Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

In Everything Give Thanks

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 1 – Monday – Give Thanks

Read Psalm 107:1 – 32   SOAP v 1

Psalm 107:1-32English Standard Version (ESV)wk1d1

107 Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever!
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so,
whom he has redeemed from trouble

Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love,
for his wondrous works to the children of man!

15 Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love,
for his wondrous works to the children of man!

21 Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love,
for his wondrous works to the children of man!
.
31 Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love,
for his wondrous works to the children of man!

43 Whoever is wise, let him attend to these things;
    let them consider the steadfast love of the Lord.

 

O – God’s “steadfast love” is mentioned six times in this psalm.  We are told that His steadfast love “endures forever,” to “thank God” for His steadfast love (four times), and to “consider” the steadfast love of the LORD.  Why?  He is good. (v. 1)  He has done “wondrous works to the children of man. (v. 7,  14, 21, 31) Whoever is wise – “attend to these things.” (v. 43)

For today – GIVE THANKS to the LORD (Jehovah), for He is good.  For who He is.  Not just for what He has done.  Because His steadfast love endures forever.

Definition of Steadfast – fixed in direction; steadily directed: a steadfast gaze; firm in purpose, resolution, faith, attachment, etc., as a person: a steadfast friend; unwavering, as resolution, faith, adherence, etc; firmly established, as an institution or a state of affairs; firmly fixed in place or position.

A – What a blessing to have the “steadfast love” of the LORD!  When I look at the definition of this word, steadfast, I see the pattern of God’s love – for me.  It is fixed.  It will NOT CHANGE.  It is firm in purpose.  It is a promise, a covenant – to love forever, whatever.  It is unwavering.  It will not change with time or what I do.  It is constant, steady, abiding.  Firmly fixed.   Oh, what a blessing it is to be loved – despite who I am, what I do, or what I think.  He is there.  He loves me.  He loves me!   His steadfast love endures – forever!

P – Great, mighty, powerful God – it is incredible to know, to realize, to reaffirm – that You love me.  That Your love is steadfast.  Father, I thank You for Your love – the greatest gift that I could have.  Your love for me is steadfast, immovable, fixed.  It doesn’t depend on what I do, or what I could do to earn it.  You JUST love me.  Thank You for Your enduring promise, Your covenant to love me.  As a token of my thanksgiving, I give my love to You.  Help me to love others with Your love.  Amen.

Forever – (Chris Tomlin) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjrAeWCOg6Q

Give thanks to the Lord our God and King,
His love endures forever.
For He is good He is above all things,
His love endures forever.
Sing Praise, Sing Praise.

With a mighty hand and outstretched arm,
His love endures forever.
For the life that’s been reborn,
His love endure forever.
Sing Praise, Sing Praise.

Forever God is faithful,
Forever God is strong.
Forever God is with us,
Forever

From the rising to the setting sun,
His love endures forever.
And by the grace of God we will carry on,
His love endures forever.
Sing Praise, Sing Praise

Forever You are faithful,
Forever You are strong.
Forever You are with us,
Forever and ever, forever.

His love endures forever,
His love endures forever,
His love endures forever.

 

Leave a Reply

