Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Reason for His Coming

Leave a comment

Week 3 – Day 2 – Tuesday, December 13, 2016wk03d02

Read Isaiah 61:1 -3 SOAP Isaiah 61:1 – To bring good news to the afflicted

TUESDAY ISAIAH 61:1-3 1 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; 2 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; 3 to grant to those who mourn in Zion—to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.

O – What blessings God brings to our lives when we allow Him to! Jesus, our Savior brings good news to us – with a change in our lives. It isn’t just words, it is life change. And – it is to the broken. The poor. The brokenhearted. The captives. The prisoners. The mourners. The faint in heart.

What does He give? Good news. Healing. Liberty. Freedom. Comfort. Beauty. Gladness. Praise. Steadiness.

A – What a message that God has sent! I remember when this was Paul’s verse for the year – recovering from mourning. Starting a new life. Planting in Indiana. The year 2014. I remember watching the changes as he healed, as he planted roots, as joy seeped back into his life. And then, we used these verses in our wedding vows. An “oak of righteousness.” “Garment of praise.” “A planting of the Lord.” WHY? So HE may be glorified.

Even over this weekend, I needed this message. As I read over the words, I felt some of those emotions. Missing family. Missing ‘together’ times. Missing ministry opportunities. Missing music. Missing friends. Missing celebrating heritage. Missing my roots. I need that oil of gladness, a garment of praise – to be a planting of the Lord, planted here in Indiana. I need that steadiness, to be an ‘oak of righteousness.’ To allow God to anoint me, to cover me, to plant me.

That is my prayer today – so I, too, can bring this message to others.
What message do I have today? Who in my life is brokenhearted? Who may be faint in heart? Who may be mourning? How can I bring the message of healing, freedom, beauty, comfort, praise? How can God minister – through me?

P – Father, You are the God of all comfort. You bring the oil of gladness. You cover with garments of praise. You plant us, steady us. Provide roots by which to be fed and grow. Father, bring that to my life, today. Bring about that life change within my heart. Help me to give that message of healing to others. May I be full of joy – Your joy – and spread that to others. Thank You for Your healing, Your gentle love, Your constant care. May I be Your planting today.

One Holy Night – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UZVte4-KFg&index=62…– a video for meditation on what Jesus did, and who He is – for us!

Leave a Reply

