Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Depth of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day One – Monday, September 12, 2016

Read  1 JOHN 1:5-9 (ESV) SOAP v. 9wk3d1

5 This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. 6 If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. 7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. 8 If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

O – I see a number of “if-then” statements in this passage – John really outlines the consequences of sin!  ( AMP version clarifications)

  • IF we say we have fellowship with God while we still walk in darkness – THEN we are lying and not practicing truth – (v. 6)
  • IF we say we don’t have any sin – THEN we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us (v. 8) – (If we say we have no sin [refusing to admit that we are sinners], we delude ourselves and the truth is not in us. [His word does not live in our hearts.]  – AMP)
  • IF we claim that we haven’t sinned – THEN we make out God to be a liar, and his word doesn’t have any place in our lives (v. 10) – If we say that we have not sinned [refusing to admit acts of sin], we make Him [out to be] a liar [by contradicting Him] and His word is not in us. – AMP)
  • IF we walk in the light, like God is in the light – THEN we have fellowship with one another and Jesus’ blood cleanses us from sin (v. 7) (but if we [really] walk in the Light [that is, live each and every day in conformity with the precepts of God], as He Himself is in the Light, we have [true, unbroken] fellowship with one another [He with us, and we with Him], and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin [by erasing the stain of sin, keeping us cleansed from sin in all its forms and manifestations]. – AMP)
  • IF we confess our sin – THEN God is faithful and just and will forgive our sin and cleanse us from all unrighteousness (v. 9) )  (If we [freely] admit that we have sinned and confess our sins, He is faithful and just [true to His own nature and promises], and will forgive our sins and cleanse us continually from all unrighteousness [our wrongdoing, everything not in conformity with His will and purpose]. – AMP)

In summary, if we say that we haven’t sinned, we are deceiving ourselves, the truth isn’t in us, and we are making out God to be a liar.  If we say that we are one with God, yet are still sinning (walking in darkness), then we are lying and not practicing the truth.  BUT – if we walk in the light ( having our sins revealed and confessing them), then we have fellowship with God, his forgiveness, and cleansing from our sin.

NIV Study Bible note – “Here the phrase is virtually a single concept (faithful-and-just).  It indicates that God’s response toward those who confess their sins will be in accordance with his nature and His gracious commitment to His people.  “

A – I love the wording of the Amplified – walking in the light is seen as “live each and every day in conformity with the precepts of God.”  To have God’s word reveal His standards and precepts – and to live each and every day in that.  Do I really live that way?  Do I allow God’s Word to reveal His standards and precepts – and then live them out?  Or, do I fool myself into thinking that I do?  I know that there have been many times that I have deceived myself into thinking that I have been following His Word, walking in the light, but now that I am regularly studying and reading the Word, I am less apt to do this.  There is a direct correspondence between being in the Word, and being able to live what the Word says!  There is also a point of honesty here.  I have to be honest with myself, and with God – and allow His word to soak into my heart and reveal what is wrong, or lacking.

F – Father God, may Your word speak to me today.  Shine the light of Your truth into my heart.  Shine it into the darkest, furthest corners, and reveal my attitudes, and thoughts, and actions that are displeasing to You.  Remove my sin.  I confess my lack of discipline and self control.  Take my insufficient self – and transform it into Your image, so that I will live in the light – walking and practicing truth.  Help me to speak Your truth to others today.  Thank You for Your forgiveness and the clothing of righteousness that I can wear, because of Your shed blood – for me.

 

And Can It Be – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKcc6uShB5k

And can it be that I should gain
An interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain—
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

He left His Father’s throne above
So free, so infinite His grace—
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!
’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine;
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Amazing love, how can it be

That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

#YouAreForgiven   #LoveGodGreatly

 

Leave a Reply

