Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Depth of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 3.  Tuesday, September 13, 2016.

Read  MICAH 7:18-19 (ESV)   SOAP v. 19wk3d2

18 Who is a God like you, pardoning iniquity  and passing over transgression    for the remnant of his inheritance? He does not retain his anger forever,    because he delights in steadfast love. 19 He will again have compassion on us;   he will tread our iniquities underfoot. You will cast all our sins    into the depths of the sea.

O – It was interesting to note that Micah’s name means “Who is like the Lord?” (NIV Study Bible).  He then asks, “Who is a God like You?”  There is NO God like God!  What does He do?

  • Pardons iniquity
  • Passes over transgression
  • Does not retain His anger forever
  • Delights in steadfast love (to us!)
  • Will AGAIN have compassion (mercy) on us
  • He will trample our iniquities (sins) underfood
  • He will cast all our sins into the depths of the sea

NIV Study Bible note on Isaiah 38:17   –    “God not only puts our sins out of sight; he also put them out of reach (Ps. 103:12) out of mind (Jer. 31:34), and out of existence (Is. 43:25, 44:22; Ps. 51:1,9; Jer. 50:20, Acts 3:19).”

  • Isaiah 38:17 – ( ESV) – Behold, it was for my welfare that I had great bitterness; but in love you have delivered my life from the pit of destruction, for you have cast all my sins behind your back.
  • Psalm 103:12 (ESV) – as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.
  • Jeremiah 31:34 (ESV) – And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the Lord. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”
  • Isaiah 43:25 (ESV) – “I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins.
  • Isaiah 44:22 (ESV) – I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud  and your sins like mist; return to me, for I have redeemed you.
  • Psalm 51;1,9 (ESV) – Have mercy on me, O God, according to your steadfast love; according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions. Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities.
  • Jeremiah 50:20 (ESV) – In those days and in that time, declares the Lord, iniquity shall be sought in Israel, and there shall be none, and sin in Judah, and none shall be found, for I will pardon those whom I leave as a remnant.
  • Acts 3:19(ESV) – Repent therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out,

NIV Study Bible note on Micah 7:18-19 – “When God takes away sin’s guilt so that it does not condemn us (v. 18), he also takes away its power so that it does not rule over us (see Ps. 19:13, Rom. 6:14). “

  • Psalm 19:13 (ESV) – Keep back your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me!  Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression.
  • Romans 6:14 (ESV) – For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace.

A – Oh, what blessings abound when we confess our sin and allow God to remove it.  Not only does He remove our sin, but He removes the POWER and bondage of sin in our lives!  He leaves us blameless and with sin not having “dominion” (power) over us!  We are “not under law but under grace!”  What blessings!

But – it is ONLY GOD who can do this!  No other god, no other power, not even my own strength or will can remove my sin.  Only God!

God removes our sin, remembers it no more, and tosses it away, so that even He does not look at it.  He does not hold my sin against me.  He won’t call it to mind and say, “Karen, do you remember when you did……..?”   NO – He remembers it NO MORE!!  (Jeremiah 31:34)  HE won’t even look at it – it is “behind my back.”  (Isaiah 38:17)

So – why do we call it to mind?  Why do we revisit it, or wallow in guilt?  I remember that it was a difficult move to live in complete forgiveness.  I was the one who kept remembering.  I was the one who said, “Karen, do you remember when you did…..?”  It was when I realized that God’s forgiveness was complete, that I was able to forgive myself.  Living in the guilt of divorce was so difficult.  It kept me from new relationships.  It kept me from moving on in freedom.  And, when I, a few years ago, was able to let go of the self-guilt, like God threw my guilt away and remembered it no more, that I was able to move on.

Yes – Who is a God like You?  He pardons sins, forgives our transgressions, does not stay angry, DELIGHTS to show mercy, has compassion on us, stamps all over our sins, and throws them away into the depths of the sea.  I just can’t go fishing for them again!  I need to leave them where God put them – out of reach!

P – Father God, thank You for Your great love, Your compassion, and Your COMPLETE REMOVAL of my sins.  Help me to live each day in a state of grace and forgiveness.  Help me to forgive others, and give them the grace that You have given me.  Thank You for not remembering my sins, for not throwing them in my face time after time, but graciously removing them from me.  Thank You for Your DELIGHT in showing mercy.  Help me delight in that same way in those who I encounter.  Help me to display Your love and mercy to those who I struggle with.  Thank You for Your never-ending faithfulness to me.   Amen.

Who is a God like You? – (Micah 7:18-20) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FeXkGkFNxY&list=PL1AC19848DC3D2AEF

Who is a God like You, Pardoning iniquity
And passing over the transgression of the remnant of His heritage?

He does not retain His anger forever,
Because He delights in mercy.
He will again have compassion on us,
And will subdue our iniquities.

You will cast all our sins
Into the depths of the sea.
You will give truth to Jacob
And mercy to Abraham,
Which You have sworn to our fathers
From days of old.

Leave a Reply

