Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Thanksgiving and Prayer

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1 – Monday – Thanksgiving and Prayer wk2d1

Read Colossians 1:3-5   SOAP v. 3

Colossians 1:3-5 (ESV) – We always thank God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, when we pray for you, since we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of the love that you have for all the saints,because of the hope laid up for you in heaven. Of this you have heard before in the word of the truth, the gospel,

O – We ALWAYS thank God when we pray for you…..   ALWAYS.  Two things today:

  • Always give thanks. When we pray for others.  When we pray.    ALWAYS give thanks – to whom thanks is due.
  • Give thanks for what in others? (This verse states “when we pray for you…”)  For their faith in Jesus Christ, for their love for all the other believers, because of the hope that is laid up for us in heaven.

I love how this is stated in the Amplified Version: “We give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, as we pray always for you, for we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus [how you lean on Him with absolute confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness], and of the [unselfish] love which you have for all the saints (God’s people); because of the [confident] hope [of experiencing that] which is reserved and waiting for you in heaven. You previously heard of this hope in the message of truth, the gospel [regarding salvation]” (Col. 1:3 -5 I AMP)

A –  Are MY prayers full of thanksgiving?  For others, for what Christ has done, for eternal life?  Or, do I give my prayer “list” to the Father?  Even in my prayer, do I ask for myself – wanting Him to work in my life, but not thank Him for what He has ALREADY done?  Is my faith “leaning on Him with absolute confidence in is power, wisdom, and goodness?”  Is my love “unselfish” for others in His kingdom?  Is my hope “confident hope of experiencing in what is reserved and waiting for me in heaven?”

Is my attitude one of gratitude?  Especially in my prayer life?  May my life today reflect thanksgiving, and demonstrate it in my response to His work in my life.

P – Thank You, Father, for Your love for me.  Thank You for saving me, and giving me eternal life – and the hope, the realized expectation that it awaits me in heaven.  Today, I recognize my sinful state without You – and thank You for saving me.  You ARE great.  You ARE holy.  You ARE God.  And I praise You today for being God.  Help me to live my life, reflecting that today.  Amen.

Thank You for Saving Me – (Delirious?) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m95Z3l_c1Ts

Thank you for saving me, what can I say?
You are my everything, I will sing your praise.
You shed your blood for me, what can I say?
You took my sin and shame,
A sinner called by name.

Great is the Lord,
Great is the Lord,
For we know your truth has set us free,
You’ve set your hope in me.

Mercy and grace are mine, forgiven is my sin,
Jesus my only hope, the Saviour of the world.
“Great is the Lord” we cry,
God let your kingdom come,
Your word has let me see,
Thank you for saving me!

Leave a Reply

