Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks – Thanking and Proclaiming

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 3 – Wednesday – Thanking and Proclaiming   Read Isaiah 12:4 – 5    SOAP v 4

Read Isaiah 12:4 – 5    SOAP v 4wk1d3

Isaiah 12:4-5English Standard Version (ESV)

And you will say in that day:

“Give thanks to the Lord,
call upon his name,
make known his deeds among the peoples,
proclaim that his name is exalted.

“Sing praises to the Lord, for he has done gloriously;
let this be made known in all the earth.

O – And I will say, today….. “I give thanks to the Lord and call upon His name.  I will make known His deeds among the people.  I will proclaim that His name is exalted.”  This does not mention circumstance or emotions.  It just states to give thanks and proclaim Him.  Not mine.  Not my opinions.  Not complaining, but proclaiming.

A – Today, I proclaim that God is good.  I proclaim that God is God.  I am not.  I proclaim that He is King of Kings, Lord of lords, and God of gods.  I proclaim that He has done great things.   I proclaim that He is in charge.  Not me.  Not even the president-elect, or the president sitting in the Oval Office now.  Yesterday, at our women’s Bible study, we were talking about El Elyon, God Most High.  I was struck by the timing of this particular name, on that particular day.  Not planned by me, as it just happened to be next in order of appearance in the Bible!  But, the part of Daniel really resonated with me.  In Daniel 2:20-23, Daniel prays to God in regards to answering the King regarding his edict to execute all the wise men in Babylon, as they couldn’t interpret his dream….

“Daniel answered and said:

“Blessed be the name of God forever and ever,
to whom belong wisdom and might.
21 He changes times and seasons;
he removes kings and sets up kings;
he gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to those who have understanding;
22 he reveals deep and hidden things;
he knows what is in the darkness,
and the light dwells with him.
23 To you, O God of my fathers,
I give thanks and praise,
for you have given me wisdom and might,
and have now made known to me what we asked of you,
for you have made known to us the king’s matter.”  (Daniel 2:20-23 – ESV)

 

Daniel recognized God as GOD, as all-powerful God.  His power and influence was OVER even the natural seasons and times – and extended to powerful figures as kings.  He gives wisdom and knowledge.  Daniel was in a desperate situation, besides being a captive of Babylon.  Yet – he recognized God’s power and ability to work – even within desperate situations!

 

What was Nebuchadnezzar’s response?

“King Nebuchadnezzar to all peoples, nations, and languages,  that dwell in all the earth: Peace be multiplied to you! It has seemed good to me to show the signs and wonders that the Most High God has done for me.

How great are his signs,
how mighty his wonders!
His kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,
and his dominion endures from generation to generation. “(Daniel 4:1 – 3, ESV)

 

34 At the end of the days I, Nebuchadnezzar, lifted my eyes to heaven, and my reason returned to me, and I blessed the Most High, and praised and honored him who lives forever,

for his dominion is an everlasting dominion,
and his kingdom endures from generation to generation;
35 all the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing,
and he does according to his will among the host of heaven
and among the inhabitants of the earth;
and none can stay his hand
or say to him, “What have you done?”  (Daniel 4:34-36 – ESV)

Nebuchadnezzar’s response was to proclaim, praise and honor the God Most High!  A king, holding captive so many Israelites, is proclaiming that God is God.  He is proclaiming that God is God Most High!  Why?  Because Daniel lived out his life and his faith before him.  Daniel proclaimed that God was God, but he also LIVED in that knowledge, proclaiming as he lived even in desperate situations.  How can I not do the same?

On this day, November 9, 2016, I proclaim that God is God.  That God is God Most High.  That God rules.  That what God intends will happen. That God will do what He wills.  That no one can hold back His hand.  That God knows best.  That God rules from His throne, yesterday, today, and forever.  Whatever direction this country goes, God is still on the throne.  And He rules in my heart today.

May I, today, act in love and grace.  May I not be one that bashes, but that encourages.  May I not be negative, but promote peace.  May I not be “political” but loving.  May my speech be sprinkled with grace today.  May my actions be governed with love.  May my spirit be flooded with peace.

 

P –  Father God, God Most High, You are on Your throne today, the same as yesterday, and the same as tomorrow.  Father, I give You the glory as You only deserve.  You are King of kings and Lord of lords.  You are …. God.  Today, with our country in turmoil and division, restore and establish peace and trust in You.  Not trust in politicians or speeches, but trust in You, God, and in Your Word.  Father, make me an instrument of Your peace today.

Make me an Instrument of Your Peace – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-PevXJa7WhM

Make me a channel of your peace.
Where there is hatred let me bring your love.
Where there is injury, your pardon, Lord
And where there’s doubt, true faith in you.

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there’s despair in life, let me bring hope
Where there is darkness, only light
And where there’s sadness, ever joy.

Oh, Master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love with all my soul.

Make me a channel of your peace
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned
In giving to all men that we receive
And in dying that we’re born to eternal life.

Oh, Master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love with all my soul.

Make me a channel of your peace
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned
In giving to all men that we receive
And in dying that we’re born to eternal life.

 

For the Beauty of the Earth (John Rutter) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaMkj4_H8WM

For the beauty of the earth,
For the beauty of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies:

Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

For the beauty of each hour
Of the day and of the night,
Hill and vale and tree and flower,
Sun and moon and stars of light:

Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

For the joy of human love,
Brother, sister, parent, child,
Friends on earth, and friends above,
For all gentle thoughts and mild:

Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

For each perfect gift of thine
To our race so freely given,
Graces human and divine,
Flowers of earth and buds of heav’n.

Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

Leave a Reply

