Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

GOd With Us – The Coming of Our Savior

Leave a comment

Week 2 – Day 2 – Tuesday   Read John 1:1- 5, 14   SOAP John 1:14 – It meant taking on fleshwk02d02

TUESDAY JOHN 1:1-5 1  In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2  He was in the beginning with God. 3  All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4  In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. JOHN 1:14 14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.

O – Jesus “had it all” in heaven – the love of His Father, the presence of His Father, the blessing of the Trinity, the glory and worship of angels.  BUT – He gave it up.  The all-powerful Son of God, part of the Trinity, the “light of men” – CHOSE to become flesh.  He gave up all the glories of heaven to become man – and live as a man.

A – As Paul and I were talking over breakfast this morning, one of the things he said struck me.  Jesus did not only willingly “give up” but He also “took on.”  Yes, He gave up the glories of heaven.  He gave up His place by the Father’s side in heaven.  He gave up His life.  BUT – He also “took on.”  He took on human form.  He took on our sins.  He took on the daily life of man.  He took on our sins.  He took on our weakness, our frailties, our temptations, our  battles with sin and Satan.  Yet, he didn’t sin.  Fully God, and fully man.

We think of Christmas as the time we celebrate the birth of a baby.  How often do I think of what that baby took on as He came to earth?  He gave up what was rightfully His – to become a poor carpenter’s son, the child of an unmarried young mother.  He gave up His place by His Father’s side – to learn a trade by His father’s side in a carpenter’s barn.  He gave up the “splendor of Heaven” to be despised and rejected of men.”  (Isaiah 53:3)

What am I willing to give up – or take on – today?  What do I need to be – to fulfill God’s destiny for me?  Not “do” – but “be.”  Is it time, or relationships, or things beyond myself?  Oh, may I be the woman that God desires of me.

P – Father God, thank You for what You have done – for what Jesus has done – to provide a way of salvation, and a way of life for us today.  Help me, as Your child, to live in a way that brings honor and glory to Your name.  Bring to my mind what You would have me to “be” today.   And may what I “do” be a response to Your love, Your sacrifice, Your willingness to give of Yourself for others.  Amen.

When Love was Born (Mark Schultz) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKSU9Dbxvrw&list=PLxVbTYK1umilbhcr0PRDK3xLlgzZC3J-A&index=50

Starlight shines
The night is still
Shepherds watch from a hill
I close my eyes and see the night
when love was born

Perfect child gently waits
A mother bends to kiss God’s face
I close my eyes and see the night
when love was born

Angels fill the midnight sky, they sing
Hallelujah, He is Christ our King

Emmanuel, Prince of Peace,
Love come down for you and me
Heaven’s gift, the Holy spark
to light the way inside our hearts

Bethlehem through your small door
came the hope we’ve waited for
The world was changed forever more
When love was born

I close my eyes and see the night
when love was born

Leave a Reply

