Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Grace and Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 3 – Wednesday – Grace and Thanksgiving –wk2d3

Read II Corinthians 4:15-16 SOAP v. 15

2 Corinthians 4:15-16 (ESV)
15 For it is all for your sake, so that as grace extends to more and more people it may increase thanksgiving, to the glory of God. 16 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

O – A life of grace….. Going back to earlier in this chapter, I found that Paul is talking about God’s sufficiency (v. 7) despite trials and tribulations (v. 8-10). But we hold this priceless treasure inside us – so that God’s greatness and power will be shown, not our own. (v. 7). So, even though our earthly bodies maybe fading, getting older, and dying a little day by day, God’s spiritual life inside us is “actively at work” within us! (v. 12 – AMP) Knowing this, and that the God who raised Jesus will also raise us AND present us to Himself – we can know that God’s “remarkable, undeserved grace” will reach more and more people – to increase thanksgiving – and glorify God! (v. 15). SO – we are not discouraged, because even though our earthly bodies are getting older and more frail, our inner self is “being progressively renewed” day by day! (v. 16).

(For all [these] things are for your sake, so that as [God’s remarkable, undeserved] grace reaches to more and more people it may increase thanksgiving, to the glory of [our great] God. 16 Therefore we do not become discouraged [spiritless, disappointed, or afraid]. Though our outer self is [progressively] wasting away, yet our inner self is being [progressively] renewed day by day. ( II Cor. 4:15-16, AMP)

A – It was interesting to note the thoughts that ran through my mind as I worked my way back through this chapter and noticed (twice) that our bodies are “wasting away” or getting frail, our inner lives CAN BE progressively renewed, with spiritual life “actively at work” within us! Thinking about this, I can say that as I have gotten older, my spiritual life has matured as well. There’s a different perspective. I think differently. I reflect differently – and apply Scripture more personally and practically.

But, do I extend grace? Do I actively reach others with His grace – so that they, too, can know Him? Does my life cause others to give thanks? Not that my life is perfect. Not that I am always an example of grace, as I know that I am not. But – do I extend that grace to others? Do I live a life worth looking to – for examples of His grace at work? Do I respond with grace? Do I encourage others?

I know that, in my life, now, married and living away from my “comfort zone” where I lived for so many years, I am holding things much more lightly. I am more flexible. I am able to give of time, and energy to things beyond my own little life. I am blessed to have the time to volunteer, lead a Bible study, meet with other women, create a home that can bless others – but today I realize that I need to do this all with grace, from a thankful heart. I need to “work” each day – in HIS strength, not my own. It is ensuring that I rely on HIM for my strength – and then give Him the thanksgiving and the glory. After call, it is not mine to begin with! Oh, that today, my inner life would be renewed, and that my outer life reflects just that!

P – Father God – You renew me, day by day. You live within me, giving me the strength, and the wisdom, and the knowledge to live a life worthy of You. Today, I thank You for Your work in me. Thank You for saving me, for preparing me for an eternity with You. Father, may my life today, and always, reflect what You have done for me, and within me. Forgive me for those times that I work in my own strength. Remind me that all that I do comes from You – and that You deserve the honor and the glory. Amen.

This is How We Know – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K67jH43tpjo
This is how we know
This is how we know what love is
Just one look at Your cross

And this is where we see
This is where we see how love works
For You surrendered Your all

And this is how we know
That You have loved us first
This is where we chose
To love You in return

For You so loved the world
That You gave Your only Son
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in return

For this life that You give
For this death that You have died
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in reply, Lord

This is how we know
This is how we know what love is
Just one look at Your cross

And this is where we see
This is where we see how love works
For You surrendered Your all

And this is how we know
That You have loved us first
This is where we chose
To love You in return

For You so loved the world
That You gave Your only Son
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in return

For this life that You give
For this death that You have died
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in reply, Lord

Our love will be loud
Our love will be strong
Our love shall be hands and feet
That serve You in this world

So let us stay true
And let it endure
That You will be glorified
And worshiped and adored

For You so loved the world
That You gave Your only Son
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in return

For this life that You give
For this death that You have died
Love amazing, so divine
We will love You in reply, Lord

Savior of the world
King Jesus we love You
For we have been loved

Leave a Reply

