Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Promise of a Savior (as seen in the OT)

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 4 – Thursday – Isaiah 7:14   SOAP Isaiah 7:14wk01d04

THURSDAY ISAIAH 7:14 14 Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.

O – Lots of observations today:

  1. Immanuel is mentioned only three times in the Bible: Isaiah 7:14, Isaiah 8:8, and Matthew 1:23.

Isaiah 7:14 – Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.

Isaiah 8:8 – and it will sweep on into Judah, it will overflow and pass on, reaching even to the neck, and its outspread wings will fill the breadth of your land, O Immanuel.”  (Comment: And two verses later Isaiah writes “Devise a plan but it will be thwarted; State a proposal, but it will not stand, For God is with us.” (Isa 8:10) –from PreceptAustin )

Matthew 1:23 – “Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel (which means, God with us).” –  (Comment: Not God without us! Not God against us! But God with us!   Comment: This passage clearly underscores the truth of the miracle Virgin Birth, in which Jesus was conceived in the womb of Mary by a miraculous work of the Holy Spirit, without a human father (Mt 1:18202425Lk 1:35). This is a truth vital to our faith. Without the Virgin Birth there is no Biblical Christianity! As Wayne Grudem says “the virgin birth made possible the uniting of full deity and full humanity in one person. This was the means God used to send his Son (John 3:16Gal. 4:4) into the world as a man… The virgin birth also makes possible Christ’s true humanity without inherited sin… – from PreceptAustin)

  1. This passage comes in the middle of Isaiah 7, when King Ahaz was king of Judah. Jerusalem was being attacked, and the king and the people were frightened.  God sent Isaiah to King Ahaz to reassure him – to not be afraid, and to be calm.  (Isaiah 7:4)  YET – this is what God said about the attack – “it will not take place, it will not happen (v. 7).  God told Ahaz to ask for a sign – but Ahaz refused.  “I will not ask; I will not put the LORD to the test.”  (v. 12)  God’s answer through Isaiah is interesting…. “Is is not enough to try the patience of men”  Will you try the patience of my God also?”   (v. 13)   Then today’s verse…. “THEREFORE, the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.”  The Lord Himself will give a sign!  The name Immanuel was to show Ahaz that God was WITH them.  “God with us.”
  2. This cross-reference brings greater meaning to the name Immanuel, God with Us. Isaiah 41:10 – 10 ‘Do not fear, for I am with you;  Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’  (ESV)– (John Piper explains this passage has five “I” statements from God: “I am your God—over you. I am with you—by your side. I will strengthen you—from inside of you. I will help you—all around you from wherever the enemy comes. I will uphold you—from underneath you. Over you, by you, inside you, around you, underneath you. –  from PreceptAustin)

A – Do I live today with the knowledge that God is WITH me?  When God talked through Isaiah to Ahaz, he was frightened by circumstances.  He was being attacked.  God’s reassurance was “I am with you.”  The sign was a foreshadowing of the coming Messiah.  And it was fulfilled.  I KNOW the Messiah has come.  Do I live in full knowledge – and does it affect my behavior and confidence today?  Do I live in the knowledge of “God is with me?”  Do I trust Him?  Do I believe that passage from Isaiah 41:10 – that God is with me, He will strengthen and help and uphold me?  What a promise!  Knowing this, I should not fear.  I should trust Him – and His care for me.

P – Father God, thank You for Your fulfilled promises.  Thank You that You are always with me.  You ARE Immanuel – God with us.  Your Son – God with us.  You are with me.  Father, help me to live in full awareness of Your presence – day by day, moment by moment.  You are faithful.  Your plan for a Savior was fulfilled in Jesus, Your Son.  Thank You for so clearly giving Your promise – and a way for us to believe.  When I am troubled, or afraid, help me to trust in You and Your promises – that You will NEVER leave or forsake.  That You are WITH me.   Jesus, Immanuel.  God with us – but more personally, God with me.  Amen.

Immanuel – (Michael Card) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrmMQdkBPwY&feature=youtu.be

A sign shall be given a virgin will conceive
A human baby bearing undiminished deity
The glory of the nations a light for all to see
That hope for all who will embrace His warm reality

Immanuel our God is with us
And if God is with us who could stand against us
Our God is with us
Immanuel

For all those who live in the shadow of death
A glorious light has dawned
For all those who stumble in the darkness
Behold your light has come

Immanuel our God is with us
And if God is with us who could stand against us
Our God is with us
Immanuel

So what will be Your answer? Will You hear the call?
Of Him who did not spare His son but gave Him for us all
On earth there is no power there is no depth or height
That could ever separate us from the love of God in Christ

Immanuel our God is with us
And if God is with us who could stand against us
Our God is with us
Immanuel

Immanuel our God is with us
And if God is with us who could stand against us
Our God is with us
Immanuel

Leave a Reply

