Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Way of Forgiveness

Leave a comment

wk2d1Week Two – Day 1 – Monday, September 5, 2106

Read  EPHESIANS 1:3-7 (ESV)  SOAP v. 7

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, 4 even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love 5 he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved. 7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace,

O – What riches we have through Jesus Christ!  Through Him, we have:

  • EVERY spiritual blessing in the heavenly places
  • He chose us – before the foundation of the world! (actually – selected us for Himself as His own)
  • He chose us – so we can be holy and blameless before him (consecrated, set apart for Him, purpose-driven)
  • He predestined us – for adoption as sons (He predestined and lovingly planned for us to be adopted to Himself as His own children)
  • His adoption of us is “according to the purpose of His will.” – (the kind intention and good pleasure of His will)
  • He has “blessed us in the Beloved.” (to the praise of His glorious grace and favor, which He so freely bestowed on us in the Beloved [his Son, Jesus Christ])
  • In Him – we have redemption through His blood (our deliverance and salvation through His blood – which paid the penalty for our sin and resulted in…)
  • In Him – we have forgiveness of our trespasses (the forgiveness and complete pardon of our sin)
  • In Him – our reception and forgiveness is according to the riches of His grace! (parenthesis are from AMP version)

Interesting note from the NIV study Bible – “Holiness is the result – not the basis – of God’s choosing.  IT refers both to the holiness imparted to the believer because of Christ and to the believer’s personal sanctification.”

From the NIV study Bible (v. 7 – redemption) – “The Ephesians were familiar with the Greco-Roman practice of reception:  Slaves were freed by the payment of a ransom.  Similarly, the ransom necessary to free sinners from the bondage of sin and the resulting curse imposed by the law (see Ga. 3:13) was the death of Christ (called here “his blood”) .”

Quote from Spurgeon on v. 3 – “We are not sitting here, and groaning, and crying, and fretting, and worrying, and questioning our own salvation. He has blessed us; and therefore we will bless him. If you think little of what God has done for you, you will do very little for him; but if you have a great notion of his great mercy to you, you will be greatly grateful to you gracious God.” (Spurgeon)

“Our thanks are due to God for all temporal blessings; they are more than we deserve. But our thanks ought to go to God in thunders of hallelujahs for spiritual blessings. A new heart is better than a new coat. To feed on Christ is better than to have the best earthly food. To be an heir of God is better than being the heir of the greatest nobleman. To have God for our portion is blessed, infinitely more blessed than to own broad acres of land. God hath blessed us with spiritual blessings. These are the rarest, the richest, the most enduring of all blessings; they are priceless in value.” (Spurgeon)

Jesus does not redeem us by His sinless life or His moral example, but only by His death in our place – by His blood. “Observe, it is not redemption through his power, it is through his blood. It is not redemption through his love, it is through his blood.” (Spurgeon)

A – Wow…. Rich content today.  What do I carry away from this reading?

  • I am blessed! Spurgeon’s quote on blessings was convicting.  So often, I thank God for His blessings, but they are typically those “tangible” things in my life.  Do I REALLY thank Him for my spiritual blessings in Him?  For a new heart?  For forgiveness?  For the blessing of being His child?  For the strength He gives?   For redemption?
  • He chose ME! It’s not just the fact that He chose me (but I love that!), but the fact that He chose me – SO THAT I could be holy and blameless before Him!  It’s His working in me – making me holy, sanctified, and without blame.  I can’t do that on my own – it is ALL HIS work!  Holiness is His work, not mine.
  • I am God’s child. I am an heir.  He loves me.  It was the purpose of His will to adopt me.  To be His child.  Do I live as a child of the King?  Or as a spiritual pauper?
  • I have redemption THROUGH HIS BLOOD. It was only by Christ’s DEATH – for me – that I am redeemed.  It came as great cost.  Not just an inconvenience, but His death.  Not to make lightly of this, but it is the difference between egg and bacon.  Which animal gives the greater sacrifice?  A chicken lays eggs daily.  A pig gives its life to provide bacon.  Do I conveniently give a little each day – or give my life for Him?  Do I “lay down my life” – just as He did?
  • How thankful am I – really? Do I live my life with the realization that Christ GAVE HIS LIFE for me – so that I could be God’s child, and be “blessed with every spiritual blessing?”  Do I share this love with others?  Do I live in a state of thankfulness and blessing?  I must!

P – Father God – Blessed be Your name.  You are my Father, my Provider, my Redeemer.  Thank You for the blessings in my life – both those that are temporal, and those that are spiritual and everlasting.  You have given me eternal life.  You sent Your Son to die in my place.  You have redeemed me.  You have forgiven me.  Oh, Father, help me to live in a constant state of thankful redemption.  I am rich.  I am rich – in You.  Father, with Your power, work out Your plan in my life.  Present me holy and blameless before Your throne.  In my life, Lord, be glorified.

 

Nothing But the Blood of Jesus – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYjhGeAIG6k

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    • Refrain:
      Oh! precious is the flow
      That makes me white as snow;
      No other fount I know,
      Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

For my pardon, this I see,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
For my cleansing this my plea,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

This is all my hope and peace,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
This is all my righteousness,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

