Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Depth of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 5.   Friday, September 16, 2016.

Read ISAIAH 38:17-19 (ESV)   SOAP v. 17wk3d5

17 Behold, it was for my welfare that I had great bitterness; but in love you have delivered my life from the pit of destruction, for you have cast all my sins behind your back. 18 For Sheol does not thank you; death does not praise you; those who go down to the pit do not hope for your faithfulness. 19 The living, the living, he thanks you, as I do this day; the father makes known to the children your faithfulness.

O – Whoa…. What an interesting story!  After reading the blog today, I went back and read the whole chapter of Isaiah 38.   Hezekiah was ill, and God sent Isaiah the prophet to him, telling him to “set his house in order, as you will die…”   Hezekiah pleaded with the Lord, and asked Him to remember his faithfulness, his whole heart, and had done what is good in God’s sight.  God listened and granted fifteen more years to his life.  And he was.  This particular passage is what he wrote after recovering from his illness.

Hezekiah tells of his despair in realizing that he would be dying:  “in the middle of my days I must depart… I will not see the LORD in the land of the living.” (v. 10,11)    “Restore me to health and make me live….  But in love you have delivered my life from the pit of destruction, for you have cast all my sins behind your back.”  (v. 16,17)  “The living, the living, he thanks you as I do this day;  the father makes known to the children Your faithfulness.  The LORD will save me, and we will play my music on stringed instruments all the days of our lives at the house of the LORD.”  (v. 19-20)

A – What do I take away from this?

  • God answers prayer! If Hezekiah had not pleaded with God, would God have extended his life?  “Thus says the Lord, the God of David your father: I have heard your prayer. “ (v. 5)  Maybe not. BUT – I do know that God heard Hezekiah and answered his prayer.
  • God takes my sins and “cast them behind Your back.” (v. 17)  He cannot stand to look at sin – so it is behind Him.  He doesn’t take it out in front and drag it out for me to see…. He casts it away.   It was because of His love for me.
  • Hezekiah’s response should be MY response. “It is the living who give praise and thanks to You, as I do today.  A father tells his sons about Your faithfulness.”  (v. 19 – AMP) This praise is two-faceted:  directed towards God – and retelling it to the next generation.  Do I do this?  Praise God for His answers – AND tell the next generation the stories of faithfulness?

P – Father God – thank You for removing my sin.  You have cast it as far as the east is from the west and behind Your back, so it is not dragged out in front of me again.  You do not remind me of Your sin; You remind me of Your faithfulness!  Thank You for Your faithfulness towards me.  I praise You for Your power over sin – breaking the power over me.  Father, that is amazing grace at work.  I pray for opportunities to tell of Your faithfulness to those around me – to the next generation of children, and women, and families that are seeking meaning and fulfillment in today’s society.  May my life be an example of Your love, Your forgiveness, Your grace – at work in me.

This Is Amazing Grace – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFRjr_x-yxU

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness
Whose love is mighty and so much stronger
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder
And leaves us breathless in awe and wonder
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Oh, Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

Who brings our chaos back into order
Who makes the orphan a son and daughter
The King of Glory, the King of Glory

Who rules the nations with truth and justice
Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Oh, Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy, worthy, worthy
Oh

This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Oh, Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

#YouAre Forgiven   #LoveGodGreatly

Leave a Reply

