Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Thanksgiving and Song

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 2 – Tuesday – Thanksgiving and Song  wk2d2

Read Colossians 3:15-17  SOAP v. 16-17

Colossians 3:15-17English Standard Version (ESV)

15 And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

O – Paul’s instructions for the Colossians were to live life “from the inside out.”  For the peace of Christ to rule IN YOURHEARTS, for the Word of Christ to DWELL IN YOU richly, with thankfulness IN YOUR HEARTS.  This inward living of Christ brings the outward life in line – to be able to teach and admonish each other, to sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, and to DO EVERYTHING in the name of the Lord.  THEN the THANKFULNESS comes!  There’s nothing here about “stuff” or comfort or MY needs….  It’s directed towards God, and towards others!

A – Thanksgiving and Song….  This resonates in my heart!   I am learning that if my heart isn’t in the right place, then my life and actions don’t line up as well.  I am learning that my times of study and reflection are important to my inner life.  Writing (well, typing) my thoughts helps.  It is also what I put in my heart that affects what I do on the outside.  What I listen to affects who I am.  But, I also find that creating music and praise also brings my heart to the right place.  Whether pounding on the keys, or gently caressing them, I find a release and an outlet for praise, or even for grief.  But, when I am done, it results in an attitude of thankfulness that I carry with me.

Today’s passage also states that WHATEVER I do, in word or deed, to do EVERYTHING in His name, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.  WHATEVER.  What I speak.  What I do.  EVERYTHING.  Does everything in my life reflect His love?  Do I do what I do in an attitude of thanksgiving?  Not always, I’m afraid.  But I’m working on it.  My heart is in a better place now.  My attitudes are in a better place.  I’m recognizing when I need to adjust – or confess.  THAT is a reason to give thanks!  Oh, may Christ dwell in me richly today!

P – Father God, thank You for this reminder – to ensure that my heart is in the right place.  May Your peace rule in my heart today.  May I be thankful.  May Christ’s word dwell richly in me today.  Oh, how I love how that sounds.  May I have thankfulness in my heart – all day long.  Father, I desire that my inner life be pure and acceptable to You.  Work within me – with Your peace, Your Word, Your love.  And, may what I do and say today – be pleasing to You – full of thanksgiving.  Amen.

For These Reasons (Lincoln Brewster) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KszpMwc9CDw

For Your endless love (For Your endless love)
For the life You gave (For the life You gave)
For the second chance (For the second chance)
For Your priceless grace (For Your priceless grace)
For Your healing hands (For Your healing hands)
For the gift of peace (For the gift of peace)
For the blessed hope (For the blessed hope)
For the faith to believe (For the faith to believe)

Chorus:
For these reasons I praise You
For these reasons I worship You

For these reasons I live to tell
of Your love to all the world

For these reasons I live to tell
of Your love to all the world

Leave a Reply

