Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Promise of a Savior (as seen throughout the OT)

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5 – Friday – II Samuel 7:10-13   SOAP II Samuel 7:12-13wk01d05

FRIDAY 2 SAMUEL 7:10-13 10 And I will appoint a place for my people Israel and will plant them, so that they may dwell in their own place and be disturbed no more. And violent men shall afflict them no more, as formerly, 11 from the time that I appointed judges over my people Israel. And I will give you rest from all your enemies. Moreover, the Lord declares to you that the Lord will make you a house. 12 When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. 13 He shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.

O – This passage comes from when David was King of Israel.  He looked around, and told Nathan the prophet, ““See now, I dwell in a house of cedar, but the ark of God dwells in a tent.” (II Samuel 7:1)  He was troubled that he, the king, dwelled in a better place than God, who dwelled in a tent.  But God spoke to Nathan in the night – and this passage is part of what God told Nathan.

God did not need a “house” to dwell in. He dwelled in His people.  David did not build a tabernacle, but His son Solomon did.  BUT – God’s promise to David was more than a building.  It was a future.  God took David, a shepherd boy, to be ruler over Israel. (v. 8)  God promised to make David’s name great (v. 9) – reminiscent of the promise that He made to Abraham in Genesis 12.   He promises a place for His people – to give them a place of their own (v. 10), and respite from their enemies (v. 11).  But here’s the BIG promise – He promises to make a “house” for David (v. 11).  This was not a physical house to dwell in , but his line, his descendants.  When David died, his offspring would establish his kingdom.  (v. 12)  This kingdom would be in God’s name and would be forever.  This is the promise of the Coming King – Jesus.  It also pointed to the lineage of Jesus – through the line of David.

So much of what God promised is similar to what He promised Abraham.  But neither man would “see” the fulfillment of the promise.  Both were promised a nation, a kingdom – but would not live to see it happen.  Abraham lived in faith, knowing that God promised a nation from his descendants, even though he was childless.  “I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you.  I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.”  (Genesis 12:2)  David was promised, “ He (your offspring) shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.” (II Samuel 7:13) They had to live in faith, knowing what God said WOULD BE.

A – Do I understand this living in faith – knowing what WILL BE?  I have God’s word – right in my hand – chock full of His promises.  There are days that I live in faith, knowing that God is providing.  But there are also days that I do not understand, wondering what He will do to work out His plan for me, for others in my life.  Can I live in that faith of David and Abraham, knowing the promise, but knowing that it WILL BE?  “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8,9 – ESV)  May I live today, in the promise that God gave to David’s son, Solomon, in I Chronicles 28:9 – “As for you, Solomon my son, know the God of your father [have personal knowledge of Him, be acquainted with, and understand Him; appreciate, heed, and cherish Him] and serve Him with a blameless heart and a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts and minds, and understands every intent and inclination of the thoughts. If you seek Him [inquiring for and of Him and requiring Him as your first and vital necessity] He will let you find Him; but if you abandon (turn away from) Him, He will reject you forever.”

P – Father God, thank You for ALWAYS fulfilling Your promises.  You promised a nation from Abraham, and a kingdom from David.  And You DID.  You fulfilled that promise for each of them.  Even though they did not live to see fulfillment, You kept that promise. And I know that You will fulfill Your promises to me – even if I do not live to see them.  Father, thank You for Your faithfulness.  Bring understanding to Your ways, and keep me in them.  I desire to know You, to honor You, to bring You glory today.  Help me to serve You, as Solomon did, with a blameless heart and a willing mind.  Amen.

Unshakable Kingdom (Sandi Patty) – https://youtu.be/-GoD_BlGMdo

They came to follow Him
Drawn by what He promised them
If they would sell all that they had
He said that God would send a kingdom
That would never end
Where all the poor would be so rich
And in their discontent
They heard what they thought He meant
They heard that the weak would be strong
Bread would be multiplied
Hunger be satisfied
And every servant a king
In his kingdom of God
A kingdom that would never end
A living unshakeable kingdom of God

But He went His quiet way
Giving himself away
Building what eyes could never see
He walked with crowds alone
Planting a seed in you and me
Crying for those who cried
Dying for those who died
Bursting forth glorified! Alive!
And some of them looked for Him
Sad that it had to end
But some dared to look within and see
The kingdom of God
A kingdom that would never end
The living, unshakeable kingdom of God

Still some of us look for Him
Sad that it has to end
Do we dare to look within and see
The kingdom of God
A kingdom that will never end
The living unshakeable kingdom of God, of God!

Leave a Reply

