Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Faith and Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4 – Thursday – Faith and Thanksgiving    wk2d4
Read Colossians 2:7   SOAP v 7

Colossians 2:6, 7  (ESV) – Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.

Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, walk in [union with] Him [reflecting His character in the things you do and say—living lives that lead others away from sin],having been deeply rooted [in Him] and now being continually built up in Him and [becoming increasingly more] established in your faith, just as you were taught, and overflowing in it with gratitude. (Colossians 2:6,7 – AMP)

O – I just had to include the previous verse in this passage, as it really states the full reason for thanksgiving.  It’s a verse that I had children memorize in my second grade classroom – that showed the importance of Christ as LORD, as well as Savior.  So many times we emphasize that we need Jesus as Savior, but we need to learn to grow to have Jesus be the LORD of our lives as well.  That comes with time, and discipleship, and the Holy Spirit working within us.

That being said, when Jesus is Lord of our lives, we can “walk in him.”   I read yesterday, in my study of El Shaddai, (Genesis 17:1 – When Abram was ninety-nine years old the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless,” ) that walking was not a one time thing…. “The Hebrew verb is a reflexive command – You yourself walk. Note that walk here is not taking one step after another, but is used in a more figurative sense to picture one’s behavior or daily conduct.  Before Me is more literally before My face (see paniym = face). The idea is that all of our steps are ever before the face of God. This same picture is conveyed by the well known Latin phrase Coram Deo = Before the face of God. “  (preceptaustin)

When we “walk with Him” in our daily lives, with Jesus as Lord, it “roots” us and strengthens us, builds us up.  From the inside out.  Strong.  Rooted.  Becoming “established in our faith.”   As we were taught – by the Word, the teaching of the Word, the examples of those around us.  And all this leads to an OVERFLOWING of GRATITUDE.  It’s like the natural occurrence of fruit on a healthy tree.  When a tree is rooted and grounded, and fed, it bursts forth with fruit.  An abundance.

A – Am I “overflowing with gratitude?”  Do I live a life of thankfulness?  As I read this passage, and listened to this song, “My Heart is Filled with Thankfulness,” my eyes welled with tears.  It is not the physical abundance, the relationships in my life, the joy that I now have in being married and serving with Paul – although those are huge blessings.  It is what Christ has done for me, in me, and continues to work in me.  I can’t begin to explain those feelings of gratitude, of thankfulness.  But this song states it so beautifully.

P – Thank You Father.  Thank You.  May my life reflect Your love and what You have done.  My heart is overflowing with thankfulness today.  You are God – may I be rooted and established in You – walking with You.  Amen.

My Heart is Filled with Thankfulness – (Getty) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ZePBY7RTyE

“My heart is filled with thankfulness
To Him who bore my pain;
Who plumbed the depths of my disgrace
And gave me life again;
Who crushed my curse of sinfulness
And clothed me in His light
And wrote His law of righteousness
With pow’r upon my heart.

My heart is filled with thankfulness
To Him who walks beside;
Who floods my weaknesses with strength
And causes fears to fly;
Whose ev’ry promise is enough
For ev’ry step I take,
Sustaining me with arms of love
And crowning me with grace.

My heart is filled with thankfulness
To him who reigns above,
Whose wisdom is my perfect peace,
Whose ev’ry thought is love.
For ev’ry day I have on earth
Is given by the King;
So I will give my life, my all,
To love and follow him.”

Leave a Reply

