Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2- Tuesday – Remembering and Being Thankful –

Read Deut. 8:1 – 10 SOAP v 10wk1d2

Deuteronomy 8:1-10English Standard Version (ESV)
8 “The whole commandment that I command you today you shall be careful to do, that you may live and multiply, and go in and possess the land that the Lord swore to give to your fathers. 2 And you shall remember the whole way that the Lord your God has led you these forty years in the wilderness, that he might humble you, testing you to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep his commandments or not. 3 And he humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that he might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord. 4 Your clothing did not wear out on you and your foot did not swell these forty years.5 Know then in your heart that, as a man disciplines his son, the Lord your God disciplines you.6 So you shall keep the commandments of the Lord your God by walking in his ways and by fearing him. 7 For the Lord your God is bringing you into a good land, a land of brooks of water, of fountains and springs, flowing out in the valleys and hills, 8 a land of wheat and barley, of vines and fig trees and pomegranates, a land of olive trees and honey,9 a land in which you will eat bread without scarcity, in which you will lack nothing, a land whose stones are iron, and out of whose hills you can dig copper. 10 And you shall eat and be full, and you shall bless the Lord your God for the good land he has given you.

O – To Remember. To NOT forget. What has God done?
• He led in the wilderness – to humble and test our hearts – to see if we would follow His commands or not (v. 2)
• He humbled – let us hunger but then fed us, so we would learn to depend on Him – not just for bread – but what comes from His mouth, His words (v. 3)
• He provided clothing and health (v. 4)
• He disciplines as a father disciplines his son – to prepare for adulthood (so that we keep His commands, walk in His ways and fear Him) (v. 5,6)
• He brings us into a land where we can flourish (land, food, prosperity, resources)
• What is the end result of God’s provision? We will be satisfied, AND BLESS the Lord for what He has given

A – God led – even in the wilderness. This passage is part of what was part of Moses’ instructions to the Israelites, perhaps even in the giving of the Ten Commandments in Deuteronomy 5. It is giving reasoning to follow God’s commands – to live in His ways. While I imagine that the Israelites were wondering “WHY?” while wandering in the desert, I see here that God did this SO THAT He could humble and test them – to see if they would follow Him despite circumstances. The 15 months that I was unemployed after our school closed, I felt like I was desert wandering, too. Application after application to school districts (over 100 of them), and being told that I was either over-qualified, or didn’t have the “right kind of experience.” Yes, that humbled me – and taught me to depend on Him for daily sustenance. Yet – He provided. My mortgage was paid. I had food to eat. I learned that HE would provide for my needs. I received training in computer software. I updated my resume. I took classes. I was able to help care for my mom through two knee replacement surgeries. One way that God provided was through the receiving of child support. (Now – I chuckle at God’s provision AND humor – I was receiving child support for a child that was married, and no longer living at home. BUT – that child support that wasn’t paid during her childhood helped to support me through this time! And – it stopped just after I finally started working full time! THAT is God’s timing and provision!) God provided teaching for me – a learning to “WAIT” on Him. This type A, always busy woman learned to slow down, to spend time in the word in a new way, and was able to learn more of His ways while “actively waiting.” And – finally – God provided a job subbing in the district that I lived in. I did daily subbing for three months, and then obtained two long term positions that lasted until the end of the school year. They stretched me, gave me a renewed love of teaching, and introduced me to the many elementary schools of my district. On August 28, 2012, the day my grandson was born, I also received a call from the principal who asked me to take a long term position in a fourth grade classroom in my neighborhood! That position turned into a full time position, and I was able to stay there until I married Paul and moved to Indiana. God provides! His preparation during that wandering desert time turned into a time of flourishing – now here in Indiana.

Even when I have questioned the “flourishing”, God been faithful and has shown me some of what He has for me here – leading a Bible study for women, meeting with two younger women from church regularly, volunteering at Overseas Council, playing keyboard at church once a month, meeting people from my neighborhood, keeping in touch with family, and creating a healthy lifestyle and eating for Paul and I. And the result? I am SATISFIED – and I BLESS the Lord for what He has done and for what He has given me.

P – Father God, Almighty God, Faithful Father, thank You for ALL that You have blessed me with. I rest in Your faithfulness today. You are faithful. Thank You for the reminder of what You have provided. You led me through the desert of waiting, and provided all my needs during that time. You prepared me for this time, this life, in Indiana. Thank You for showing me ways that You can use me, here. Help me to keep my eyes open, my ears open, to the needs around me. Make my life a song of praise to You – pointing others to Your love and provision and saving power. I thank You and praise Your name for Your wondrous deeds and Your love for me today.

10,00 Reasons (Bless the Lord O My Soul) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXDGE_lRI0E…

Bless the Lord oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His Holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship Your Holy name

The sun comes up
It’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass
And whatever lies before me
Let me be singing
When the evening comes

Bless the Lord oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His Holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship Your Holy name

You’re rich in love
And You’re slow to anger
Your name is great
And Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness
I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons
For my heart to find

Bless the Lord oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His Holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship Your Holy name
Bless You Lord

And on that day
When my strength is failing
The end draws near
And my time has come
Still my soul will
Sing Your praise unending
Ten thousand years
And then forevermore
Forevermore

Bless the Lord oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His Holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship Your Holy name

Bless the Lord oh my soul
Oh my soul
Worship His Holy name
Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship Your Holy name
I’ll worship Your Holy name
Jesus I will worship Your Holy name

Sing like never before
Oh my soul
I’ll worship your holy name

Leave a Reply

