Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Response

Leave a comment

Week 4 – Day 1 – Monday wk04d01

Read Luke 1:46-56    SOAP Luke 1:46-49 – Mary

MONDAY LUKE 1:46-56 46 And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, 47 and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, 48 for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant.  For behold, from now on all generations will call me blessed; 49 for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name. 50 And his mercy is for those who fear him from generation to generation. 51 He has shown strength with his arm; he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts; 52 he has brought down the mighty from their thrones and exalted those of humble estate; 53 he has filled the hungry with good things, and the rich he has sent away empty. 54 He has helped his servant Israel, in remembrance of his mercy, 55 as he spoke to our fathers, to Abraham and to his offspring forever.” 56 And Mary remained with her about three months and returned to her home.

O – Mary’s reaction to God’s messenger is astounding.   Instead of disbelief, or “why me”, Mary says, “MY soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.”   She just goes on to state what GOD has done and WHO God is.  He is mighty.  He is strong.  He has done great things.  He is scattered the proud.  He has brought down the mighty.  He has filled the hungry.  He has helped his servant Israel.  HOLY is He.  Wow.

A – Would that be MY reaction?  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior?  Imagining the disbelief of God’s news – from an angel, no less, and the news that would bring a Messiah.  But it would also bring pain, and scorn from those who did not understand or believe.  And – she had to live through this.  But this passage is from Mary’s visit to Elizabeth, after Elizabeth recognizes what God has done – in Mary.  She recognized the coming of the baby who would save us.

Do I recognize His coming?  Do I acknowledge His working – or tend to disbelieve?  Oh, may my heart and soul cry out, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior” when He is at work.

Even last night, there was a conversation with Paul and I and another couple.  I can, today, say, “My soul magnifies the Lord” as HE has done some mighty things.  I rejoice in that conversation.   I see God’s hand at work.  May He continue His work – and may I continue to recognize when He is at work – and join in.

P – Father God, thank You for Your work.  Thank You for Your work in me.  Continue your work – mold and shape me.  And, may I recognize when You are working, and rejoice.  As Mary said, “I am willing.  I am Yours.”   May it be so.  Amen.

Be Born in Me – (Francesca Battistelli) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOPHkvbdOpw&list=PL5o2Uu3rC4m5ONKvTeJSDlCA8b_JomJ8k&index=22

Everything inside me cries for order
Everything inside me wants to hide
Is this shadow an angel or a warrior?
If God is pleased with me, why I am I so terrified?
Someone tell me I am only dreaming
Somehow help me see with Heaven’s eyes
And before my head agrees, my heart is on its knees
Holy is He. Blessed am I.

Be born in me, be born in me
Trembling heart, somehow I believe that You chose me
I’ll hold you in the beginning, You will hold me in the end
Every moment in the middle, make my heart your Bethlehem
Be born in me

All this time we’ve waited for the promise
All this time You’ve waited for my arms

Did You wrap yourself inside the unexpected
So we might know that Love would go that far?

Be born in me, be born in me
Trembling heart, somehow I believe that You chose me
I’ll hold you in the beginning, You will hold me in the end
Every moment in the middle, make my heart your Bethlehem
Be born in me

I am not brave
I’ll never be
The only thing my heart can offer is a vacancy
I’m just a girl
Nothing more
But I am willing, I am Yours

Leave a Reply

