Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

GOd With us – The Coming of Our Savior

Leave a comment

Week 2 – Day 3 – Wednesday   Read Philippians 2:5 -7   SOAP Philippians 2:5 – 7 –  It meant veiling His glorywk02d03

WEDNESDAY PHILIPPIANS 2:5-7 5  Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, 6  who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, 7  but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.

O – I was looking back earlier in the chapter of Philippians this morning, and noticed another new though (well, for me, today…).  “Have this mind….”   is Paul’s instruction – after telling the Philippians how to act with each other.  The first few verses tell what he means.

  • Be of the same mind
  • Have the same love
  • Be in full accord
  • Be of one mind
  • Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit
  • Count others more significant than yourselves
  • Look to the interests of others, THEN

“HAVE THIS MIND….”

This mind is ours in Christ Jesus – who THOUGH He was in the form of God, didn’t work at “being equal with God.”  He didn’t grab for it, though it was rightfully His.  BUT  He emptied Himself, becoming a servant.  Being born, just like men.

Those THOUGH’s and BUT’s are important.   Jesus COULD HAVE demanded His rights.  He COULD HAVE stayed in heaven, in His rightful place.  He COULD HAVE demanded an alternative plan.    He COULD HAVE come to earth, but come as a King.

No, it was THOUGH He was in the “form and unchanging essence of God [as One with Him, possessing the fullness of all the divine attributes—the entire nature of deity]” (v. 6 – AMP).  He didn’t grab what was rightfully His.  And it was BUT “emptied Himself [without renouncing or diminishing His deity, but only temporarily giving up the outward expression of divine equality and His rightful dignity] by assuming the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men [He became completely human but was without sin, being fully God and fully man].” (v. 7 – AMP)

A – I am learning to look for those “little words” – as they pack so much meaning.   The THOUGH’s, and BUT’s, and THEREFORE’s, and BECAUSE’s…..   because they lead me to understanding and cause/effect.  So, what do today’s THEREFORE and BUT mean for me?

Today’s topic is “it meant veiling His glory.”  THOUGH.   Though I have rights, privileges, and blessings – do I “grab” at them, thinking they are rightfully mine?   Do I expect that life will be easy, convenient, and smooth?   Or – do I allow God to do His workings, His “interruptions”, and changes – so that His plan will be fulfilled?    BUT.  Do I have a servant attitude – even though I have the “right” to be more?   Do I look for ways to serve others, or do I work to meet my own needs?  Am I willing to serve, to go out of my way, to lay down my desires and rights – to do what Jesus did?   Do I REALLY “have this mind?”   May I, today, HAVE THIS MIND, and be observant and active in my “THOUGH’s” and “BUT’s”.

P – Father God, You speak to me through Your word – and it is always new and fresh thoughts.  Thank You, today, for this word of admonition, at least to my heart.  Father, may I live today, having the mind of Christ.  May I look at the needs of others.   May I serve with Your heart.  May I bring honor and glory to YOUR name today.  Amen.

Son of God – (Michael W. Smith) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9n7QDFAOXU&index=10&list=RD17kiIIxSdC0

Son of God, purest light, Lord on high is here tonight
Stamping through, this sacred sky suddenly our eyes behold
Heaven’s perfect plan unfold, son of God

Son of God, love divine, timeless one, steps in to die
Who could dream of such a thing with us now the King of Kings
Man and angels bow and sing, singing Hallelujah, Hallelujah

We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
We’re singing Gloria

We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
(We’re singing Gloria)

We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
(Emmanuel)
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah
(Emmanuel)
We’re singing Gloria, Hallelujah

Our God is with us
Emmanuel, our God is with us
(We’re singing Hallelujah)
Singing Gloria

Leave a Reply

