Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Result of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day Three – Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Read  ROMANS 6:1-10 (ESV)  SOAP v. 6wk4d3

6 What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? 2 By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it? 3 Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? 4 We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life. 5 For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. 6 We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. 7 For one who has died has been set free from sin. 8 Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. 9 We know that Christ, being raised from the dead, will never die again; death no longer has dominion over him. 10 For the death he died he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God.

O – Even though we are believers, we still struggle with sin.  We understand that we are saved by grace.  BUT – does that give us license to sin, and sin, and sin, knowing that we’ll be forgiven?  This is the question that Paul is answering here.  “Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound?” (v. 6)  BY NO MEANS!  If we have died to sin, how can we still live in it?  The Amplified Version says, “Should we continue in sin AND practice sin as a habit so that [God’s gift of] grace may increase AND overflow?  Certainly not!”  What happened when we believed in Him and trusted Him as Savior and Lord?

  • We’ve been baptized into Christ – into His death
  • We were buried with him by Baptist into death – IN ORDER THAT we can walk in newness of life. (may walk habitually in newness of life [abandoning our old ways] – AMP)
  • We have been united in death (baptism) and WILL be united with him in resurrection.
  • Our old self was crucified with him IN ORDER THAT our body of sin be brought to nothing SO THAT we would no longer be enslaved to sin
  • NOW – if we have died with Christ, we will also live with Him.
  • Christ will NEVER die again – death has NO POWER over Him
  • The death that Christ died, he died to sin – ONCE FOR ALL, BUT the life he lives, he lives to God – “[ending its power and paying the sinner’s debt] once and for all” (AMP)

“We know that our old self [our human nature without the Holy Spirit] was nailed to the cross with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin.”  (v. 6 – AMP)

A – What do I take away from today?  What is the result of forgiveness?  First of all, sin no longer has power over me.  My sin nature has been crucified with Christ SO THAT I would no longer be a slave to sin.  So – I need to live that way! It is a decision.  But I can make that, knowing that if (or more likely, when) I sin, God’s grace abounds.  It is NOT license to sin, but my sin is readily forgiven.  But, my heart has to be changed, so that I no longer WANT to sin!  That is Christ’s power, living in me.  That’s no longer being a slave to sin.  It is realizing that I no longer PRACTICE sin, habitually, continually, routinely sin.  Without thinking about it.  The Holy Spirit was given to me, to convict me, to prompt me, to lead me – out of sin.

P – Father God, thank You for Your forgiveness.  You have placed me in a place of freedom from guilt, freedom from sin, freedom from being enslaved.  You have crucified my sin nature to the cross with Christ.  Keep it there, Lord.  Help me to live in the power of the resurrection, the power to resist sin, the power to live a life that is pleasing to You.  Thank You for removing the sin, and the guilt, of my past.  I am Your Child.  I am forgiven.  Today, I live in the power of Christ’s resurrection, preparing for the day that I, too, am resurrected, to live with Him.  Amen.

Hello, My Name Is – (Matthew West) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuJWQzjfU3o

“Hello, My Name Is”
Hello, my name is regret
I’m pretty sure we have met
Every single day of your life
I’m the whisper inside
That won’t let you forget

Hello, my name is defeat
I know you recognize me
Just when you think you can win
I’ll drag you right back down again
‘Til you’ve lost all belief

Oh, these are the voices. Oh, these are the lies
And I have believed them for the very last time

Hello, my name is child of the one true King
I’ve been saved, I’ve been changed, I have been set free
“Amazing Grace” is the song I sing
Hello, my name is child of the one true King

I am no longer defined
By all the wreckage behind
The one who makes all things new
Has proven it’s true
Just take a look at my life

Hello, my name is child of the one true King
I’ve been saved, I’ve been changed, I have been set free
“Amazing Grace” is the song I sing
Hello, my name is child of the one true King

What love the Father has lavished upon us that we should be called His children
I am a child of the one true King

What love the Father has lavished upon us that we should be called His children

Hello, my name is child of the one true King
I’ve been saved, I’ve been changed, I have been set free
“Amazing Grace” is the song I sing
Hello, my name is child of the one true King

I am a child of the one true King

Leave a Reply

