Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Result of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 5 – Friday, September 23, 2016

Read  1 JOHN 5:1-4 (ESV)   SOAP v 4wk4d5

5 Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been born of God, and everyone who loves the Father loves whoever has been born of him. 2 By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and obey his commandments. 3 For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. 4 For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.

O – The words “born of God” are mentioned three times in this passage (v. 1, 4).  What is the importance of being “born of God?”  The Amplified Version explains this further: “ born of God [that is, reborn from above—spiritually transformed, renewed, and set apart for His purpose],”

  • everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been “born of God”
  • everyone who loves the Father loves whoever has been “born of Him”
  • everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world

Using a little logic, I can see that those who believe in Jesus is Christ, and love the Father will also overcome the world.  Also, part of loving the Father includes obeying His commandments (which are not burdensome!).  (v. 3)  And, when we do this, we can overcome the world!  The victory is our faith!

A – After all the reading of this week, I see the “world” as all that that interferes with our relationship with God, those “idols” that we make more important than Him, and the influence of our culture around us.  I have dwelled on “don’t let the world squeeze you into its mold.” (Hebrews 12:2 – Phillips)   If I let the world mold me, instead of Christ, then I am not victorious.  But, it is a day by day mindset – to allow Him to work through me.  While Christ’s death and victory is “once and for all” – it is my daily battle to allow Him to work in me.  It is little decisions, each day.  But, this passage also mentions “continuing, persistent faith” (AMP – v. 4).  The battle is not over until it is over!  But – the victory has already been won – by Christ on the cross.  It is my daily battle to allow Him to reign in me.  It is the blood of Jesus – that helps me to win that battle, day by day.  His blood, his shed blood frees me from the burden of sin, gives me victory over evil, frees me from passion and pride, cleanses me from sin, and gives me strength to serve Him.  Yes – there is “power in the blood!”  And – FAITH is the VICTORY!

P – Father God, thank You for the victory that I have in You.  In You, the victory has been won!  Help me, now, to win those daily battles in the decisions that I make.  Father, I want You on the throne of my life, ruling and giving me strength to overcome sin.  Help me to have that continuing, persistent faith – faith that does not give up or slack.  I want to practice godliness and to keep Your commandments and remain focused on Your precepts.  Only in Your power can I do this.  I know that in Your Word, You have said that You will be with me, You will never forsake me, and that when I am born of You, I am victorious and will overcome the world.  I claim that today!

There is Power in the Blood –https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFbQq7eBMFQ

Would you be free from the burden of sin?
There’s pow’r in the blood, pow’r in the blood;
Would you o’er evil a victory win?
There’s wonderful pow’r in the blood.

Refrain:
There is pow’r, pow’r, wonder-working pow’r
In the blood of the Lamb;
There is pow’r, pow’r, wonder-working pow’r
In the precious blood of the Lamb.

Would you be free from your passion and pride?
There’s pow’r in the blood, pow’r in the blood;
Come for a cleansing to Calvary’s tide;
There’s wonderful pow’r in the blood.

Would you be whiter, much whiter than snow?
There’s pow’r in the blood, pow’r in the blood;
Sin-stains are lost in its life-giving flow;
There’s wonderful pow’r in the blood.

Would you do service for Jesus your King?
There’s pow’r in the blood, pow’r in the blood;
Would you live daily His praises to sing?
There’s wonderful pow’r in the blood.

Leave a Reply

