Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Thanksgiving in Everything

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 5 – Friday – Thanksgiving in Everything –wk2d5

Read I Thess. 5:18   SOAP v. 18

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV) – 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

I Thessalonians 5:18 (AMP) –  in every situation [no matter what the circumstances] be thankful and continually give thanks to God; for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.

O – What an ending to this study…. Give thanks in ALL circumstances – for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus – for you.   For me, today.  I’m thinking of the word ALL.  Whatever God sends my way.  All circumstances.  It doesn’t say “be happy” for all the good things that we have.  It doesn’t say be thankful for just the good things.  It says to give thanks IN ALL circumstances.  In the hard times.  In the good times.  In the messy life.  In the times that life is just full. In the times of sadness and grief.  In the times of joy.  IN  means DURING.   Not just after, when we have a different perspective.  IN all circumstances.

A – I read over the hymn, “Thanks to God”, an old Swedish hymn that my mom has always loved, and I now appreciate in a different way.  It truly reflects the teachings of this verse from I Thessalonians 5:18 – to give thanks in ALL circumstances.  It looks at “both” sides of life – the joyful, and the painful.  But all – giving thanks for what God supplies.  Peace, grace, hope – those attributes give us the strength to be thankful during those difficult times.

Yes, I am thankful for all the times in my life.   Looking back, I see how God has “woven” them into the woman that I am today.  I see a strength that He has supplied.  I see the grace that He has abundantly provided to weather the “storms” of life – a divorce, single parenting, job loss, the loss of my dad, my mom’s struggle with recovery from that accident, and then cancer.  Even moving to Indiana away from all that was familiar.  And all have combined with the joys of parenting, seeing my daughter grow and marry and have two children of her own, having a ministry at the piano, teaching children for so many years, and now having Paul in my life and adding his family to mine.  What a blessing.  But ALL of these things I truly give thanks for – as they molded me into the “me” that I am today.  And I am so thankful for my life today.  “Thanks to God for my Redeemer, Thanks for ALL Thou dost provide!”

P  – Thank You Father, for all that You have provided.  Thank You for the circumstances in my life that have taught me to rely on You.  Thank You for those times of joy that I recognize that You provided.  Thank You for those times that You were with me in the dark.  Thank You for those times that I saw complete and total provision – from You.  Father, You are good.  You are also holy – and used all those times in my life to help me grow in sanctification.  You know what I need – and provided it throughout my life.  Thank You.  I present myself to You today, to use as You please – to bring honor and glory to Your name.  Amen.

 

The New Doxology – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gF0MgnOjeiw

Praise God from whom all blessings flow
Praise Him all creatures here below
Praise Him above ye heavenly hosts
Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost

Let earth and heavenly saints proclaim
The power and might of His great name
Let us exalt on bended knee
Praise God, the holy Trinity

Praise God, Praise God
Praise God who saved my soul
Praise God, Praise God
Praise God from whom all blessings flow

Praise to the King, His throne transcends
His crown and kingdom never ends
Now and throughout eternity
I’ll praise the One who died for me

Thanks to God – (hymn on piano) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdkzqL4GV_g

Thanks to God for my Redeemer,
Thanks for all Thou dost provide!
Thanks for times now but a mem’ry,
Thanks for Jesus by my side!
Thanks for pleasant, balmy springtime,
Thanks for dark and stormy fall!
Thanks for tears by now forgotten,
Thanks for peace within my soul!

Thanks for prayers that Thou hast answered,
Thanks for what Thou dost deny!
Thanks for storms that I have weathered,
Thanks for all Thou dost supply!
Thanks for pain, and thanks for pleasure,
Thanks for comfort in despair!
Thanks for grace that none can measure,
Thanks for love beyond compare!

Thanks for roses by the wayside,
Thanks for thorns their stems contain!
Thanks for home and thanks for fireside,
Thanks for hope, that sweet refrain!
Thanks for joy and thanks for sorrow,
Thanks for heav’nly peace with Thee!
Thanks for hope in the tomorrow,
Thanks through all eternity!

Leave a Reply

