Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Way of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 4 – Thursday, September 8, 2016.

Read John 1:26-30 (ESV) SOAP v 29wk2d4

26 John answered them, “I baptize with water, but among you stands one you do not know,27 even he who comes after me, the strap of whose sandal I am not worthy to untie.” 28 These things took place in Bethany across the Jordan, where John was baptizing. 29 The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! 30 This is he of whom I said, ‘After me comes a man who ranks before me, because he was before me.’

O – I broke the SOAP verse into three parts:
• The “lamb of God” – Jesus is referred to as the “lamb of God” only twice in the scriptures (again in v. 36). In the Old Testament, lambs were used as sacrificial offerings, and they had to be perfect, without blemish or spot. 1 Peter 1:19 (ESV) states, “but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without blemish or spot.” We were ransomed (bought back) with Christ’s blood – compared to the sacrificial lamb. But – it is also referred to in Isaiah 53:7 – “He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth; like a lamb that is led to the slaughter, and like a sheep that before its shearers is silent, so he opened not his mouth.” The people that John the Baptist was talking to would have understood the significance of the “lamb of God”, knowing that sacrificial lambs were used to atone for their own sin.
• Takes away sin – This claim of John was incredible to the ones who heard him – that this One coming would be able to take away sin. This would be like referring to Him as God. This is probably why they thought he was blaspheming. But – Scripture also states in 1 John 3:5, “You know that he appeared in order to take away sins, and in him there is no sin.” Not only was Jesus sinless, but He was able to take away sins. His death on the cross satisfied the wrath of God, and punishment for our sins.
• Of the world – This is an important concept. Jesus’ death not only satisfied God’s wrath once, but once and for all! There are many instances in the Word that point this out – that Jesus’s death was for the whole world – for everyone! 1 John 2:2 says, “He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world.” And, 1 John 4:14 states, “And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world.” And this week, we also read John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”

A – what is the application for this – for me? I need to realize that Jesus died – for me. For MY sins. But also, for the sins of everyone else in the world. Do I live a life that reflects this knowledge? Do I live in a state of forgiveness – because of His death – for me? Do I share this knowledge with others? Do I seek out ways to let others know of His forgiveness – for them too? Do I “come broken to be mended, come wounded to be healed, come desperate to be rescued, come empty to be filled, come guilty to be pardoned by the blood of Christ the Lamb?” Do I REALLY come this way – or take my forgiveness for granted? Oh, that I would never take my salvation and forgiveness for granted!

P – Father God, thank You for Your love for me – so deep that You would give Your Son for punishment for my sins. Thank You for the forgiveness that You offer – complete, total, and without strings. Help me to live in that state of forgiveness – willing to search my heart and life, and willing to ask for forgiveness. Help me to live with a repentant spirit. As I walk through my day, through my week, I ask that You help me to reflect Your love, Your grace, Your forgiveness with those I meet. Amen.

NIV study Bible – The term “lamb of God” is an expression found in the Bible only here and in v. 36. Many suggestions have been made as to which “lamb” John had in mind (e.g., the lamb offered at Passover, or the lamb of Is. 53:7, Jer. 11:19, Gen 22:8 or Rev. 5:6). It may be that John chose this unique way of referring to Jesus’ mission to point both to the sacrificial offering that Jesus would become and to his subsequent conquest of all evil powers – the two ways by which he “takes away the sin of the world” (see I John 2:2)

Note from NIV study Bible on I John 2:2 – “God’s holiness demands punishment for human sin. God, therefore, out of love (4:10, John 3:16), sent his Son to make substitutionary atonement for the believer’s sin. In this way the Father’s wrath is satisfied; his wrath against the Christian’s sin has been turned away and directed toward Christ. ….. Forgiveness through Christ’s atoning sacrifice is not limited to one particular group only; it has worldwide application (John 1:29). It must, however, be received by faith (John 3:16). Thus this verse does not teach universalism (that all people ultimately will be saved:, but that God is an impartial God.

Just as I am/ I come broken –https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=460vFWX3ccs

1 VERSE:
Just as I am, without one plea
But that Thy blood was shed for me
And that Thou bidst me come to Thee
O Lamb of God, I come, I come

2 VERSE:
Just as I am, and waiting not
To rid my soul of one dark blot
To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot
O Lamb of God, I come, I come

CHORUS:
I come broken to be mended
I come wounded to be healed
I come desperate to be rescued
I come empty to be filled
I come guilty to be pardoned
By the blood of Christ the Lamb
And I’m welcomed with open arms
Praise God, just as I am

3 VERSE:
Just as I am, I would be lost
But mercy and grace my freedom bought
And now to glory in Your cross
Oh Lamb of God I come, I come

CHORUS:
I come broken to be mended
I come wounded to be healed
I come desperate to be rescued
I come empty to be filled
I come guilty to be pardoned
By the blood of Christ the Lamb
And I’m welcomed with open arms
Praise God, just as I am

CHORUS:
I come broken to be mended
I come wounded to be healed
I come desperate to be rescued
I come empty to be filled
I come guilty to be pardoned
By the blood of Christ the Lamb
And I’m welcomed with open arms
Praise God, just as I am
Praise God, just as I am
Just as I am

#YouAreForgiven    #LoveGodGreatly

Leave a Reply

