Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Way of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 3 – Wednesday, September 7, 2016.

Read  LUKE 13:1-5 (ESV) SOAP v. 5   wk2d3

13 There were some present at that very time who told him about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mingled with their sacrifices. 2 And he answered them, “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans, because they suffered in this way?3 No, I tell you; but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish. 4 Or those eighteen on whom the tower in Siloam fell and killed them: do you think that they were worse offenders than all the others who lived in Jerusalem? 5 No, I tell you; but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.”

“I tell you, no; but unless you repent [change your old way of thinking, turn from your sinful ways and live changed lives], you will all likewise perish.”  (Luke 13:3 – AMP)

O – Repent.   To turn around.  To completely change the old way of thinking.  Turning from sinful ways.   To live a changed life.  I remember someone saying years ago, that repenting was not just being sorry that “I got caught” in sin, but being genuinely sorrow-ful for my sin.  To lament sinning.  BUT – to turn from it.

I looked up “repent” in the Strong’s Concordance and found:  metanoeō – to change one’s mind, i.e. to repent to change one’s mind for better, heartily to amend with abhorrence of one’s past sins.  (It is written in the present, active, subjunctive – meaning that it is a continuing action….)

“Repentance (metanoia, ‘change of mind’) involves a turning with contrition from sin to God; the repentant sinner is in the proper condition to accept the divine forgiveness.” (F. F. Bruce. The Acts of the Apostles [Greek Text Commentary], London: Tyndale, 1952, p. 97.)

A – As I read this passage, and listened to the song below, I was convicted of my own life.  Somehow, as Christians, we get “desensitized” to our continuing need to repent of our sins.  We think (no, I think) that our sins are not as “bad” as others, or don’t stop to think of our attitudes or thoughts as sinning.  Jesus pointed out that the attitude of “some sins are worse than others” was wrong.  Or – that “bad things that happen” are punishment for sin.  We are each responsible for our own actions, and we need to repent.   To turn around.  To change our old way of thinking.  To live a changed life.

It doesn’t mean that I won’t sin, but that I need to continually search my heart, and confess, and repent my sin.  To turn from it.  To have the attitude of this verse from the song, “I Repent”.  “I lament the idols I’ve accepted, The commandments I’ve rejected, To pursue my selfish end, And I confess I need you to revive me, Put selfishness behind me, And take up my cross again.”  My attitudes might be hidden from others, but not from my God.  My heart actions, my thoughts – all are in plain sight to Him.  What are my hidden idols?   What selfish gains have I pursued?   What commandments have I rejected?

P – Oh, Father God, give me an attitude of repentance today.  Search my heart, my inner being, and make clear to me my faults and sins.   Bring to mind my selfish ways, my hidden idols, the hours that I’ve wasted.   Father, I repent, and turn from my sins.  Bring a new attitude to my being.   Make my heart soft and moldable, instead of stiff and selfish.  Banish sin from my heart.  I bring to you my incomplete self, willing for You to complete me in You.  Thank You for new life and a clean heart.   Amen.

I Repent – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vw71-oDK4M

I regret the hours I have wasted
And the pleasures I have tasted
That you were never in
And I confess that though your love is in me
It doesn’t always win me
When competing with my sin

CHORUS
And I repent
Making no excuses
I repent
No one else to blame
And I return
To fall in love with Jesus
I bow down on my knees
And I repent

I lament the idols I’ve accepted
The commandments I’ve rejected
To pursue my selfish end
And I confess I need you to revive me
Put selfishness behind me
And take up my cross again

Leave a Reply

