Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

You Are Forgiven – The Need for Forgiveness

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5 – Friday, September 2, 2016.

Read ROMANS 7:18-19 (ESV)  SOAP v. 18wk1d5

18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.

O – This passage, again, reminds us of our sin nature.  There is “nothing good” in me – that dwells in me, that is part of the “inner me.”  We can “want” or desire to do good, but we “can’t.”  We don’t have the ability to carry it out.  We can want to do good, but we JUST CAN’T do it!

“For I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my flesh [my human nature, my worldliness—my sinful capacity]. For the willingness [to do good] is present in me, but the doing of good is not. 19 For the good that I want to do, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want.” – Romans 7:18-19 – AMP)

A – I understand this passage on a personal level.  I understand the “want to” and the “can’t.”   In little things.  In big things.   My “sinful capacity” – as the AMP puts it – is JUST THERE.  I can want to do good, or not sin, or be a better person – but “I practice the very evil that I do not want.”  Ouch.  It can be anything like an attitude, or even doing something that I KNOW I should do – but NOT DOING it.

My NIV study Bible puts it like this…. This is “not an attempt to escape moral responsibility, but a statement of the great control sin can have over a Christian’s life.”   A CHRISTIAN’S LIFE!  That’s me.  I can be a Christian, and STILL struggle with sin.  It is IN ME.  And this was Paul’s struggle.  Not when he was an unbeliever, but a believer.  An apostle!

This brings me to the point that I NEED FORGIVENESS.   This “sin struggle” is a battle.  Every day.  Attitudes.  Words.  Not doing what I should be doing.  Doing what I shouldn’t be doing.  “practicing the very evil that I do not want.”  Oh, do I need forgiveness.  It is not just for the unbeliever.  It is for me – today.

And how do I receive that forgiveness?  At the foot of the cross.  Where God gives me grace, mercy, and where I can SEE Christ’s suffering, for me.  I love the phrase from the song “At the Foot of the Cross” – “wear forgiveness like a crown.”  I wonder – do others see that crown?   Does the fact that I’ve been forgiven impact others?  Can they see the effects on me – and spreading out to others?

P  – Father God, thank You for Your forgiveness.  Thank You that it covers what I’ve done, and what I’ve NOT done.  I ask Your forgiveness for the times that I have known what to do – and haven’t.  I also ask for forgiveness for the times that I have willfully chosen to do what I know that I shouldn’t, but have done it anyways.  Father, take my sinful nature, my worldliness, my sinful capacity – and remove it from me.   Cleanse my heart.  Direct my path.  Give me the desire to walk with You, to obey Your Word, and to share the wonderful mercy and gift of forgiveness.

At the Foot of the Cross – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biIPEcAjDEQ

At the foot of the cross
Where grace and suffering meet
You have shown me Your love
Through the judgment You received

And You’ve won my heart
Yes You’ve won my heart
Now I can

Trade these ashes in for beauty
And wear forgiveness like a crown
Coming to kiss the feet of mercy
I lay every burden down
At the foot of the cross

At the foot of the cross
Where I am made complete
(I am made complete)
You have given me life
Through the death You bore for me

Leave a Reply

