Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

God With Us – The Promise of a Savior (as seen through the OT)

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 1 – Monday – Genesis 3:14-15 – SOAP Genesis 3:15 –Come Thou Long Expected Jesuswk01d01

GENESIS 3:14-15 – 14 The Lord God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, cursed are you above all livestock and above all beasts of the field; on your belly you shall go, and dust you shall eat all the days of your life. 15 I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring; he shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise his heel.”

O – God’s words here are to Satan, but Adam and Eve are present. This is just after Adam and Eve sinned, and Adam blamed Eve, and then Eve blamed the serpent (Satan). They lived in the perfect environment, created by God, but CHOSE to sin. That was the beginning of the separation between God and man. Man sinned – and drove a wedge in that relationship. Satan was cursed – more than any other animal, and told that he would crawl on his belly and eat dust. But – there would be an ultimate end. There would be hostility between him and his offspring with mankind (the woman is mentioned here) – woman and her coming children. While Satan would injure her Seed (ultimately Christ) – He would fatally would Satan. The end would come! No wonder people waited in hope and expectation for the Messiah to come!

“God’s words to Satan (v. 15) are called the protevagelium, “the first gospel,” because this is the first announcement of the coming Redeemer found in the Bible. To God’s old covenant people, this verse was a beacon of hope (Gal. 4:1-4); to Satan, it was God’s declaration of war, climaxing in his condemnation (Rom. 16:20); and to Eve, it was the assurance that she was forgiven and that God would use a woman to bring the Redeemer into the world (1 Tim. 2:13-15).”
(Warren Wiersbe – Be series from Biblegateway)

A – I can’t “blame” Eve, or Adam for my choices. I have the choice to obey – or disobey – just like they did. I can CHOOSE to honor God in my choices, or not. But that sin nature is there. THAT is why I need the Redeemer. I need the promise of Scripture that God will overcome. John 16:33 says, “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.]” (AMP) Our world is NOT perfect – it is full of sin. But God’s promise is that He will overcome. He HAS overcome! So whatever Satan throws our way, we can remember that Jesus has overcome the world. And He will win over Satan.

But it is that nasty sin nature that I need to wrestle with. It is in me. It is part of me. And Satan sometimes wins battles. But – He will NOT win the war!! May I overcome today. Knowing that He makes His home in me, helps me to know that He is IN me to give me the victory.
P – “Come thou long expected Jesus, born to set Thy people free. From our fears and sins release us, let us find our peace in Thee.” Father, make Your home in me today. Help me to live in victory and Your power. Release me from sin and fears – to find peace in You. In this busy holiday season, may I be a beacon of Your light, Your peace, and radiate Your peace to those around me. Thank You for the daily victory that I have in You. Thank You for the promise of final victory over Satan. Amen.

This is Love/ Come Thou Long Expected Jesus –https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka3FZ-IUI_A

Heaven’s splendor left behind,
The King of glory born to die.
God and man to reconcile,
You came to offer up Your life.

This is love, this is love,
Incarnate King, begotten Son.
This is love, this is love,
You choose to make your home in us.

Worship fell that holy night,
Angel voices filled the sky.
Lowly shepherds raised their eyes,
Following the star so bright.

This is love, this is love,
Incarnate King, begotten Son.
This is love, this is love,
You choose to make your home in us.

Come thou long expected Jesus,
Born to set Thy people free.
From our fears and sins release us,
Let us find our peace in Thee.

This is love, this is love,
Incarnate King, begotten Son.
This is love, this is love,
You choose to make your home in us.

Leave a Reply

