I bring an offering to You

The sun cannot compare to the glory of Your love
There is no shadow in Your presence
No mortal man would dare to stand before Your throne
Before the Holy One of Heaven, it’s only by Your blood
It’s only through Your mercy, Lord I come

I bring an offering of worship to my King
No one on earth deserves the praises that I sing
Jesus, may You receive the honor that You’re due
O Lord, I bring an offering to You

I bring an offering of worship to my King
No one on earth deserves the praises that I sing
Jesus, may You receive the honor that You’re due
O Lord, I bring an offering to You

We bring an offering to You
We are an offering to You
An offering of praise we sing
An offering to You

We are an offering to You, Jesus
An offering of praise we sing
An offering to You
We are an offering, oh Lord

We are an offering of worship to our King
No one on earth deserves the praises that we sing
Jesus, may You receive the honor that You’re due
O Lord, we bring an offering to You
O Lord, we bring an offering

Offering to You
We bring an offering to You
We are an offering to You

Leave a Reply

